Lee J. (SwampCatNana) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 59 - Page:
2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1174
Review Date: 12/20/2006


Loved this one! It was so good I finished it within 24 hours of receiving it! Good enough that I wasn't able to determine the "bad" guy until the next to last chapter.


4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 809
Review Date: 1/7/2007
Helpful Score: 2


As always, I had a hard time putting this book down. It took only 2 days to read it and I enjoyed it all.
This story had not one but 2 murders to solve; and as usual the "girls", even without Jill, were up to their elbows in it.
Seems the "Club" has picked up a new member, a lawyer!
However, this time, Lt. Boxer solved the second murder by herself!
Loved it!


Abduction
Abduction
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/28/2007


I prefer he stick to medical mysteries. This one really wasn't up to his usual standard!


Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 650
Review Date: 11/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I found too much "soul-searching" in this book. Lisa Gardner is a favorite of mine but, I had to skip alot of internal dialogue of the main character.


Always Time to Die (St. Kilda, Bk 1)
Always Time to Die (St. Kilda, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 10/22/2006


Former U.S. Senator Quintrell is dead.
His son, New Mexico's governor, is preparing his run for the highest political office in the land.
And dark family secrets are about to explode with the devastating force of a Southwestern earthquake.
An eccentric Quintrell aunt has invited genealogist Carolina "Carly" May to their Taos compound to compile a record of the illutrious family. But digging nto the past is raising troubling questions about a would-be president's private life...and the grisly street crime that left his drug-addicted sister dead. As a dark world of twisted passions and depravity slowly opens up before Carly, there is no one whom she dares trust - perhaps least of all Dan Duran, a dangerous, haunted enigma who's tied to the Quintrells' history. But she will need an ally to survive the terrible mysteries a father carried to his grave - because folowing the bloodlines of the powerful can be a bloody business. And some dead secrets can kill.


Amazonia
Amazonia
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 9/11/2008


Excellent read - page turner - convoluted!


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 10/22/2006


I read this one after The DaVinci Code. Felt both of them equally intriguing.


Blindsighted  (Grant County, Bk 1)
Blindsighted (Grant County, Bk 1)
Author: Karin Slaughter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 3/27/2007


Familiar characters with a good story. Not as good as some of her later books but enjoyable. Very fast read!


Bloody River Blues (John Pellam, Bk 2)
Review Date: 12/6/2006


This would have been better if it didn't keep jumping back and forth in time. I'm not a big fan of that type of story. On the whole story could have done without all the, what I felt was, gratuitous sex.


The Blue Nowhere
The Blue Nowhere
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 12/6/2006
Helpful Score: 1


If you like computers and the machine world, you love this book. I enjoyed finding out some things about computing I never knew.
Oh, yes, the story was great!


The Body of David Hayes (Boldt / Matthews, Bk 9) (Large Print)
The Body of David Hayes (Boldt / Matthews, Bk 9) (Large Print)
Author: Ridley Pearson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/4/2006


As much as I like Ridley Pearson, for some reason I just wasn't able to get into this book and abandoned it after only 70 pages.
I'm sure it is probably as good as his others, but just not for me. At least not at this time.


Breaking Point (Troubleshooters, Bk 9)
Breaking Point (Troubleshooters, Bk 9)
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 12/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Too musch gratuitous sex. I'm not a prude but I like my mysteries to be about a good plot, doesn't need sex to hold my interest.


The Cereal Murders (Goldy Schulz, Bk 3)
The Cereal Murders (Goldy Schulz, Bk 3)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 309
Review Date: 11/16/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Enjoyed this one and especially some of the recipes throughout the book. As light reading it works, but I relly would read one of her books again only if I ran out of all other reading materials.


Chill Factor
Chill Factor
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 571
Review Date: 11/4/2006


Just to let you know, this is one of those new "taller" books.
This one kept me guessing virtually to the end. Which for me is a bit rare. It also kept me up all night to finish the last quarter of it!


The Chinese Cooking (The Book of ... Series)
The Chinese Cooking (The Book of ... Series)
Author: Jasper Spencer-Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/6/2007


Great book for a beginner. Has wonderful step-bu-step directions with photos.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2072
Review Date: 9/11/2008


Pretty good but I really liked the picture better. Tooo much detail in book.


Damage Control
Damage Control
Author: Robert Dugoni
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 11/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Kept me up all night.


Dead Aim
Dead Aim
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 373
Review Date: 2/19/2007


As Naomi L. said - "Typical Johansen plot line- strong woman gets caught in deadly circumstance, thrown in with "dangerous but good hearted" tough guy. As they solve the mystery she goes from hating him to seeing the good in him while strenghthing herself and "saving the world."" Actually this is why I cannot give it a full 5 stars. People of this character do NOT change, at least not this quickly, not in real life. So I felt the characters were "out of character".
Otherwise, the story was good and did keep me up very late to finish it.


Dead Even
Dead Even
Author: Brad Meltzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 9/11/2008


Brad at his best.


Dead Ringer (Rosato & Associates, Bk 10)
Dead Ringer (Rosato & Associates, Bk 10)
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 12/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Very interesting story line. The resolution was a bit "cute". Expected more from this author as she has been my fav for a while.


1 to 20 of 59 - Page: