Beverly H. (GainesvilleGirl) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 215 - Page:
1000 Places to See Before You Die P
1000 Places to See Before You Die P
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/2/2015


Really great!! A thick book with every imaginable place anyone would want to go between the U.S. and Canada. Filled with info about each place it lists.


50 Simple Ways to Pamper Your Cat
50 Simple Ways to Pamper Your Cat
Author: Arden Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book. It's sensible and humorous. Plenty of tips on how to manage your cat and its behavior. Many people think a cat is untrainable, I thought so too. But I used some of this author's advice and discovered Miss Kitty is not only trainable, but her bratty behavior can be modified. Here's one helpful bit of knowledge I picked up, and it works. "When you can't bathe your cat, sprinkle a small ampunt of baking soda on his/her coat and work it in with your fingers. Baking soda absorbs any bad odors and it's harmless to cats."


7 Simple Steps to Unclutter Your Life
7 Simple Steps to Unclutter Your Life
Author: Donna Smallin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/30/2008


Learn how to control stress and increase the enjoyment of your life.
This book is all about making good choices in your life.
Excellent!


8.4
8.4
Author: Peter Hernon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/18/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Heart pounding in places. Very technical in others. If you like reading "end of everything" disaster stories, you'll love this.


The Accident: A Thriller
The Accident: A Thriller
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 8/11/2012
Helpful Score: 8


I am a big fan of Barclay, and this is one of his best! I save my five stars for only the most exceptional books I've read, and this isn't quite that exceptional, but it's way up there.
This hair raising story of a seemingly "nice" neighborhood and the middle class families who live there during these fiancially stressful times, begins with a woman dying in a horrific car accident which also kills two other people. The accident was apparently caused by the woman's drunken driving. Sadly she leaves behind a grieving husband and eight year old daughter. The husband, not believing that his wife could have been so irresponsible, delves into the circumstances surrounding the tragedy and gradually becomes aware of some mysterious facts. Thus begins a roller coaster ride of murder, numerous suspects, crime in the suburbs, and much, much more. Fast moving and never dull, this is an exciting read!


Aftermath (Inspector Banks, Bk 12)
Aftermath (Inspector Banks, Bk 12)
Author: Peter Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 3/3/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This is as good as it gets. Robinson ia a superior crime novelist. "Aftermath" seems more non-fiction crime than fiction. And I like that.


Alex and Me
Alex and Me
Author: Irene M. Pepperberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/21/2015


Really good story about Alex the amazing parrot who was taught not only to speak intelligently, but to identify colors, shapes and many other things. Alex is a very independent creature, with a mind of his own and a fiery spirit. He becomes a partner and best friend to the scientist, Irene M. Pepperberg, who proved that animal intelligence is far greater than the average human would guess or concede that it is. A bond is formed between Dr. Pepperberg and her companion bird that creates a heartbreaking ordeal when Alex, after 30 years of working with her, dies very unexpectedly. Great read, very interesting!


Alligators, Old Mink and New Money : One Woman's Adventures in Vintage Clothing
Review Date: 9/18/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I can't express how much I really loved this book! I bought it and recommended it to so many women friends. I think what I enjoyed most was her witty stories of vintage shopping and vintage shop owning. I am a thrift shop addict, and I can relate to the wonderful feeling one gets when coming up with a rare vintage find while rummaging through the rest of the "thrift" stuff. My closet contains many such finds. She's funny, she's savvy, and she's down to earth. Why can't she find a guy who appreciates all of this plus her intelligence? And there's always the beautiful former fashion model bonus, too. 5 stars!!!


Amber Brown Wants Extra Credit
Amber Brown Wants Extra Credit
Author: Paula Danziger
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 4/8/2010


Another in the very popular Amber Brown series for grade school girls. This one is a sequal to Amber Brown Goes Forth.
From the publisher, "Unhappy over her parents' divorce and her mother's boyfriend Max, nine-year-old Amber finds her schoolwork suffering."
Illustrated by Tony Ross.


An Accidental Man
An Accidental Man
Author: Iris Murdoch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/10/2009


Fate and accidents make deep moral dilemmasfor the many characters in this long and complex tale.


An English Murder
An English Murder
Author: Louise Doughty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/20/2009
Helpful Score: 8


I think most readers would find this to be an oddly written story. The ebb and flow of life in a small English village with some really old-fashioned ways, is in itself an interesting subject. Then the writer throws in the brutal and bloody murders of a middle aged couple who were a little "off-beat." At the same time, we are reading about the childhood of the protagonist who happens to be the lead reporter for the town's small newspaper. The reader is led to believe there just might be a murder involved there somewhere, too. There is also a quirky neighbor lady who is writing a mystery novel and researching it by being a correspondent for said newspaper, which gives her the opportunity to have her nose in everything going on around the town.
The ending, although half expected, is still satisfying. This is a noir sort of book, very dark in spots, with a tiny bit of humor and a little insanity tossed into the mix. This just might be your cup of tea.


Annie's Storm
Annie's Storm
Author: Beverly Hirsch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/24/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is the story of a devastating hurricane as experienced by a four year old child, Annie. Her family helps her understand the reasons for the careful preparations and the hurricane itself, with calmness and careful explanations of everything that is happening. Not a scary book, just a good story for the whole family to read together.


Are You Scared Yet?
Are You Scared Yet?
Author: Hunter Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/3/2015


Fast reading. Keeps one guessing to the end. I like Hunter Morgan.


Around the Block with Judy Hopkins
Around the Block with Judy Hopkins
Author: Judy Hopkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/23/2009


I have really loved this book. Not only does it have the 200 blocks mentioned above, but it has full color pictures of all of them. Although the emphasis is on blocks, there are also how-to sections that take you from quilt planning through borders. Judy Hopkins, an amazing teacher, has designed this book for the quilter who loves traditional patterns but wants to use the faster rotary cutting techniques. Here you'll find clear, complete rotary cutting instructions in multiple sizes for each of these 200 blocks. It's an excellent book for beginners or for any quilter who is interested in the combiation of traditional and modern.


At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 365
Review Date: 2/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I just finished this book and had hoped for the typical Cornwell style. It was different from any of her others and not in a good way. I understand that it was written serialized for the New York Times magazine, maybe that's the explanation. She was trying something new. But I didn't like it. It was boring in places with too much technobabel, it jumped back and forth throughout the book, and its characters were mostly unlikeable. I finished it by really pushing myself. I hope she won't continue with this "possible" series. The ending hinted she would. If you're listening Ms. Cornwell, please don't!


Australian Shepherd: A Comprehensive Guide to Owning and Caring for Your Dog (Kennel Club Dog Breed Series)
Review Date: 6/13/2016


My kids and I really liked this book a lot! I am aware the other reviewer cited several reasons why they thought it wasn't good, but I feel that it served our needs perfectly. We recently, while searching for a good family dog who would be a perfect companion to our boys ages 6, 8,and 12, found in our local shelter, one of these dogs. She was not a pup, and seemed to be a former family dog which was what we wanted. She had been picked up as a stray, dirty and haggard, and very hungry. But by the time they cleaned her up she was SO beautiful! We all loved her right from the start, and the feelings were mutual. Now all we needed was a book to help us learn all about her, and how to take good care of her. This book was perfect. Not too wordy, or technical, as most of the others were. And the bright color pictures are great! The boys found one picture that looks exactly like our Aussie! We have learned a lot about our pet from the book. And our sweet girl is turning out just fine. We adore her. her name is Happy because that's always the way she looks!


A Bad Case of Stripes
A Bad Case of Stripes
Author: David Shannon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 4/26/2014


My grandkids really love this book. It's a fun story to read to them!


Basic Picture Framing
Basic Picture Framing
Author: Amy - Edit. Cooper
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 5/15/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Has a complete guide to necessary tools and materials. Each step is fully illustrated with color photos. Includes instructions for framing needlework and canvas paintings too.
This book will teach you how to build kit frames and construct simple wooden frames. It will also cover framing stretched canvases and larger pieces, including how to safely hang them for display.
It would be difficult to find a better guide for someone who is eager to learn the art and skill of picture framing.


Batiks and Beyond: 22 Quilts from Fabulous Fabrics
Batiks and Beyond: 22 Quilts from Fabulous Fabrics
Author: Laurie J. Shifrin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/7/2011
Helpful Score: 1


From the back cover ...
Simplified designs focus on showcasing batik fabrics rather than complicated sewing.
Projects start with easy quilt blocks, so that even confident beginners can sew with ease.


The Bedlam Detective
The Bedlam Detective
Author: Stephen Gallagher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/23/2014


I liked this book, but there a few areas where I had a problem or two, hence the three star review.
There is a lot of rambling on that gets a bit tiresome, the Amazon Jungle scenes are examples. At times I felt as though I were just plodding along waiting for the next interesting occurance. But I'm glad I did finish it, the end was satisfying and I believe it was left open for stories involving the same detective. I loved the time period and the setting which most lovers of "gaslight" novels would appreciate too. The characters are well fleshed out and all became vital to the story line. I will read this author's novels again, and possibly like some better than this one.


1 to 20 of 215 - Page: