Marcia S. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 1/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


There aren't that many books that I could read and re-read but this is one of them. Frank McCourts account of his family could be told by thousands of people who had lives such as this. Prepare your emotions they will go in all directions.
So good.


Angels Flight (Harry Bosch, Bk 6)
Angels Flight (Harry Bosch, Bk 6)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 1/14/2013


Love Harry Bosch. He's like a bulldog who won't let go til he's figured everything out.


At Close of Day
At Close of Day
Author: Joseph Bentz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/16/2014


I call this a low key kind of story. Not a build up to a big moment. Which is not a bad thing. You are enticed to see what comes next. The reader is able to see this families situation directly from each individual. Mr Bentz created such different personalities in the siblings and you see how they fit together. I really liked his format of writing.


Baker Towers
Baker Towers
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 12/27/2014


Jennifer Haigh sweeps you along effortlessly through time and connects characters, some of which only have being blood relatives, in common. She tells of each separate family members story which go off in all different directions , yet are rooted in one small community. It is thought provoking and you easily care deeply for these people.
Highly recommend.


Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5)
Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 1/14/2013


My husband and I love Greg Iles. The book is 700 some pages and I didn't want it to end.


The Blue Orchard
The Blue Orchard
Author: Jackson Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/25/2017
Helpful Score: 1


The cover of the book and the name evoked a particular time period and maybe a type of story line. The time period was right but the story was so far from what I could have guessed.
It is so interesting. So unique. The places this woman's life went from childhood into mature adulthood make you want to keep rooting for her. It's not frilly or cute, but very serious but not to where you cry.
This might be confusing, but I don't want to give any of the story away. I hate when people tell you the whole story line in a review. It is worth reading. Thought provoking.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 4/19/2016


Really liked the book. Different countries, different time periods. It's a mystery and you pick up pieces along the way. It could have wrapped up a bit quicker at the end, but I did enjoy it. The descriptions of time, people and places drew you right into the life with the families.


Kit's Law
Kit's Law
Author: Donna Morrissey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/7/2014


Ms Morrissey does not ease you into her book. Which is good. It's as if you are picked up and placed in the ongoing lives of this small community.
Very different from my life.
The way she described each character in every scene took you to those thoughts and feelings. She is not too wordy but hits the nail on the head.
She left a few avenues open for the next step so it wasn't obvious where the story was going.
I would recommend it.


Lost Nation
Lost Nation
Author: Jeffrey Lent
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/5/2014


Jeffery Lent puts you into each skin, as it were, of every character. I found I could justify, empathize, sympathize and almost experience who these people were. From main characters to the background people. I've been transported back to this raw infant America and I can't get enough.


Meant to Be : The True Story of a Son Who Discovers He Is His Mother's Deepest Secret
Review Date: 10/31/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting story with a unique twist. Not filled with fluff. Although bogged down with abuse, this man does remarkable things with his life.


Michael: THE SEQUEL TO Norah's Children
Michael: THE SEQUEL TO Norah's Children
Author: Ann O'Farrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/13/2017


After reading Norah's Children, I was a bit afraid of finding out what happened to Michael. My curiosity won out and I'm glad it did. It's not just a sequel, it completes the story of the whole Kelly Family.


Mouthing Off: A Book of Rock and Roll Quotes
Mouthing Off: A Book of Rock and Roll Quotes
Author: John D. Luerssen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/19/2011


Fun, easy read. Anyone could pick it up at any time and flip through it.


Mrs. Kimble
Mrs. Kimble
Author: Jennifer Haigh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 1/6/2015


Love Jennifer's writing. She invites you right in from the start. A unique story line. I could have her write another book that follows the future of some of the characters. Very enjoyable.


Norah?s Children
Norah?s Children
Author: Ann O'Farrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/1/2017


This is a quick read. I was hooked with the first sentence. The topic is and was a horrible reality. The characters are so perfectly laid out. Ann OFarrrell did an incredible job of respecting herself as a writer and we as readers. The story unfolds page by page. I could read 100 books like this.


The Observations
The Observations
Author: Jane Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 7/19/2017


This book was really unique in the main story line. Bessie thinks and speaks so funny sometimes. I got such a kick out of her. She was really brave and had such a wonderful disposition for the strange new work environment. It was a many layered story and kept you on your toes.


Room
Room
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 411
Review Date: 4/2/2017


Read the book first and saw the movie. It is a bit confusing at first, but stay with it. This young mother shows exactly what mothering is about.
The movie did the book justice also.


Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together
Review Date: 4/10/2016


Wonderful book. Love the way we heard from Denver and Ron
separately. The truth is a breath of fresh air. There is no fluff.
The title is perfect.


Speak Softly, She Can Hear
Speak Softly, She Can Hear
Author: Pam Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 1/10/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I love when you start reading a book and you feel as though you've stepped into the world of the characters lives in progress. That's how this was, the story line was one I'd never read before and it took you places that could not be guessed. A real adventure.
A teen girl's first experience with sex warped into a lifetime of secrets and shame.
Very worth reading.


Speedbumps: Flooring It Through Hollywood
Speedbumps: Flooring It Through Hollywood
Author: Teri Garr, Henriette Mantel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/29/2016


I'm finishing it up right now. As you read the book, it's as if Teri is talking to you. I think she got the right amount of help from her co author.
It's an easy read, goes fast and is interesting.


Women of the Silk
Women of the Silk
Author: Gail Tsukiyama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 1/14/2013


This Chinese culture from the 1800's to the 1960's intrigues me so much. They are a strong and enduring people. Gail Tsukiyama's descriptions put you right there.


1 to 20 of 20