Stef S. (bookgoddessme) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 107 - Page:
100 People Who Are Screwing Up America : (and Al Franken Is #37)
100 People Who Are Screwing Up America : (and Al Franken Is #37)
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 3/17/2015


I had high hopes for this book, but the author comes off as a whiny tattle tale instead of presenting real reasons that would convince the reader to take him seriously. I don't agree with him on many, but he also didn't give me any good facts to change my mind either. Couldn't wait to finish it.


Ahab's Wife : Or, The Star-gazer
Ahab's Wife : Or, The Star-gazer
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 6/18/2013


One of my top ten favorite books ever! This author weaves a brilliant tale with insanely unexpected twists & turns. Her main character, Una, feels like a friend as she is telling her character-building life story. A brilliant novel that I could not wait to finish, yet did not want to even end...


The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton
The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton
Author: Jane Smiley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 5/12/2013


I am drawn to a book with a strong lead female character, and this book does not disappoint. Lidie is a true survivor, compounded by the face that women needed to be tougher than nails in the divided land of the United States in the 1850's. What a unapologetic story this novel tells of the near impossible conditions of K.T. (Kansas Territory) for the claim staking aboloitionists. Lidie lived many lifetimes in one. Slow, steady, story this book tells, but one that explains a lot about the tenacity and toughness of the people of the United States built on this foundation.


An American Brat
An American Brat
Author: Bapsi Sidhwa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/4/2013


The book was entertaining. I liked Feroza, the main character's, strength and determination. The Pakistani political climate was infused seamlessly into the story, allowing the characters to react to it in a natural manner. Not my favorite read ever, but it was good.


The American Revelation: Ten Ideals That Shaped Our Country from the Puritans to the Cold War
Review Date: 3/23/2014


I thought this book presented a nice collection of tales of American pioneers who helped shape our country into what is it today, but who also made a significant positive impact often against impossible odds. This book really demanded that I pay attention and focus on the content, which I felt deserved such. Well written, chronologically organized over several centuries of significant American history, and an enjoyable journey for a self proclaimed American History geek. Recommend.


Animal Dreams
Animal Dreams
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 4/11/2015


Excellent tale with interesting characters that I really grew to love. Love this author's fiction work. Barbara's tales are set in magical locations in the American Southwest, but characters take us on adventures way beyond. An uplifting and beautiful story. Recommend!


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 8/24/2012


I love Sara's style of writing with a dramatic opening, and an unfolding of quality stories and characters we care about. The story of the apes was completely believeable and interesting, fascinating as a matter of fact. It could really happen. The reader knows Sara delivers justice, good to the good characters and bad to the bad ones. Recommend!


Astor Place Vintage
Astor Place Vintage
Author: Stephanie Lehmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/27/2015


I have read a series of these past/present, two characters interacting and impacting each other's lives profoundly, great strong female characters, and this is yet another. A terrific and fun story with lots of historical details that makes the past come to life. What a sweet and entertaining story about coming through hard times emotionally, financially, physically. Excellent.


The Autobiography of Santa Claus
The Autobiography of Santa Claus
Author: Jeff Guinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 12/28/2014


Heartwarming and fun for people like me who love Santa and history. A very sweet tale that's a reminder of what really gets us excited about Christmas. Enjoyable, and I highly recommend.


The Bell Jar
The Bell Jar
Author: Sylvia Plath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 8/31/2014


This book was a fairly quick read. An attempt for me to read a "classic". I want to by no means dismiss Plath's powerful life story on any level, but this book did not delight me as I hoped it would. I found it strange, and slow, and a little bit boring even.


Bolt of Fate: Benjamin Franklin and His Fabulous Kite
Bolt of Fate: Benjamin Franklin and His Fabulous Kite
Author: Tom Tucker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/15/2014


A good book. I expected that the author would breathe more life into Franklin, but for me he did not. It was written in an extremely technical manner with regard to the electical experiments and the correspondance between characters. Not as lively as I was hoping it would be. Doesn't make it a bad book, just not my favorite...


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 4/27/2015


What a sweet book, and the powerful story it tells about humans, and flaws, and acceptance. Strong female characters, and challenging situations. It doesn't have a "happy" ending, yet it had a hopeful ending. Excellent read.


The Book of Salt
The Book of Salt
Author: Monique Truong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 8/11/2014


I hated this book, as much as I LOVED Monique's first book Bitter in the Mouth. Mind you, this book is well written, and depicts an interesting time period and characters. So I had to ask myself, why are you so anxious to burn through this book, and I suspect it is that I loathed the main character and narrator. I found Binh to be hopeless, depressing, and awful to read about and experience his very tragic life experiences. I am certain that other people will enjoy this book. It was just not for me, and I could not wait for it to be over.


Bride Island
Bride Island
Author: Alexandra Enders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 6/27/2014


The author did a really great job creating characters that I believed, and cared about. The story did end a bit abruptly, but it was entertaining and easy to read. The main character really struggled with alcoholism, and she taught us to take big risks to get big rewards. Things certainly did not always work out the way Polly, our narrator and main character wanted them to, and isn't that what life is like? Recommend for a nice summer read that goes quick, and revolves around islands and beaches in Maine.


The Christmas Chronicles: The Legend of Santa Claus
The Christmas Chronicles: The Legend of Santa Claus
Author: Tim Slover
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/15/2014


A very sweet, concise story about our buddy Santa Claus. A quick read I recommend to get you into the Christmas spirit. Extremely likable characters that you delight in seeing the magic unfold to. A fun Christmas book. Recommend.


Chrysalis: Maria Sibylla Merian and the Secrets of Metamorphosis
Chrysalis: Maria Sibylla Merian and the Secrets of Metamorphosis
Author: Kim Todd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/27/2014


An enjoyable read on a historical figures in science theme, especially with powerful women at the center. Maria is truly an inspiration, and her absence from science education is a real tragedy. Maria's story is fascinating. The book is written in a textbook/novel format which I found irritating at times as the author flipped back and forth between weaving a story, and telling non-fictional anecdotes about what "may" have happened. Gorgeous illustrations, and a great story. Recommend reading along with Ship Fever, and Tulip Fever.


The Circus in Winter
The Circus in Winter
Author: Cathy Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/11/2014


I really like a story about the days of the circus gone by. There is such a romanticism and nostalgia about it despite the ugly truths that we know hide just beyond the big top. The author presented such fascinating characters that we mourned for and celebrated with as if we knew them personally.


Confessions of a Pagan Nun
Confessions of a Pagan Nun
Author: Kate Horsley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 3/6/2014


This book reminded me of Pope Joan a bit. Women's lives at this time period were so physically and emotionally difficult. The main character had so many doubts and questions about her instincts and emotions because they conflicted with the obviously slanted views of the newly emerging Catholic Church. Gwynn wanted to be open and inspired by the new doctrine, but it pained her to see how the monks and the wealthy would often say one thing, and do the opposite. Not my favorite, but an important piece of history.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 783
Review Date: 8/3/2012


HATED this book, just felt like it emphasized a totally materialistic woman who had an unhealthy shopping addiction. How did they write so many more books about her?


The Country of the Pointed Firs and Other Stories
The Country of the Pointed Firs and Other Stories
Author: Sarah Orne Jewett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/30/2014


Entertaining throughout. Sweet, sentimental stories that harken us back to a time long ago. If you enjoy turn of the century tales chock full of wonderful details, and empathy for life at that time, you will be pleased. Has a slow but steady pace. Ahab's Wife would be a great companion book to this. Recommend. Flows quickly.


1 to 20 of 107 - Page: