Alice J. (ASJ) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 336 - Page:
11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 1/28/2012
Helpful Score: 4


It was better than I expected. Main character Jake/George was well written. Book was way too long could have cut 25% and not missed much. Worse thing was I had a pretty good idea how it was going to end. Last chapter was charming though. Read Stepehn King's afterward at end of book it was very interesting.


50% Off Murder (Good Buy Girls, Bk 1)
50% Off Murder (Good Buy Girls, Bk 1)
Author: Josie Belle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 4/20/2012
Helpful Score: 4


Good first in a series cozy. There is a lot of room to grow the characters and plotlines in this series. Mainly this book introduced us to the characters and little about their background. Often in cozy there is a bit more emphasis on theme (cooking, tea shop, flowers etc). The book started with bargain hunter scene, but didn't follow up much on it after that. Will read book two.


Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Author: Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 7/18/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Ick I absolutely hated this book. Very choppy writing, same thing over and over go kill another vampire. Ending was awful too. I will not read another book by this author.


The Accidental Human (Accidentals, Bk 3)
The Accidental Human (Accidentals, Bk 3)
Author: Dakota Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 1/21/2012


A quick fun read, good humor, romance and Sex. good overall story.


Accidentally Catty (Accidentals, Bk 5)
Accidentally Catty (Accidentals, Bk 5)
Author: Dakota Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 4/1/2012


I didn't think this was was a good as the others. Dr Woods didn't fit in with the zany actions of our other characters.


Accidentally Dead (Accidentals, Bk 2)
Accidentally Dead (Accidentals, Bk 2)
Author: Dakota Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 7/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


fun book. Continues on with the 3 crazy friends and their paranormal adventures. Quick read, likeable characters and fast moving plot.


Adrift on St. John (Mystery in the Islands, Bk 1)
Adrift on St. John (Mystery in the Islands, Bk 1)
Author: Rebecca M. Hale
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/15/2012
Helpful Score: 5


I would not consider this book a modern day cozy. More like cozies of days gone by. It is a bit dark, and no bubbly characters. I enjoyed the historical back ground of the islands. mystery was okay.


After Midnight (Youngbloods, Bk 1)
After Midnight (Youngbloods, Bk 1)
Author: Lynn Viehl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/18/2012


I really enjoyed this book, a different twist on vampires. Ms. Viehl gradually builds up a knowledge of the characters and their history. Good description of family dynamics and some interesting horse takl too. The two main characters Cat and Jesse are very well writen and makeyou want to root for their romance. I need to get book two.


Afterlight (Dark Ink Chronicles, Bk 1)
Afterlight (Dark Ink Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Elle Jasper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 1/13/2011
Helpful Score: 4


I really liked this book, the farther I got into it the more I liked it. Main character Riley was likable and not too ditzy. I liked the Dupre family of vampires and Gullahs. Nothing complicated for a plot just a good read. Definately want book 2.


All About Roses
All About Roses
Author: Rex Wolfe, James K. McNair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Good basic information about roses and how to take care of them. Gives you ideas to help roses when trouble pops us. Good review of different types of roses as well.


Always a Witch (Witch, Bk 2)
Always a Witch (Witch, Bk 2)
Author: Carolyn MacCullough
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/10/2011


I really enjoyed this book. It picks up right where Once a Witch leaves off. Fast moving plot with lots of twist. We get to know our main characters and family history better. Couldn't put it down. Not sure if this is the last book. It is well tied together.


America's Best Cross-Stitch (Better Homes and Gardens)
Review Date: 7/31/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This cross stitch book is very good for crafters of all levels. It is well written and directions are easy to follow. Pictures are very clear so you easily see the pattern and the picture of the finished product. Some projects are more andvanced than others, but there are plenty for novices.


An Untamed Land (Red River of the North, No 1)
An Untamed Land (Red River of the North, No 1)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 11/17/2009


Very good story about a family immigrating to the US from NOrway. Will make you wonder why anyone would want to settle under such harse weather conditions. Nice depiction of the time period and its sturggles. A couple of the characters are well developed. Enjoyable book will read the next in the series.


Angel's Verdict (Beaufort & Company, Bk 4)
Angel's Verdict (Beaufort & Company, Bk 4)
Author: Mary Stanton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/29/2011


Great characters, good mystery with lots of twist, nice Southern culture. Just a very enjoyable book. The whole series has been a pleasure to read. One of the better cozy series.


Anteater of Death
Anteater of Death
Author: Betty Webb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/1/2011
Helpful Score: 2


A wonderful new mystery series. Well written, plot moves along and is developed nicely. Love all the discussion of the zoo animals. Good mystery, not easy to guess. Characters are multidemensional. Can't wait to read book 2.


An Appetite for Murder (Key West Food Critic, Bk 1)
An Appetite for Murder (Key West Food Critic, Bk 1)
Author: Lucy Burdette
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 11/27/2012
Helpful Score: 4


Very good first in a series mystery. The setting on a houseboat is a bit different and Key West is always entertaining. Characters are interesting with room for them to grow. Love the food description. Nice addition of Ms. Gloria as an elderly character. Looking forward to book 2 in teh series.


Ashes of the Elements (Hawkenlye, Bk 2)
Ashes of the Elements (Hawkenlye, Bk 2)
Author: Alys Clare
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/9/2009


This is a very mystery. Well written. Historical backdrop is lovely. These books are tough to find. Enjoy. The characters are very engaging.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 888
Review Date: 10/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Just finished this book for my book club. I found it very boring. Very long verbous paragraphs. I will say the last third of the book is much better than the early portion. I didn't find the characters interesting. The war scences were good. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.


Avalon
Avalon
Author: Anya Seton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 8/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Outstanding book. If you have not read a book by Anya Seton pick one up. Much better than her modern day contemparary Phillipa Gregory (I like Phillipa Gregory too) Very good mix of history, romance and advenure. You will learn a lot about Vikings, Greenland, Ice land are America's early settlers. Awesome book.


A Bad Day for Mercy (Stella Hardesty, Bk 4)
A Bad Day for Mercy (Stella Hardesty, Bk 4)
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/17/2012


Best book of the series. Setting is Different too seeing Stella went up to Wisconsin for this book. Characters are growing well in book four although I did miss Goat not a lot of him in this book.


1 to 20 of 336 - Page: