Lizz D. (ladyd2206) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 51 - Page:
The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayers, Bk 1)
The Accidental Demon Slayer (Demon Slayers, Bk 1)
Author: Angie Fox
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 10/28/2012
Helpful Score: 1


There is one word for this book. Fun. Sheer, glorious fun.

Meet Lizzie Brown. Uptight, until she meets her real family that is. She is from a long line of demon slayers, and on her 30th birthday, her long-lost grandmother has come to inform her of this fact. Now Lizzie is working with her grandma and a coven of witches called the Red Skulls to help fight a demon named Vald.

Lizzie is scared, uptight, clumsy, and yet brave at the same time. It's really fun watching her learn who she is, and really come into herself. And watching her interact with a super sexy griffin doesn't hurt either.

My favorite character in this whole book though is Pirate. Pirate is Lizzie's Jack Russel Terrier who just happens to talk. He's super funny, sweet, and hyper, and makes me want to know where I can get my own talking dog.

This book is fun, action-packed, and man is that griffin HOT! The interaction between him and Lizzie will leave you melting.

This is a great book, a super fast and super fun read! I have the second book on my bookshelf, and I'll be diving in headfirst soon!


Alpha (Shifters, Bk 6)
Alpha (Shifters, Bk 6)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 1/19/2013


This is the final book in Rachel Vincent's Werecat's series. And to be honest, even though I've had some troubles with the books over the course of the series, I obviously liked it enough to read them all, and to my surprise, I want to read them again! I want to experience the whole story again! And that to me, is one part of a great series.

So this book starts off almost exactly where the last ends. Malone is vying for council seat, and trying to oust Faythe's father. Faythe's attentions are now split between Jace and Marc, and Marc has made it very clear that Faythe needs to choose one or the other.

Now, in my last review, for Shift, I talked about the dynamic of this love triangle a little bit, and how it felt to me as a reader. I have to say, for some reason, even though it totally bothered me in the last book, in this book, it kept me on the edge of my seat, wondering who the hell Faythe is going to choose.

Now, I have to say, for the first half of the book, I was strictly rooting for Marc. But, there comes a point in the book when Faythe's father says something to her about love, and choosing the one she can't live without, that's when I started to have a bit of a change of heart. I found myself also rooting for Jace, almost more than i was rooting for Marc. Now, I'm not going to give away the ending and say who she chooses, but, I will say that I was definitely satisfied with that aspect of it.

This book is also where we have the climax of the council war. Will the Southern Pride beat down Malone and his Appalachian bullies? Will Faythe have her shining moment and figure everything out?

This book was honestly the best of the whole series. And I did have a little bit of trouble with it in the middle, and I put it down for a few days. But I picked it back up tonight, and I literally just finished it. So, obviously, go get this book. Go get this series. You will not be sorry!


Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter, Bk 1)
Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Nalini Singh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 11/18/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I have never read Nalini Singh before this, but man, I can't wait to continue!

Meet Elena Deveraux, Guild Hunter... that is to say, she hunts vampires as part of a large organization that hunts them called the guild. Elena gets a request to do a hunt for Raphael, the archangel of New York. Elena is scared witless, because archangels aren't exactly known for their kindness.

The hunt isn't for a vampire however, but an archangel who has all but turned into a vampire. Elena's fear is replaced by determination as she strives to find the archangel before he turns New York into a bloodbath... but how does one kill an archangel?

This story was great! The chemistry between Elena and Raphael jumped right off the page, and at points, I was all but screaming at them to just stop fighting it, and go for it! And that is why this book doesn't get five stars. For the majority of the book, really up until the last 50 pages, you have no idea what's going to happen with Elena or Raphael. They fight all the time, and neither really shows their feelings about the other until the very end.

Raphael is a great character. He is broody, and secretive, and everything a classic romance hero needs to be. But he's also a bit... twisted. He doesn't feel things the way humans do, so, he's got a bit of a callousness that you wouldn't expect in a typical hero.

The fact that this book series not only has vampires but also angels is awesome. I totally love the concept, and the series, and I can't wait to get started on book two.


Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, Bk 2)
Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, Bk 2)
Author: Nalini Singh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 5/3/2013


This is the second book in the Guild Hunters series. Elena Devereaux awoke from what should've been death for her as an angel. Now she's coping with this, and learning how to be an angel from her lover, and one of the most powerful Archangels, Raphael. But, when the most ancient of all the Archangels, Lijuan takes an interest in Elena, things take a turn for the deadly side. Combine that with threats on her life from another Archangel as well as a mysterious person, and Elena has a lot on her plate. Will she be able to survive Lijuan's curiosity? Will she and Raphael be able to figure out who's behind the threats on her life?

This book started slow for me. Elena is learning about angels, and how to be one in a place called the refuge. She and Raphael are also learning how to be a couple. While there are some interesting characters that we get closer looks at, all in all, the first part of this book for me was boring.

Then, all of a sudden, almost out of nowhere, bam! Action, excitement, and also, Elena and Raphael finally seem to click as a couple. Everything starts to fall into place, and we also start to see the climax of the book.

If you've read the first book in the Guild Hunter series, give this a read. If you haven't, pick it up. It's an interesting read, with a completely new ides behind the series. As for this book, while it wasn't great at the start, I ate the end up in one bite. It left me very much wanting more!


The Bite Before Christmas
The Bite Before Christmas
Author: Jeaniene Frost, Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 12/2/2012


Home For the Holidays- Jeaniene Frost

To be honest, I bought this book just for the Night Huntress short story. I liked the short story, for sure, but at the same time, I have some minor critiques... mainly that there wasn't enough Cat/Bones time together in said story.

Cat and Bones have decided to have a good old fashioned Christmas at home, with their closest family and friends. But, when a long-lost member of Bones' blood family from when he was alive shows up, things start to get a little... strange.

Cat, Ian, and Denise are left to figure out what's going on, and how to fix the problems with the rest of the guests that had been invited to the party. But can they figure out what's going on before someone gets killed... permanently?

This was great for a novella/short story. It was actually a lot longer than I thought it would be, which was awesome, and it featured almost all of my favorite Night Huntress characters, with the exception of Don and Tate.

The only problem with this story is as always, at the end, I wanted more more more! If you're a Night Huntress fan, this is one you surely shouldn't miss!


Black Rose (In the Garden, Bk 2)
Black Rose (In the Garden, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1497
Review Date: 5/22/2013


Black Rose is the second book in Ms. Roberts' In the Garden Trilogy. While Stella and Logan still feature in this book, as do Hayley and Harper, this book is focused on Roz.

Roz is the mistress of Harper House. She is also one who seems to have the ghostly attention of Amelia, which as we'll learn in this book isn't without reason.

Roz recently came out of a bad relationship, and really isn't looking for anything with anyone... until Dr. Mitchell Carnegie comes along. They start out as just friends, but when that sizzle starts, neither of them can resist it.

But with Amelia in the background, and Roz's past to contend with, will Roz and Mitch find their happy ending?

Black Rose is my second favorite book of the trilogy. My favorite is the final book, Red Lily, but this one is a very close second. Roz is a very strong character, and even though she's in her late forties, she's still totally young at heart.

It's interesting to read a story whose main character is much older than I am. But it didn't turn me away from it, or make the story any less. If anything it made it more.

If you enjoy Ms. Roberts, this is definitely a book and series you won't want to miss!


Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 504
Review Date: 8/5/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Ok, so, I was reading this book, and I just kind of got bored. The overall storyline of the series is great, but this book kind of seemed like a filler to me. In this book, Mac is continuing her search for the Sinsar Dubh, with Barrons' help, but the book just kind of seems all over the place to me. It doesn't really have a solid plot line, which kind of turned me off of the book. I did end up finishing it, and towards the end, I really started to get into it.

In this book we learn a little more about several of the characters that had been presented in the last book, including Jericho Barrons. We also learn a bit more about Rowena, and get to meet a new character named Dani. We see whether or not Malluce is really dead, and the Lord Master makes another appearance, so does V'lane. So, it's continuing the story, but it's just kind of filling the gap.

Now, as I mentioned there are some tasty tidbits that happen at the end, and I'm not going to give any of it away, so, you'll just have to read it. I'm definitely going to continue the series as certain things that happened at the end have my interest piqued. I guess we'll just have to see where Ms. Moning is going to take us.


Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Blue Dahlia (In the Garden, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1541
Review Date: 5/22/2013


Stella Rothchild moved to Tennessee after losing her husband in a plane crash. She and her two boys, Gavin and Luke, are looking to start fresh in a new place.

What Stella didn't count on are the amazing friends she'll meet in Rosalind (Roz) Harper, Hayley Phillips, and her unborn child, David Wentworth, and Harper Ashby, Roz's son. She also didn't count on meeting Logan Kitridge.

Stella's new job as Roz's nursery manager is working great, even though she and Logan, Roz's landscape designer seem to be bumping heads at every turn. But all of a sudden, things start to heat up between her and Logan, and those feelings stir something malevolent within Harper House, the manor that Roz lives in, and that Stella moved into as part of her employment agreement.

Will this malevolent presence keep two people apart? Guess you'll just have to read it and find out!

Blue Dahlia is book one of Ms. Roberts' In the Garden trilogy. It is my second favorite trilogy by Ms. Roberts. As always, Ms. Roberts is a great writer. Her characters are all very down to earth, and feel real. You feel yourself getting caught up in their lives, and you actually begin to care about what happens to them.

This book series has a bit of suspense/mystery to it that begins to reveal itself more in the next book, Black Rose. But the mystery is present in this book as well.

Since this is a romance novel, the sweet part of the romance makes you want to melt, and the hot side of the romance is HOT. But, I was reading these books in Jr. High, with my mother's approval, because Ms. Roberts does very tasteful love scenes.

All in all, this is a great introduction to the In the Garden trilogy, and, if you've never read Ms. Roberts before, a great introduction to her books. Be sure to pick it up!


Bound By Darkness (Guardians of Eternity, Bk 8)
Bound By Darkness (Guardians of Eternity, Bk 8)
Author: Alexandra Ivy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/29/2012


This is the 11th book in the Guardians of Eternity series. This is Jaelyn and Ariyal's story. Jaelyn is a vampire assassin known as a Hunter. Hunter's are revered and feared by the rest of their race. They live solitary lives, and with little luxury.

Ariyal is the prince of the Sylvermyst, who pledged to serve the demon Morgana le Fey, instead of being banished behind the veil with their master the Dark Lord. They suffered terribly in her hands, and with her death, the Sylvermyst are divided.

With the plot of the children that is continued from the last full-length book, we find ourselves once again racing against time along with the main characters, as those who plot to resurrect the Dark Lord move forth with their plans.

Jaelyn is put on assignment from the Commission, a powerful group of oracles that no demon race messes with. And what is her assignment? Being close to Ariyal.

I had a few problems with this story overall, mainly watching Jaelyn and Ariyal fight against their attraction for each other. It seemed to drag on a bit. But once they stopped fighting it, it was wonderfully hot.

Other than that, jumping between Tearloch and Ariyal/Jaelyn was a bit wearying. I just wanted to stay with the two main characters, and Ms. Ivy kept taking us back to Tearloch. Other than that, the book was great. Passion, action, and a wonderful little gargoyle named Levet, whom any Alexandra Ivy reader will tell you they've fallen in love with.

If you're a Guardians of Eternity fan, don't miss this book, and if you've never read the Guardians of Eternity, it's a great series that will keep you majorly entertained.


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 8/5/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Ok, so, Catching Fire picks up with Katniss and Peeta back in District 12. They are living in the Victor's Village, and just trying to live their lives as the Star-Crossed lovers still, to the best of their ability, when it's time for the Victor's Tour. They are going to tour all the districts, and show the country how wonderfully in love they are... and they better, because President Snow has come to see Katniss, and threaten everyone she knows and loves if she doesn't.

SPOILER WARNING!!!

Well, Peeta ends up doing a public proposal, and he and Katniss are still majorly playing up the Star-Crossed lovers bit, but President Snow says it's not enough. And then the time comes for the Quarter Quell. And the shocker? The reaping is going to come from the districts' previous victors. Katniss is going to have to go back into the arena.

SPOILER OVER!

The rest of the book really covers what happens in the games, and I can't give too much away without a horribly massive massive spoiler fest. So, I'll leave it like this: The country is in major unrest, and not happy with this Quarter Quell games. What is going to happen? Will the country Catch Fire? Will the rebellion happen? And what about Peeta and Katniss? Will they get their Happily Ever After? I guess I'm just going to have to read Mockingjay and find out...


Daimon: The Prequel to Half-Blood
Daimon: The Prequel to Half-Blood
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/14/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This is the prequel to the Covenant series. I picked it up after reading a review of book one in the series, and I wasn't disappointed.

While this is technically a YA series, it doesn't really read that way so far. Yes the character is seventeen, but she is very much older and wiser than her years. This short story was filled with lots of action, and a good introduction into the world that Ms. Armentrout is building.

In this story we meet Alexandria, a seventeen year old girl who is anything but normal. Her mother is descended from gods, and they're both on the run from the world they hail from. They're doing their best to fit in when they're found by their enemies and everything goes wrong.

Now Alexandria must find her way back to the world her mom took her away from before it's too late. Will she be accepted once she gets there?

I hated how this ended on a cliffhanger, but I see why she did it, and I can't wait to get my hands on the first book to see where it picks up, and what happens next!


A Deep Kiss of Winter: Untouchable / Tempt Me Eternally
A Deep Kiss of Winter: Untouchable / Tempt Me Eternally
Author: Gena Showalter, Kresley Cole
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 9/11/2012


Untouchable
Daniela the Ice Maiden is part Icere, and part Valkyrie. Since she is part ice fae, she cannot touch another (unless they're an ice fae as well), without excruciating pain. Murdoch Wroth is an Estonian Warlord who was once a massive rake. After saving Daniela from assassins, Murdoch learns that Danii is his Bride. But since they can never touch, will their frustration be enough to drive them apart?

Untouchable is a story of utter frustration and sexual desire. It actually takes place a lot earlier than the last few IAD books, and once again with a Wroth brother. It's a novella in the book Deep Kiss of Winter. Even though it's a novella, it's still 300 pages, and well worth the read.

The sexual tension between Danii and Murdoch all but lights the pages on fire, and the sex scenes between the two are scorching. Kresley Cole has, as always, delivered a steamy, passionate couple who make your hearts melt from their pasts, and their possible futures. If you're an IAD fan, be sure to pick this one up, and if you've never read any of the books in the series, be sure to do so, since you're missing out!


Dragon Actually (Dragon Kin, Bk 1)
Dragon Actually (Dragon Kin, Bk 1)
Author: G. A. Aiken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 8/5/2012


Dragon Actually is the story of Annwyl the Bloody, and Fearghus the Destroyer. Annwyl is my type of heroine. She's a kick-butt, take no-nonsense battle lord, who is fighting to kill her brother, Lorcan, the ruler of Garbhan Isle.

But when Annwyl meets Fearghus, she thinks she's about to die, from an attack of some of Lorcan's men. Fearghus, who normally wants nothing of humans but a late night snack surprises even himself by saving Annwyl. Annwyl awakes in Fearghus' cave, and learns to care for her dragon.

But the dragon has a trick up his sleeve. He has decided to help Annwyl learn to fight so that she can take on her brother without dying. So he shifts into his human form to teach her how to fight. But, before he can explain to Annwyl that he and the dragon are one in the same, she decides she wants to know nothing about the knight who helps train her.

Will Fearghus be able to explain to Annwyl who he is, and win her heart for good? Will Annwyl be able to defeat her brother and go on to rule Dark Plains?

G.A. Aiken is a gem! The banter between her main characters is absolutely wonderful! Annwyl has a sharp tongue, and a mean wit, and Fearghus matches her stroke for stroke. The sex scenes are wonderfully hot, and yet, sweet as well. This series is one of the few that I have a tendency to re-read over and over and over.

This book also contains a short story called "Flames and Chains," which is the story of Queen Rhiannon and Bercelak the Great. Queen Rhiannon is the mother of Fearghus, and all the main dragon royals in this series.

This story starts with Rhiannon being given to Bercelak, a Cadwaldr male whom Rhiannon thinks is far beneath her notice. But her mother, a great dragon mage has trapped Rhiannon in her human form. Rhiannon's mother is hoping that Bercelak, who has a reputation for being a horrible brute, will kill her daughter, and rid her of the nuisance.

On the contrary, however, as Bercelak is trying to win Rhiannon's love, and show her that she's strong enough to defeat her mother, and take the throne. Will he succeed?

This short story was very good, and very well written for only being a short story. Honestly though, I don't care overmuch for the main characters. After reading it the first time, I tend to skip reading it over and over as I do the first part of the book.


The Dragon Who Loved Me (Dragon Kin, Bk 5)
The Dragon Who Loved Me (Dragon Kin, Bk 5)
Author: G. A. Aiken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/5/2012


This is Rhona and Vigholf's book. Rhona is a Cadwaldr female dragon, which means she fights, she is far from lady-like, and she doesn't let anyone stand in her way. Vigholf is a lightning dragon from the North, which means when he sees a female, he thinks she should be as far from danger as possible, since female dragons are so scarce in the North.

Rhona and Vigholf get sent on a mission to find Annwyl, the missing Mad Queen of Garbhan Isle. Annwyl has apparently gone off into the heart of the enemies her country is fighting, in hopes of finding a rebel King to help them defeat the evil dragons of the Provinces and end the five years' war they've been in the middle of.

This book was better than the last book, which I had a hard time getting through, but it still wasn't the caliber of the first three books. G.A. Aiken writes steamy scenes, but her books aren't only about sex. They're gritty semi-period pieces with blood, swords, and dragon-shifters. This book does not disappoint in that aspect.

I had a hard time relating to these characters mainly because Rhona was a bit out of our "normal" circle of characters. While we had heard of Vigholf before, he was also not a main character, and therefore, I had little interest in him. But, this book does also continue along with the other characters from the previous books, which is what kept me going.

The next book however, is the long awaited Izzy/Eibhar book, and I'm chomping at the bit for that one! Since I'm rereading the series, stay tuned for reviews of the other books! :)


An Echo in the Bone (Outlander, Bk 7)
An Echo in the Bone (Outlander, Bk 7)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 8/5/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I finished this book late last night, after getting to a point where I couldn't put it down. As with all Ms. Gabaldon's books, this one is very long, but very very good.

This book picks up right where the last one left off; Bree and Roger and the kids went back to their own time, Claire and Jamie are dealing with the repercussions of the big house burning down, and Murdina Bug's death, and Ian is just dealing with all the trouble's that he's been faced with. We get to see quite a bit more of William in this book, as well as Lord John, but that's ok, because their stories are intertwined with Jamie and Claire's.

The Revolutionary War sets into full swing in this book, and Ms. Gabaldon does a very good job with her historical facts, and people.

The only big problem that I had with this book is how much time (which to say isn't very much at all) is spent with Roger and Bree. I mean, I know they're major players now, but to me, the story has always been very much about Jamie and Claire, and those are the two characters I'm mostly invested in.

This book, as mentioned, is very long. With the exception of the first two-three books, I've been getting to a point, almost exactly halfway through the book, where I have to set it down for a week or so. I always end up coming back to it, but I think just due to the length, I have to take a break.

Now, don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that this book dragged on in any way, nor am I saying it was boring. In fact, quite the contrary! This book is very much action-packed, and has quite a lot of intrigue, especially the last 20% or so. Good luck putting it down then!

At the end of this book, the readers are very much set up for Ms. Gabaldon's next book, Written in My Own Heart's Blood, which, according to her website, she is currently still writing, but expects to finish by the end of 2012.


Faefever (Fever, Bk 3)
Faefever (Fever, Bk 3)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 11/28/2012


Ok, so, the only reason I ended up finishing this, and the only reason that I will be reading the next book is because a co-worker keeps telling me the series gets better.

I started reading this series because I had previously read KMM's Highlander series and loved it. The first book was decent, the second book seemed like a filler, and this book? Well, I got through it. For me, this series just isn't going anywhere.

Mac is still in Dublin, still employed by Jericho Barrons at Barron's Books and Baubles, and she's still working with/against Inspector Jayne on the case of her sister's killer. In this book, we also have V'lane vying for her attention, and now we have the Lord Master also vying for her attention. Mac in this book also meets someone named Christian MacKelter, who is a Scottish druid who is working on fighting the Unseelie, like she is.

The whole premise of this book is that the wall between Faery and the human world is thinning almost to the point of breaking, and when it does, all hell will break loose, in the manner of every kind of unsavory fae possible. But not a whole lot happens in the book overall.

Mac fights with Barrons, fights with V'lane, and fights with Rowena, the head of the sidhe seers. But other than that, no ground is really gained.

Barrons, the supposed love-interest makes me want to punch him in the face. Mac is horribly girlie, and just too fru-fru for my tastes. I'm going to continue on with the next book because my co-worker says the series gets better. But at this point, I'm thinking if I don't like it yet, I'm not going to.


Fate's Edge (Edge, Bk 3)
Fate's Edge (Edge, Bk 3)
Author: Ilona Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 11/25/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This is book three in Ilona Andrews' Edge series. While each book can almost stand alone, you will miss a lot of character development if you don't read them in order.

In this book, we meet Audrey Callahan, and Edger with an interesting talent; her magic unlocks doors. And not just doors, any lock; safes, bars, Fort Knox, anything. She has distanced herself from her family due to a horrible instance that happened in her past, and now she wants nothing to do with them.

Audrey is just finally getting her life together, she has a legitimate job, her own house, Ling the Merciless, her pet raccoon that she loves, when her world crashes around her and her father shows up asking for her help on a job. The job is huge, and she knows it won't end well, but she trades her skills for her family's absence in her life.

After the heist takes place, we meet Kaldar Mar, whom we met in the last book. He is an operative of the Mirror, one of the Weird's secret op organizations. He is offered the job to find the item that Audrey stole, and in the process, give a little bit of pain to the Hand, the rival organization that wiped out two-thirds of the adult population of his family.

Kaldar and Audrey were really fun to read in this book. It was a lot of tension, and they bickered all the time, but where most author's leave me feeling annoyed at all the bickering, this was just fun. It was awesome "watching" them dance around each other, waiting for them to take the fall.

I also loved the fact that Jack and George, from book one, were really brought into play in this book. Although the Edge series only has four books, Ms. Andrews left it open that if she chooses in the future, she could do a spin-off series on Jack and George.

This series is a little heavier on the romance than Ilona Andrews' Kate Daniels series, but I like it still. This book does leave you wanting more, and it's a good thing that there's another book in the series. I can't wait to read the next book, and if you haven't picked up this series yet, do so! You won't be sorry.


First Grave On The Right (Charley Davidson, Bk 1)
First Grave On The Right (Charley Davidson, Bk 1)
Author: Darynda Jones
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 2/22/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I picked this book up with high expectations. I'd read a review of it somewhere, and it was a shining one, and let me tell you, this book deserves praise!

Charlotte "Charley" Davidson is a private investigator that helps her uncle Bob, a police officer with the Albuquerque Police Department, solve crimes. But, Charley isn't just a normal PI, oh no. She's also a grim reaper.... THE Grim Reaper. So, needless to say, she sees dead people.

I love Charley. She's a smart-mouthed bad ass chick that makes me want to be her. Prime example? She named her breasts "Danger" and "Will Robinson." I love it! She knows she's sexy, but she doesn't let that effect her too much. She does, however use it to her advantage when she needs to. She can hold her own in a fight, she owns her own business, and she's totally independent. Who wouldn't want to be her? Well, except for the whole seeing dead people all the time...

The central plot of this book has two parts that kind of intertwine. The first plot line is that three lawyers were murdered, and they're trying to figure out the whodonit. The second plot line is finding out about this mysterious dream man that Charley keeps getting erotic visits from.

The lawyer plot is ok, but it's kind of just there for me. It shows what Charley does in terms of her PI life, as well as a little bit of the grim reaper side, but to be honest, I was much more interested in dream man.

Alexander Reyes Farrow is Mr. Dream man, and oh does he deserve the title of dreamy. The reason that he's been visiting Charley in her dreams is that he's a bit "lost" and Charley decides to help him out.

Charley met Reyes when she was in high school, and she's never been able to forget him since. And when he starts showing up in her dreams, he begins to remind her of another presence in her life, a presence that she calls "The Big Bad." The Big Bad is kind of a misty protector that has always been there for Charley in her times of need. And now Reyes is starting to do similar things.

Will Charley and Reyes get together in the end? Reyes harbors a secret that will, in the course of the book totally shake up Charley's life. Will she be able to get over this momentous secret? Will she be able to solve the murders of the three lawyers?

Go grab a copy of First Grave on the Right to find out. I promise that you won't be disappointed.


Fool Moon (Dresden Files, Bk 2)
Fool Moon (Dresden Files, Bk 2)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 754
Review Date: 8/5/2012


This is book two in the Harry Dresden series. Harry is still working with Lt. Karrin Murphy over the fact that he had hidden some facts from her on the last case that they worked together on. He was also still dating Susan, the reporter for the Arcane tabloid. All of a sudden, some murders start up, and Murphy needs his help.

What Harry and Murphy discover is that the murders seem to be werewolf murders. But what kind of werewolves? The next victim is one that Harry knew, and Murphy thinks that he's hiding something, so, she arrests him. With the help of a woman he thought to be a suspect, Harry escapes, and hopes to find out who's murdering people before things can get worse. Will Harry find the murderer before too many more people die?

This book was great. I liked it a lot more than the first book, and I will definitely keep reading this series. I love the character of Harry Dresden. He's smart, witty, and less than charming, which is perfect for the type of "hero" I like to read about. His sidekick Bob, the spirit in the skull is also great, although we didn't get to see much of him in this book.

I'd like to see where Mr. Butcher is taking things with this series, and I look forward to reading the next book in the series!


A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)
A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 5/25/2013
Helpful Score: 1


A game of thrones is a book based on the lives of several people through the events of one kingdom. Bran Stark, Catelyn Stark, Sansa Stark, Arya Stark, Jon Snow, Eddard Stark, and Daenerys Targaryen. The book is called Game of Thrones due to a battle for the throne of the land in the past, and the battle that will be in the near future.

The Starks have a saying, "Winter is Coming," because in this land, while this current summer has lasted years, normally summers are short, and winters are brutally long. Winter is coming for all those in this land, and they'd better be ready.

Game of Thrones is an interesting book. If you're not used to jumping POV's, this book might not be for you. All of the people I mentioned above each get their own chapters in the book, and it switches POV from chapter to chapter. For example, one chapter will be Catelyn's, and the next will be Jon's POV. Having read a different series that had a tendency to do this, I wasn't bothered.

Game of Thrones is an epic book. And I mean epic as in, epic sagas of the past (i.e. Beowulf). The books are a massive undertaking, each being around 1000 pages each, but it's a super quick read. George R.R. Martin is an amazing story-teller, and I can't wait to get into the second book, A Clash of Kings.


1 to 20 of 51 - Page: