T. - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 117 - Page:
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Pop-up Adaptation
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland: A Pop-up Adaptation
Author: Robert Sabuda, Lewis Carroll
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/24/2008


Words cannot express the joy and amazement that this Sabuda masterpiece elicits! For adults and children alike!


Ambrosial Flesh
Ambrosial Flesh
Author: Mary Ann Mitchell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 4/27/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Mary Ann Mitchell writes about eating flesh the same way a foodie writes about fine dining. Not for the faint of heart or squeamish.


Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 1)
Any Given Doomsday (Phoenix Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Lori Handeland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 9/28/2008
Helpful Score: 5


Almost condemning Any Given Doomsday from the beginning, I decided to plod on through and eventually found myself enjoying this somewhat of a paranormal romance meets Buffy the Vampire Killer story. Liz Phoenix, a feisty psychic orphan, is destined to be the savior of the earth. With the help of DKs, or Demon Killers, she must lead the battle between good vs. evil. I found this a rather ambitious goal of the author and, although there are entertaining aspects of the novel, I feel that, for the first book of this series, Handeland falls short. The first 1/3 of the novel was choppy, almost incoherent. The second third was better, but was riddled with flat circular dialogue that seems to just be a filler. The last third was where the meat of the story lay. Handeland has the bare bones started for a great series. Let's hope the next book does a better job at entertaining.

Lots of XXX hardcore sex.


Disclosure: This book was given to the reader by the publisher/author in exchange for an objective review.


Bad Cat: 244 Not-So-Pretty Kitties and Cats Gone Bad
Bad Cat: 244 Not-So-Pretty Kitties and Cats Gone Bad
Author: Jim Edgar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 12/1/2008


This book is a little, glossy paper, sad imitation of LOLcats/icanhazcheezeburger. My grandson likes the pictures, but he's not even 3 yet. Some of the captions are not suitable for kids that can read.


The Basics Of Winning Slots, 4th Edition (Basics of Winning)
The Basics Of Winning Slots, 4th Edition (Basics of Winning)
Author: J. Edward Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/27/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Really nothing of value in this book besides validating that winning at slots is really up to Lady Luck. 2 good tips--play machines close to entrances and if you aren't winning on a machine find a different machine.


Big Big Love: A Sourcebook on Sex for People of Size and Those Who Love Them
Review Date: 10/24/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is a no nonsense guide for larger people and their lovers. The book focuses on personal issues and limitations people of size face during the most intimate moments of their lives, giving practical advice in a non-condescending way. Highly recommended for anyone of size or anyone who loves someone of size.


Blood of Innocents: The True Story of Multiple Murder in West Memphis, Arkansas
Review Date: 5/9/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Unbiased account of the WM3 cases. This book had lots of background on the 3 little boys who were killed, as well as other people involved. The author pointed out the flaws the investigators had made and tried to cover up. Recommended for anyone interested in this case and the hopeful release of 3 wrongly convicted men.


The Bluest Eye
The Bluest Eye
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 490
Review Date: 9/10/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Toni Morrison's stories are always brutally honest, endearing and reach deep into our souls. This novel highlights the great divide that still exists between races--one person at a time. I loved this book.


Bonk: The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex
Bonk: The Curious Coupling of Science and Sex
Author: Mary Roach
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/24/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Mary Roach has a talent for taking mundane scientific information and presenting it in a way that is not only informative, but entertaining. In this book, she explores several sexual topics, including impotence, orgasm (both female and male), the history of the science of female sexuality, and sexual stimulants. Quick, interesting read!


The Book of Goddesses
The Book of Goddesses
Author: Kris Waldherr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/13/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Slim book with dazzling graphics of twenty-six goddesses from different countries around the world. A nice addition to my collection, if only for the artwork.


The Book of Runes : A Handbook for the Use of an Anceint Oracle: The Viking Runes with Stones: 10th Anniversary Edition
Review Date: 9/10/2007


Extremely useful for anyone interested in the history and practical uses for Odin's Runes.


The Cat Owner's Manual: Operating Instructions, Troubleshooting Tips, and Advice On Lifetime Maintenance
Review Date: 9/10/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Written like an owner's manual, this little guide is packed full of useful information. If you only get one book to guide you as a feline owner, this one should be it!


A Cherokee Feast of Days: Daily Meditations
A Cherokee Feast of Days: Daily Meditations
Author: Joyce Sequichie Hifler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful little book with a daily meditation for each day of the year.


Cherokee Women: Gender and Culture Change, 1700-1835 (Indians of the Southeast Series)
Review Date: 3/13/2010


A comprehensive look at the life and roles of women within the Cherokee tribe. I found this book invaluable in my understanding of Cherokee culture and can use the knowledge that I've gain to put my genealogy research of this family line in perspective. I was also tickled to find a distant grandfather mentioned and will use the footnotes provided to dig deeper into his life and the life of his wives and children.


Chicken Soup for the Writer's Soul : Stories to Open the Heart and Rekindle the Spirit of Writers (Chicken Soup for the Soul)
Review Date: 3/23/2010


I really didn't know what to expect with this book since I have never read any of the Chicken Soup collections. I was pleasantly surprised! This book's collection of inspirational tales from authors boosted my confidence and stimulated my itch to put pen to paper. The different chapters were refreshing--from writing about mentors to finding their voice--the different authors wrote about their fears and hopes and insecurities, showing that even accomplished professionals have had the same feelings as all of us neophytes who are just trying to make our mark on this world.


Choke
Choke
Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 579
Review Date: 6/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Palahniuk is one sick, twisted individual--I loved this story--no one else can come up with the crazy ideas he has written about. This one is definitely xxx rated.


The Cider House Rules
The Cider House Rules
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 9/10/2007


John Irving's tale still stands the test of time---it tells the story of human nature at its best and worst. Extremely well written, but dealing with highly controversial subject matter, I recommend this novel to anyone who is interested in the motivations of why people do what they do.


City Infernal (City Infernal, Bk 1)
City Infernal (City Infernal, Bk 1)
Author: Edward Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 2/17/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This isn't Dante's Inferno! Edward Lee hits hard with explicit descriptions of the monsters and sights and scenes in Hell. The story is about twin sisters--Cassie enters Hell to find Lissa, who committed suicide. Cassie is befriended by 3 other punky suicide victims, who become her tour guides through the gross and gory city. I really enjoyed Lee's imaginative monsters and his writing is a quick, easy read.


Clown Girl
Clown Girl
Author: Monica Drake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 12/20/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Clown Girl is not a goofy funny novel, but it isn't supposed to be, regardless of what preconceived notions you get from the title and the picture of the rubber chicken (Plucky!) on the cover. What Clown Girl is is a great first novel from a very talented writer. I can't wait to read more of what Monica Drake has to offer. Thank you, Chuck Palahniuk, for recommending this gem.

Nita has decided she is a clown. Not a commercial sell out, but a real artist, and she's modeling herself after her absent boyfriend, Rex Galore. The problem with Nita's aspirations is that she isn't a very good clown, artistically or otherwise. She refuses to give up her dream, however, even to the detriment of her own well-being. This is the label she's applied to herself. And that's what this book is really about--the labels we subscribe to, the perceptions we have of who we are and who we want to be. It is about how others see us, our motivations for our actions and the implications of those actions. This novel has depth, and that depth makes a simple story about an unfortunate clown girl an excellent read.


Communicating With Your Dog: Twenty Magic Words
Communicating With Your Dog: Twenty Magic Words
Author: Ted Baer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I found Baer's writing dry and unexpressive. His ideas seem a bit far fetched and out of line with my experience with dogs. He seems to advocate training your family instead of your dog.


1 to 20 of 117 - Page: