Tonya C. (skydancer) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
1,001 Facts that Will Scare the S#*t Out of You: The Ultimate Bathroom Reader
Review Date: 9/4/2012


This book was very disappointing. It says it is the Ultimate Bathroom Reader, but in my opinion, "Uncle John's Bathroom Readers" are better than this book. None of the facts in the book would "scare the S**t out of you," they are just basic facts, although some of them do have an "ewwwww" factor to them. The author also makes these comments/jokes after each fact that were for the most part not funny but insulting. Even though I started skipping reading his comments, I stopped reading about half way through the book.


Amazonia
Amazonia
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 420
Review Date: 1/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book I read by James Rollins. It starts out with an expedition disappearing into the Amazon jungle and one of them coming out 4 years later. He had gone in with one arm and came a back out with two, and then he dies. The son of one of the original expedition members organzies another expedition to go in and see if they can find out what happened to them(and, of course, try to find out how the guy grew his arm back!). It is a really good book with adventure(think Indiana Jones and Temple of Doom type) and paranormal (at one point there are fish like creatures that live in water but also can travel on land and are chasing people). It is a book that I have on my "Keep to read again" shelf and have read it several times. James Rollins first several books all have adventure and paranormal in them, but I like this one better than the others.


At the Table in Colonial America
At the Table in Colonial America
Author: Patricia B Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/11/2018


Neat little book with recipes that were common in colonial america and some that are still common in some areas today. There are also numerous colonial-era anecdotes and bits of legend and lore.


The Backyard Goat: An Introductory Guide to Keeping and Enjoying Pet Goats, from Feeding and Housing to Making Your Own Cheese
Review Date: 7/3/2017


I got this book for my mother, since my aunt had left her fainting goat here and expected us to take care of it. The book has a lot of information, covering many different areas.

The book is interesting if you are just wanting to read about goats, and is very helpful if you are needing to learn how to care for one. There are color pictures of different breeds of goats, and it covers collars, harnesses, shelters, milking, how to train them - mostly for a pack animal - and so much more.

It is well-written and very interesting. You get the best of both - educational and entertaining.


The Beast Within: The Howling / Smoke on the Water / Redeeming the Wizard
Review Date: 7/18/2018


There are 3 stories in the book.
The Howling - The first story is good. Liv's boyfriend disappears and she ends up with his brother. She starts having disturbing dreams and then her boyfriend returns to save her from the real danger.

Smoke on the Water was probably my favorite in the book. It is about zombie hunter and his new partner on a mission in a small lake town. A little bit different of a spin on zombie genre.

Redeeming the Wizard - the final story in the book. I tried to get interested in the story, but the more I read, the less I cared and after 18 pages I finally just gave up.


Beyond the Night (Envy Chronicles, Bk 1)
Beyond the Night (Envy Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Joss Ware
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 12/7/2014


This is the first book in the Envy Chronicles. It had me from page one. Five guys spent the last 50 years in a "suspended state" in a cave. When they come out the world has completely changed - although they haven't in appearance. This first book is mostly about Dr. Elliot Drake, better known as Dred. Who was a Doctor before this happened and has acquired the ability to heal people by touch.

You get introduced to the gangas - zombie like creatures - and the changed landscapes, and settlements. The book drew me in completely. I was lucky enough to have others in the series, and have been reading them back to back. I am now on the 5th book in the series and still loving them.

If you like paranormal and action packed books, this is definitely a series you should give a try!


Brains: A Zombie Memoir
Brains: A Zombie Memoir
Author: Robin Becker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/11/2015


I got this book because I enjoy the zombie genre and based on the reviews. Unfortunately, I did not agree with the reviews. The idea is unique, a zombie is the one doing the writing - you can see it through the undead's eyes, and you do. However, the main character was very annoying and unlikeable and I did not enjoy the authors writing style. I kept forcing myself to read the book, thinking it would get better, but by the time I was about 1/3 of the way I gave up.


Brides of Lancaster County: A Merry Heart / Looking for a Miracle / Plain and Fancy / The Hope Chest (Brides of Lancaster County, Bks 1-4)
Review Date: 7/2/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I was really looking forward to reading this book, but unfortunately, I did not like it. I have read and enjoyed a lot of Amish stories by varied authors, but had not read any by Wanda Brunstetter, so I thought I would give her a try.

The first story started off promising, but by the end, I really did not care what happened to the two main characters - only the child involved in the story.
The second story I got about half-way through and once again did not care about any of the people in the story, so I gave up on finishing the story and book.

The stories, to me, seemed to drag on without much happening. And then, like I said, I did not care about the main people. The men did not get much character development and the women seemed to feel sorry for themselves throughout the stories.

I doubt that I will look for any more books by Wanda Brunstetter, her writing might be great for some, but I did not care for the stories.


A Brother's Journey: Surviving a Childhood of Abuse
A Brother's Journey: Surviving a Childhood of Abuse
Author: Richard B. Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The book is not as well written as his brother Dave Pelzer's books. He also did not suffer half as much, or do half as well as his brother did during and after the abuse. However, if you have read Dave Pelzer's A Child Called It, Lost Boy and A Man Named Dave, then I would suggest reading this book as well. It gives you another view point as to what was going on in that mad house.


Cell
Cell
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 703
Review Date: 5/4/2017


I haven't read a Stephen King book in a long while, but I am so glad I picked up this book. I like "end of the world" books and this is definitely one, but different from any I have read recently.

People are going about their normal daily activities when cell phones start ringing and when people answer they get turned into "phone crazies", even one who was just trying to listen in when her friend got "the call."

Clay is in a town miles from his family when this happens. He doesn't have a cell phone, so he doesn't end up turning into one of the violent phone crazies. His sole thought is to get home to his son. Along the way, he ends up picking up others and they help and support each other along the way. It kept me reading and interested to the very end.

As with any apocalyptic type book, there is violence and death, but there is also some humor and friendships being built in the chaos that follows. The action starts almost on the very first page and never stopped. It was a very good read and I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys action, thriller type books.


Colonial Christmas Cooking (Revised Edition)
Colonial Christmas Cooking (Revised Edition)
Author: Patricia B. Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/11/2018


An interesting little book about Christmas in Colonial America. Brief descriptions of different styles of celebrating the birth of Jesus are presented â from the Moravians' devout joyousness to the Anglican's bubbly merriment, and those that tried to outlaw Christmas completely.

There are recipes for all kinds of dishes from âWassail,â âJoy Tea Cakes,â to âJamestown Sweet Potato Pudding,â and more. There are also numerous colonial-era anecdotes and bits of legend and lore.


Coroner's Journal:  Stalking Death in Louisiana
Coroner's Journal: Stalking Death in Louisiana
Author: Louis Cataldie MD
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/15/2014


Very good book. Based on the journal of a coroner from Baton Rouge. There is some blood and gore - but he writes each with respect to the victims and their families. It surprised me how quickly I read through the book. It kept me interested and reading.


An Echo in Time (Time Passages)
An Echo in Time (Time Passages)
Author: Sherry Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is a good read. It is kind of a follow up to "Whisper Through Time."


Getting Out: A Post-Apocalyptic EMP Survival Thriller (The EMP)
Review Date: 8/19/2018


This book is about a group of people after a EMP that causes all electric to go down - credit cards won't work, alarm systems are down, police can't communicate or dispatch their cars, cell phones won't work, etc.

One man, Max, understands the significance and decides to bug out to a cabin left to him that is out away from the city. Even though he doesn't want to be responsible for anyone else, he helps a neighbor and an old friend. They all end up going to his cabin together on the way they run into a woman and her two teenage kids and they all band together.

The book is about the break down of society - like most post-apocalyptic books - but on a more limited basis, as it mostly follows this group of survivors.

The book kept me engrossed, the characters were well-developed and I was able to care about them and want to know what happened.

If you are going to read this series- there are 7 at this point - you will need to read them in order, as they follow the group and each book picks up right where the previous book left off without any 'back story.'


The Healer
The Healer
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 4/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Sharon Sala is one of my favorite authors, and this book did not disappoint me. The story unfolds quickly and easily and it immediately drew me in. The character of Jonah is a very likable character, and his connection with animals and his healing powers make him even more likeable. The story line of him being hunted and the love story between him and Luce were ones that kept me interested. I usually only read for about 30 minutes a day and it can takes me days or weeks to read a book, however, I read this one in 2 or 3 days time! There were a couple flaws in the information about Alaska, which distracted me, but if you haven't lived in Alaska(like I have) then you probably won't even notice.


Heaven on Earth
Heaven on Earth
Author: Constance O'Day-Flannery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 6/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Cassie gets transported back in time and meets another time traveler. It is a very good read by this author, one that I would put on a "save to read again" list/shelf!


Hidden Moon (Nightcreature, Bk 7)
Hidden Moon (Nightcreature, Bk 7)
Author: Lori Handeland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 1/12/2011


I just read this book, not by choice, but because someone told me I really should read it. It was a little bit slow to start, but it was a very good read. It has romance, paranormal and mystery. It kept me guessing to the end. The character of Malachi Cartwright is very intruging and I liked the character of Grace, the best friend of the female lead, Claire. I don't usually read books about werewolves, shapeshifters, etc. but I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it.


Mysteria
Mysteria
Author: Gena Showalter, P. C. Cast, MaryJanice Davidson, Susan Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 4/26/2010


This was the first paranormal book that I have read that has involved werewolves, witches, demons, etc. I thought that the stories were all fairly good, except that the second story did not seem to have a very good story line, it was hard to follow. All of the other stories were interesting and kept me reading.


Night Shift: Secrets at Midnight / Magic Steals / Lucky Charms / The Beast of Blackmoor
Review Date: 5/11/2017


I have not read these authors before that I know of. I did not pick the book out, it was given to me by my mother, but I decided to give it a try. My impression of the 4 stories are-

Secrets at Midnight, was good, I got into it and enjoyed it. It was funny with elements of romance and danger and kept me interested. Bastien Smith ad his brothers, are hilarious and attractive. Kirby is unaware of her past and where she fits in. I will definitely be looking for more by Nalini Singh.

Magic Steals was also a good story. It was not as easy to get interested in, and it was a bit odd at times, but over all it was a good read. Although I felt at times like I had started reading a book in the middle, things were mentioned and not explained - almost like you should understand it - like it was in an earlier part of the story.

Lucky Charms was an OK story, I guess. It was about a seer who is looking for missing leprechauns, and I am assuming it was supposed to be urban fantasy and humor. I was not impressed with it. It did not draw me in, or make me want to keep reading. I did read the entire story to see if it got better, but I never did like it.

The Beast of Blackmoor - I tried to read it, but could not get interested and after being disappointed with the one before it, I just gave up after several pages and no interest.


Omega Days (Omega Days, Bk 1)
Omega Days (Omega Days, Bk 1)
Author: John L. Campbell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/7/2016


This book grabbed me from page one and kept me reading. The book deals with the dead rising. It is based on several people, joining into groups and surviving.

There is Father Xavier Church, who is thrust into a leadership role he doesn't know if he is ready for or wants.
-Skye Dennison, who's parents and sister are helping her get settled into her college dorm for her first year.
-Angie West, who has a reality TV show based on guns, she and her uncle Bud were filming an episode in Oakland.
-Convicts Carney and TC, who are being transported in a prison van with several other convicts,
-Evan, an author who was by himself, until he runs into a caravan of hippies and joins with them.

As the chaos starts, they are all trapped, as the bridges are blocked with traffic jams and the dead and they can't get out of the area. Other survivors find their groups and join with them, but they are running out of places that are safe.

Some of them find out that there are not only the dead to fear, as in all instances where society falls, they find that there are men who are evil and they have to fear them, just as much as the dead.

As soon as I finished this book, I started on the next book 'Ship of the Dead' - and have the next book 'Drifters' ready to read as well!

In my opinion, very good books to read. Not a lot of gore - well, no more than usual for a zombie book. The books are more like the TV show 'The Walking Dead' and don't deal with just the zombies rising, but with the humans dealing with it and how they cope.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: