Amanda (RockStarGirl) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 319 - Page:
The Accidental Duchess
The Accidental Duchess
Author: Jessica Benson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


From the back cover:

I married the wrong man.

I had every intention of doing the thing right. Of saying my vows and walking out on the arm of Bertie Milburn. Nice, safe, easygoing Bertie. And that is precisely what I thought I had done.

But as it turned out, I'd been tricked! Tricked into marrying Bertie's twin brother Harry, the Earl of Cambourne and (as my mother would insist on reminding me at every opportunity) future Duke of Winfell! And the shocking way in which I found outâon my wedding night, no less. . . well, it doesn't bear repeating here!

And the truth is that Harry, who is my husband, but should not be, makes my hands shake and my heart pound in a way that Bertie never has and never will. Vexing, dangerously charming Harry, who won't tell me why he had to marry me, why he insists on masquerading about town as his brother, or most bothersome still, why he won't stop that annoying (and rather excitingly successful) habit of trying to seduce me!

What is a young lady to do?


All Hallows' Evil (Susan Henshaw, Bk 5)
All Hallows' Evil (Susan Henshaw, Bk 5)
Author: Valerie Wolzien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first Susan Henshaw book that I've read, and I really enjoyed it. Even though it's not the first in the series (and I have no idea which book in the series it is, except that it's not the first), I had no problem keeping up with the characters or the storyline. The mystery was smart and the characters likeable, so I'm definitely going to be looking for more from this series to add to my TBR pile.


Always
Always
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/31/2016


*I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

This is the first book I've ever read by this author, and it sucked me in from the beginning. I kept waiting for there to be a true villain in this story, and there really wasn't one. It was a compelling read full of complex characters that kept me flipping the pages. The only issue, if any, I have is with the ending. It was a little too wonderful, too tidy. I love a happy ending as much as the next person but this one leaned more towards a fairy tale. That didn't hamper my overall enjoyment of the book, however, and won't stop me from recommending it to anyone who adores stories of long lost loves.


American Pie ( A Century of American Dreams)
American Pie ( A Century of American Dreams)
Author: Maggie Osborne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/10/2006
Helpful Score: 2


In 1899, eighteen year old Lucie Kolska arrives in America to live the American dream. She meets Irish immigrant Jamie Kelly and an instant attraction is formed. Achieving the American dream is not as easy as either of them thought it would be, but with their friends and family beside of them, they will not give up. While a fictional tale, this book paints a vivid picture of what life would have been like as a young immigrant to America and makes the reader appreciate life here in America today. The love story is sweet and genuine.


Aunt Dimity and the Duke (Aunt Dimity, Bk 2)
Aunt Dimity and the Duke (Aunt Dimity, Bk 2)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 6/10/2007
Helpful Score: 7


This was a really cute cozy mystery. It is the second book in the Aunt Dimity series, but since it was recommended that I read it first, I did. Aunt Dimity's character is not really explored much in this book, but that's okay. That characters are a lot of fun, and I loved the setting (fictional Penford Hall in England). The book was very lighthearted and entertaining. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.


Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 6/30/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Wonderful and lighthearted book with a romance, a mystery from the past, and a helpful spirit. While it is technically the first in the series, I recommend reading Aunt Dimity and the Duke first.


Awakening (Next)
Awakening (Next)
Author: Kate Austin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A house becomes a magical haven for wayward strangers on a midsummer's eve.


Baby Proof
Baby Proof
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 372
Review Date: 11/18/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I really enjoy Emily Giffin's books, and this one was no exception. This one was definitely more mature than Borrowed or Blue. By the end of the book it has you thinking about marriage in general, and questioning what kind of sacrifices we are willing to make for those that we really love. Emily Giffin has been labeled as a chick lit writer, and while this book has shades of that, it's a lot more. Very good read.


Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 511
Review Date: 5/21/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Back on Blossom Street is a sweet and charming addition to the Blossom Street series. The book focuses equally on new and old characters, much like the previous books do. It centers around the members of Lydia's knitting class, who are making prayer shawls.


Baked to Death (Cookies & Chance, Bk 2)
Baked to Death (Cookies & Chance, Bk 2)
Author: Catherine Bruns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/8/2016


Another fun read from Catherine Bruns! In this second Cookies and Chance Mystery, things are going pretty well for Sally. Business is good and she's happy in her new relationship. Then, like an ill wind, her ex-husband shows up in town and says that he plans on staking a claim on her business. Before Sally can figure out how to deal with this, her ex ends up murdered and her new boyfriend is arrested. She knows he's not guilty, but how can she prove it? To make matters worse, Sally has to deal with her ex's family, the madcap (but well-meaning) antics of her own family, and she and Josie are preparing to compete in a reality baking competition. I figured out pretty early on who the murderer was, although the motive wasn't revealed until much later on. Sally, Josie, and the rest of the characters are lively and fun and well developed. I enjoy the backdrop of the cookie shop and there are some good recipes in the book that I plan on trying out. Check this one out if you like cozy mysteries with humor and a little romance.


Becoming Naomi Leon
Becoming Naomi Leon
Author: Pam Munoz Ryan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful book about a girl named Naomi and her brother Owen who live with their great grandmother in an RV park. It's a good life for them, although Naomi wonders about her past, mostly her parents. When her mother shows up, Naomi has mixed feelings, and as the situation unfolds, it becomes necessary to track down their father in Mexico before all they hold dear is lost. It's a wonderful story about finding out who you are, love, and courage, and is rich with culture and imagination. I would recommend it for anyone age 10 and up.


The Big Burn (Silhouette Bombshell, No 76)
The Big Burn (Silhouette Bombshell, No 76)
Author: Terry Watkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/21/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This was a lot better than I expected it to be. There were just enough details in the story for it to make sense but not to bog you down, and the pace was quick and suspenseful. I really enjoyed the way it ended too.


The Big Over Easy (Nursery Crime, Bk 1)
The Big Over Easy (Nursery Crime, Bk 1)
Author: Jasper Fforde
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 2/16/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Imagine an alternative world where nursery characters really exist, and have normal lives like the rest of us. Jack Spratt is one of those characters, and he works in the Nursery Crimes Division of the police department. His current case? Find out who killed Humpty Dumpty, who was shot as he was sitting on his wall. Potential witnesses include Willie Winkie, who may have slept through the ruckus; Mrs. Hubbard, who can't stop checking the empty cupboard for bones long enough to answer questions; and Rapunzle, who left a long hair at the crime scene. It's a world where anything can happen, and often does.


Blink Of An Eye (Harlequin Next)
Blink Of An Eye (Harlequin Next)
Author: Rexanne Becnel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/21/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This was a very moving book about a woman who lives through Hurricane Katrina despite her wish to die. Have your kleenex handy while you read it.


Blood Vines
Blood Vines
Author: Erica Spindler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 4/22/2013


I've read several Erica Spindler books over the years. Some have been great and some, not so much. This one was really good with a lot of suspense. Early on I thought I knew who the killer was, but things weren't exactly as they appeared to be. On a side note, if you love wine, you will adore this book! I learned a lot about the wine-making process and wineries, an integral part of the plot.


The Brambles
The Brambles
Author: Eliza Minot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/12/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Three siblings, all dealing with issues in their own lives, have to come together to deal with the impending death of their father. I really enjoyed this author's writing style, and feel like she captured the emotions of the characters in a very real and subtle way.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3507
Review Date: 3/30/2010


Flaming ball of poo. I could have created a much better ending for this series in my head. The sad thing is, Eclipse is probably the strongest book in the series, and then it is followed by this. This book is not remotely similar to the first three in the series...it's like Twilight on a bad acid trip. Of course, if you've read the first three books in the series, you're going to feel compelled to finish and read this one anyway, but consider yourself forewarned.


Breaking the Silence
Breaking the Silence
Author: Diane Chamberlain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 8/30/2015


While there were some elements of the book that were predictable, I found this to be a very good read and had a hard time putting it down. I love a story that is partly told in flashbacks and Chamberlain does that well. She is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors.


Breathing Room
Breathing Room
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Susan Elizabeth Phillips is kind of a hit-and-miss author for me, but this was one of her better ones in my opinion. The ending was a little hokey, but the setting was beautiful and the secondary characters were just as interesting as the main characters were. I would definitely recommend this one.


Bride for a Night (Avon Light Contemporary Romances)
Bride for a Night (Avon Light Contemporary Romances)
Author: Patti Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 8/15/2006
Helpful Score: 1


They were married one night--and then he disappeared. Five years later they meet again, in the deep, dark tunnels of a long-forgotten cave, searching for a fabled lost city of gold. Duncan has adventure in his blood; Cairo carries a secret and a broken heart. Will their quest end with them finding treasures, or will they find something far more valuable--the love they once shared?


1 to 20 of 319 - Page: