Jennifer S. (bluets) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
Ancestors of Avalon (Avalon, Bk 5)
Ancestors of Avalon (Avalon, Bk 5)
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley, Diana L. Paxson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 9/19/2008


not as good as Mists of Avalon but still a compelling read.


The Celestine Prophecy
The Celestine Prophecy
Author: James Redfield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 9/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


not sure how some people were duped into thinking this was anything but fiction... a good read...


The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy
The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy
Author: Valerie Ann Worwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/19/2008
Helpful Score: 2


found some basic scientific errors but this is well-organized. useful to have in a home remedy book collection.


Cooking Like a Goddess: Bringing Seasonal Magic into the Kitchen
Cooking Like a Goddess: Bringing Seasonal Magic into the Kitchen
Author: Cait Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/19/2008


warning - for northern US/southern Canada climate (very temperate). seasonal cooking with some goddess traditions. vegetarian recipes.


Cows, Pigs, Wars, and Witches : The Riddles of Culture
Cows, Pigs, Wars, and Witches : The Riddles of Culture
Author: Marvin Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting perspective on various human behaviors, rituals and so on. Particularly intriguing perspective on the rise of Christianity, in a historical context. Writing style was a little disjointed for my taste.


Coyote Places the Stars (Aladdin Picture Books)
Coyote Places the Stars (Aladdin Picture Books)
Author: Harriet Peck Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/19/2009


my preschooler loves this book - it gives us a nice starting point to discuss how the stars got in the sky, what the star formations look like, and so on. beautiful artwork!


CranioSacral Therapy Touchstone for Natural Healing
CranioSacral Therapy Touchstone for Natural Healing
Author: John E. Upledger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/10/2010


Great book covering craniosacral therapy. However, it is for more of a layperson audience so it doesn't go into great detail. Those wanting more detail on technique should read Hugh Milne's book "The Heart of Listening".


Curious George and the Dump Truck
Curious George and the Dump Truck
Author: Margret Rey, H. A. Rey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/19/2008


preschooler son loves this book.


Curious George Goes Camping
Curious George Goes Camping
Author: Vipah Interactive
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/19/2008


preschooler son loves this book - especially the part about the skunk.


Curious George Goes to the Beach
Curious George Goes to the Beach
Author: Margret Rey, H. A. Rey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/19/2008


preschooler son loves this book - especially the part when george climbs into the lifeguard chair.


The First Patient
The First Patient
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 10/9/2008


i found this book to be quite riveting. loved the style and the plot twist at the end.


The Forest House (Avalon, Bk 2)
The Forest House (Avalon, Bk 2)
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 9/19/2008
Helpful Score: 3


not as good as Mists of Avalon but still a good read. a little slow to get started but then, about a quarter the way through, i was grabbed by it.


From Tadpole to Frog (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 1)
Review Date: 9/19/2008


preschooler son likes books in this series.


God's Problem: How the Bible Fails to Answer Our Most Important Question -- Why We Suffer
Review Date: 9/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Oy. This was a very depressing book. I never realized that the Bible was so full of suffering. In the end, the author concludes that we should live our present life to its fullest and help those who are suffering. Probably because we could be waiting forever for God to come and resolve it all.


Going Against the Grain: How Reducing and Avoiding Grains Can Revitalize Your Health
Review Date: 1/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book covers why one might eliminate all grains, not just wheat or gluten grains. It does a good job in covering the basics of carbohydrate- and gluten-sensitivity. Together with "Protein Power" and a few others, one might get a good idea of the benefits of a low carb and grain-free diet.


The Good Gut Guide: Help for Ibs, Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's Disease, Diverticulitis, Food Allergies, Other Gut Problems
Review Date: 1/18/2009


I was disappointed by this book mostly because it was so broad and not deep. Having read a lot over the past few years, perhaps I just have read everything that was covered in this book. If one is just realizing one's gut issues, this book would be a very good starting point. It is especially helpful in describing some of the tests that doctors would be likely to request particularly so that you know what those vials of blood or other bodily samples are telling you. It also gives some advice on how to overcome your fear and uneasiness in discussing gut issues with your doctor.


Grain-free Gourmet: Simple Recipes for Healthy Living
Grain-free Gourmet: Simple Recipes for Healthy Living
Author: Jodi Bager, Jenny Lass
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Relies heavily on almond flour (not a bad thing) but is also heavy on dairy products. So while it is great for those following a gluten-free diet, it is awful for those also following a casein-free (dairy-free) diet. Many of the recipes also heavily rely on zucchini. Recipes are generally good though not what my guys expect (so this is not a favorite book for us).


The Hidden Messages in Water
The Hidden Messages in Water
Author: Masaru Emoto, David A. Thayne (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 6/24/2010


Stunning pictures of ice crystals but I found the text a little fluffy.


A House for Hermit Crab (Stories to Go!)
A House for Hermit Crab (Stories to Go!)
Author: Eric Carle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/19/2008


hermit crab finds a new shell and decorates it through the months. preschooler seems to be outgrowing Eric Carle so this isn't one of our favorites...


Kid Smart: Raising a Healthy Child
Kid Smart: Raising a Healthy Child
Author: Cheryl Townsley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/1/2008


This book covered alternative health care for kids - most of which is better covered in "Smarter Medicine for a Healthy Child". It also covered aspects of childhood nutrition - again, covered better separately by a few books - "Superimmunity for Kids", "How to Disease-Proof your Child" come to mind as better nutrition books. However, I liked that this book combined both topics in one cover. The author mentions some meal-planning software that is, unfortunately, no longer available.


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: