Wanda B. (wandagirl) - Reviews

21 to 39 of 39 - Page:
The Joy Luck Club
The Joy Luck Club
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 9/17/2010


I fell in love with the writing of Amy Tan in The Joy Luck Club. I am always eager for her next book to come out and I have really enjoyed them all. She has such a lovely way of describing emotions and life situations that the rest of us dance around and try hard to avoid. I highly recommend this book. :)


The Leveling Wind : Politics, the Culture, and Other News, 1990-1994
Review Date: 5/20/2010


From inside cover:
This volume, the fifth collection of George F. Will's essays on America's political tumults and cultural controversies, makes clear that he deserves to be ranked in the American tradition of high journalism.....

With wit, erudition, and craftsmanship that readers of 480 newspapers and Newsweekhave enjoyed for twenty years, Will assesses the triumphs, misadventures, and foibles of the past four years.


The Long Lost
The Long Lost
Author: Ramsey Campbell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/27/2016


Other reviewers have told what I would say so I will say...This is one of the strangest books I've ever read. Very different, strange, odd. ?


A Lotus Grows in the Mud (Audio CD) (Abridged)
A Lotus Grows in the Mud (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Goldie Hawn
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/23/2011


I loved Goldie Hawn before and after reading/listening to this book I love her more. She has a wonderful voice to tell her story. Her life experiences and what she has learned are welcome lessons from which we can draw insight to our own worlds, selves, family and friends. Thanks Goldie Hawn. You are wonderful. :)


Loving Frank  (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Loving Frank (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Nancy Horan, Joyce Bean (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/31/2012


I have liked Frank Lloyd Wright's work as long as I can remember but knew nothing at all about him as a person. This book cuts right to the core of this famous man as well as his work, family, friends and the era of his life span. I almost put it down at the first but kept going thinking that surely it would pick up after the beginning. And it did. The book is full of experiences of Mr. Wright and the people who surrounded him. Also full of emotion and the passionate man he and others were. A book I shall not forget. :)


The Man Who Listens to Horses
The Man Who Listens to Horses
Author: Monty Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 2/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of the most touching books I have read in a long time. The things Monty Roberts has learned about horses, animals and people is amazing. I am so very thankful to have learned of this book and read his story and how he has grown through all his life to learn and then share his love with others. :)


The Mermaid Chair (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Mermaid Chair (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Sue Kidd, Eliza Foss (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 6/18/2010


This is a good book to listen to. The reader is pleasant to hear and the story unravels as she goes along. Some surprises, happy and sad moments and deeply insightful. :)


Mount Vernon Love Story : A Novel of George and Martha Washington
Review Date: 8/29/2011


I just love this story. Mary Higgins Clark brought George and Martha Washington to life for me. We see their pictures so prim and proper. This book reveals the essence of these two people with their warmth, strength and love for each other, family and friends and for their country. What a great gift. Thank you Mary Higgins Clark. :)


Mrs. Grant and Madame Jule
Mrs. Grant and Madame Jule
Author: Jennifer Chiaverini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/20/2016
Helpful Score: 1


Of course I love Jennifer Chiaverini's writing. This work of historical fiction appears well researched, as I believe is customary for Mrs. Chiaverini. More about the Grants and the Civil War so I learned more than expected and am glad for it. I have much greater appreciation for General and Mrs. Grant. Well written and interesting. :)


No Time to Mourn: The True Story of a Jewish Partisan Fighter
Review Date: 6/14/2018


I have this book in hard cover, like new but it is written in Japanese. I can't read Japanese and would love to find someone who can and would like to have it. The story sounds good. You can find me in the Member Directory.....Wanda B. (wandagirl), Anna, Texas


Not Man Apart
Not Man Apart
Author: Robinson Jeffers, David Brower (Editor), Ansel Adams (Photographer)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/14/2015


This is a lovely book of photographs of the Big Sur Coast in California. The photos are by the amazing Ansel Adams and lines of prose and poetry by Robinson Jeffers. The combined talents compliment each other in a gentle, desirable way.


Oral History
Oral History
Author: Lee Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/4/2011


What an adventure. Lee Smith has written a novel which will help keep a dying era alive. The ways of mountain folk, their language and dialect. Rich are the stories within the pages. It has 4 letter words I personally could do without....but I guess they do go with the times and people. There are sentences and phrases that remind me so much of those I heard when growing up in rural East Texas. Brought back memories of my own. I really enjoyed reading this one. :)


The pocket Aquinas;: Selections from the writings of St. Thomas (A Washington Square Press book)
Review Date: 5/20/2010


From back cover:

St. Thomas Aquinas was a man of genius living at a time when Western Intellectualism and education reached a peak in the first flowering of the great universities. He is considered today a model of what the open-minded student may achieve in rethinking the problems of reality, knowledge, and human life with the aid of what is best in contemporary science and learning. THE POCKET AQUINAS is a representative collection of his ideas as they are expressed in the monumental SUMMA OF THEOLOGY and others of his greatest works. This volume has been edited, and contains Introductions, by Vernon J. Bourke.
Imprimatur:
Joseph E. Ritter,
Archbishop of St. Louis
July 11, 1960


Prayers for Sale (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Prayers for Sale (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Sandra Dallas, Maggi-Meg Reed (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/19/2017


This is just a wonderful book. Well written novel about a mountain lady and her life and those around her. She is a quilter and a storyteller who calls it as she sees it. You will not be disappointed. :)


Pursuit
Pursuit
Author: Gene Hackman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/5/2015


I liked it. This is the first of Mr. Hackman's books that I have read. I think the characters are well defined and interesting and true to form of how people might act in such circumstances. The story was easy to follow and took some turns I didn't expect....other turns I wish hadn't turned that way! I was not disappointed and glad to know that Hackman can write as well as being a fine actor. Talented man. :)


Sarah's Key
Sarah's Key
Author: Tatiana de Rosnay
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 7/25/2012


This is a wonderful, touching, lovable story. I seldom give a book the maximum rating...but I do this one. I really enjoyed it. It is one that kept me wanting to continue until the last page. :)


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5494
Review Date: 9/7/2010


Now this is a story that lit up my soul. I enjoyed it from beginning to end with good prose, unexpected situations and reactions to same by the characters. Told by a young girl who has insight far beyond her years and humor to balance the challenges. The reader in the audio version did a fantastic job. :)


Sunset and Sawdust
Sunset and Sawdust
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/31/2010


I'll tell you what! This book starts with a bang and doesn't stop. I just finished it. I had never heard of Joe Lansdale and here he is, a fellow East Texan and can write like crazy. The story is so good and mysterious, entertaining, enlighteing and on and on. I suppose I will be looking for Lansdale everywhere now. Thanks. :)


The Tender Mercy of Roses
The Tender Mercy of Roses
Author: Anna Michaels
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/8/2018


I can't review this book without telling too much. It is a really good story, well written. Full of emotions in all directions, challenges to ponder and overcome. It is fun and funny, sad and tender. We all wish Pony Jones had stayed longer....forever? Yes. :)


21 to 39 of 39 - Page: