Corinne H. (camishou) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Castles (Crown's Spies, Bk 4)
Castles (Crown's Spies, Bk 4)
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/5/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is the only book series by Julie Garwood that I have read and was quite appalled. I read her Highlander series, and they are really great!!! especially Ranson and the Bride..... But this one!!! Rarely have I ever met a book so god-awful I wanted to shoot myself in the face before I could finish. This one takes the proverbial cake. When the hero and heroine talk through their first sexual encounter (and I finally stopped deluding myself that the story would pick up)--- The writing itself was not very good at all. There was extreme word overuse. The story was even worse. Alesandra is made out to be a rich, bumbling dullard who cries every single second (I hate that in female). Don't give me wrong, I think it's good for female to cry once in awhile but not on every other pages of the book. Colin is the suave and intelligent one who laughs at her mistakes. It makes me sick, because this is basically all the book is about. I do not recommend this as any sort of reading material, serious or just for fun.


The Christmas Knight
The Christmas Knight
Author: Michele Sinclair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 7/29/2011


I'm a sucker for historical Highland romances. I love her Highlander series. I couldn't wait for the next one in the series. Meanwhile I picked this one up just before boarding a long flight, and boy am I glad I did. And, yup, it kept me transfixed enough to where I almost finished the entire book by the time I landed :)
The plot is well developed and kept me turning pages for hours. The characters are masterfully developed. I loved both the characters of Bromwyn and Ranulf, as well as the supporting characters. I eagerly await Sinclair's follow up stories with Edythe and Lily, particularly the relationship unfolding between Edythe and Tyr.


Deception
Deception
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 7/7/2011


I liked the story and at the same time just a bit disappointed. I had high hopes for Olympia and Jared. I love her distractedness with the real world. And her concern for her three nephews. And her loyalty to her aunts. Jared's cool, collected intensity when going after what he wants is a great foil for Olympia. They do make a great couple. The mystery of the lost treasure added much to the story so I was disappointed to see it left unsolved at the end. Jared wouldn't take Olympia into society, he didn't think to give her jewelry. The least he could do would be to take her and the boys on the grand adventure of her life to the West Indies. Now THAT would have been romantic.


Desert Ecstasy
Desert Ecstasy
Author: Connie Mason
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/30/2011
Helpful Score: 2


It was a tale of disappointment. Mark was so very dull and underdeveloped. Christa is annoying and so naive... After only about 50pages into the 430pages, they're already protesting their love for each other... come on.... First they meet, then separate, then meet again and after one or two days with each other they love each.... no no no Mason, it doesn't work like that... at least give us some reason they love each beside they're attracted to each other, which would have been fine... but nope, they fall head over heels with each other and that's it. Sorry I couldn't get past 100pages. I place it right back into the system. The book is shallow and so are the heroine and hero.


Desiring the Highlander (Scottish Highlander, Bk 3)
Desiring the Highlander (Scottish Highlander, Bk 3)
Author: Michele Sinclair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 6/20/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book was great from beginning to end. Absolutely hysterical and yet touching in many many sections. The chemistry between Cole and Ellenor was both steamy and yet believable. Ellenor is strong and smart with just a touch of sass, which makes her perfect for Cole. Strong and tortured, Cole captured me totally from page one. I couldn't put it down and would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys romance, regardless of preferred genre.


The Devil Wears Plaid
The Devil Wears Plaid
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 12/11/2010
Helpful Score: 2


THE DEVIL WEARS PLAID by Teresa Medieros is a wonderful historical romance set in Scotland. It is well written with details, depth, fast paced and a page turner. It has romance, sensuality, intrigue, adventure, retribution, betrayal,secrets,Highlanders, English bride, friendship, tragedy, full of passion. The characters are enchanting, and full of passion. The hero, Jamie, is handsome, dangerous, a Sinclair,and the grandson of a Hepburn. He is determined to find justice for the death of his parents by who he believes killed them, a Hepburn. The heroine, Emma, is defiant, beautiful, high spirited and determined to fulfill her family's obligation. She is betrothed to the old Hepburn laid but is kidnapped by Jamie Sinclair on the day of the wedding for Ransom. What follows is an adventure, passion, finding what is truly important and fulfilling your dream of happiness. This is a wonderful story of true love, passion, forgiveness, and finding happiness. I would highly recommend this book especially if you enjoy Scottish love stories.


The Education of Mrs. Brimley
The Education of Mrs. Brimley
Author: Donna MacMeans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 3/25/2010


Victorian romance fans will enjoy this fun frolic starring two likable protagonists who fall in love while he trains her in the art of love. The droll double entendres make for an intelligent amusing historical as the student teaches the teacher as much as he does her. An enjoyable story


The Famous Heroine / The Plumed Bonnet (Dark Angel, Bks 3 & 4)
The Famous Heroine / The Plumed Bonnet (Dark Angel, Bks 3 & 4)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 2/28/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I liked both stories...The Famous Heroine and the Plumed Beonnet...especially because they are somehow connected to her other book 'Dark Angel/ Lord Carew wife... Could not put the book down...just wanted to stay up all night the finish the book. Mary Balogh is a good writter and this book kept me up. I did not want to put it down...can't wait to get her next book...


The Gift (Crown's Spies, Bk 3)
The Gift (Crown's Spies, Bk 3)
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 407
Review Date: 3/26/2011


This book was really disappointing and I enjoyed Julie Garwood's previous book like "Ranson" and "The Secret" (highlander series). To quote one of the other reviewers ''she was so annoying, naive to the point of stupidity''. And not only this, SHE NEVER STOPPED COMPLAINING AND NAGGING!! Sarah's constant clutziness was beyond ridiculous. She had cried at least twice in EVERY SINGLE CHAPTER.... COME ON!!!!! She cries at the drop of a hat... I mean everything makes her cry... It was way too much. The fact that she almost sunk the ship, twice, with her umbrella is a testament to this fact. The chemistry between sarah and nathan wasn't at all strong either. Ultimately, this book was boring and such a dissapointment.


The Lover
The Lover
Author: Nicole Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 3/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The hero cheating on the heroine over and over again absolutely RUINED the entire book for me. I cannot enjoy an adultering leading man. The book became utterly useless to me at that point... I stopped reading less than half way through... Jordan can do so much better


Mad About the Earl (Ministry of Marriage, Bk 2)
Mad About the Earl (Ministry of Marriage, Bk 2)
Author: Christina Brooke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 10/20/2014


What a treat this book is! I like 'Beauty and the Beast' romances and this is one of the best of them. Charming. Witty. Warm. Emotional. The characters leap off the pages - beautifuly Rosamund who knows admiration for her beauty but longs for genuine love that sees past her spectacular appearance, smart, funny, gruff Griffin who might be a beast on the outside but who is pure deliciousness within. And then there are all the wonderful secondary characters.


Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover (Rules of Scoundrels, Bk 4)
Never Judge a Lady by Her Cover (Rules of Scoundrels, Bk 4)
Author: Sarah MacLean
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 4/22/2015


Loved this final book of the series! It had lots of surprises, sweet romance, and I especially loved the connection and interaction between the owners of the Fallen Angel. I loved revisiting all the other characters from the series because it felt as if we were actually "seeing" each characters happy ending and eavesdropping on their everyday life... this one is a more than satisfying conclusion to a wonderfully entertaining series!


Princess Charming (Legendary Lovers, Bk 1)
Princess Charming (Legendary Lovers, Bk 1)
Author: Nicole Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 3/22/2012


I am always left wondering how such poor books receive so many 5 star ratings. This is another author, whom I used to love, who has resorted to turning out books that are formulaic and whose cardboard characters leave me totally uninterested in their fate. Honestly, I was unable to make it through the first two chapter. I read the other reviews and all I could think was "Did you get paid to write the review?" I was bored after the first ten pages. I could not finish and place it right back on my PB bookshelf. Sorry Nicole Jordan!


Reckless (Highland Brides, Bk 3)
Reckless (Highland Brides, Bk 3)
Author: Hannah Howell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/30/2012


This is my first Howell's and I really enjoyed it. The characters were real and acted accordingly.
Ailis was a spunky girl who learned at an early age to accept the things that she could not change, but that did not mean that she lacked the courage to fight back whenever she could.
Alexander had given up on women because of the hurt they had caused him. He took what he thought was his and to hell with the consequences until he took Ailis and finally met his match.


Secrets of an Accidental Duchess (Donovan Sisters, Bk 2)
Secrets of an Accidental Duchess (Donovan Sisters, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Haymore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 7/30/2012


This is a wonderful additional story in a series that continues to get better and better. The characters have all the human flaws that make them easy to identify with and will have the reader turning the pages just to see how this one will turn out. The story has action with a wonderful love story that will have the reader hating to see it come to an end but will have them eagerly awaiting the next story in this series. This is the second book in this series and while it can be read as a stand alone the story will be greatly enriched if the reader reads the first story before this one. This is one author that will be come an auto buy for many readers as her stories are so well written.


Seducing the Highlander
Seducing the Highlander
Author: Emma Wildes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/28/2012
Helpful Score: 4


If you want to read three short stories about the enthusiastic deflowering of virgins and men with insatiable sexual appetites then this is the book for you. I would read something else if you want a story with more depth and characterisation, more emphasis on romance and less on sex. As you can see, I am not a fan of this book at all, but I do highly recommend Wildes' "Lessons From a Scarlet Lady" which I really enjoyed.


The Seduction of Scandal (Scandals and Seductions, Bk 5)
The Seduction of Scandal (Scandals and Seductions, Bk 5)
Author: Cathy Maxwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 12/17/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I ordered this book mainly because the heroine has my namesake... As early as the second chapter I know the story was going down hill from there, but I kept reading hoping it would be as good as Maxwell's other books, what a disappointment!!!!! :(( From the weak plot to the annoying heroine, this book was badly delivered. Suck weak languages, personalities and the characters. Sorry to say that I, who loved all historical romances, was sadly very disappointed in Maxwell's latest book. I couldn't even finish it, I kept skipping paragraphs after paragraphs, then pages, just to see if it'll get better. Finally I just gave up half way through :( It's nothing near as well written as her many previous books I have enjoyed over the years.


Sin and Sensibility (Griffin Family, Bk 1)
Sin and Sensibility (Griffin Family, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 2/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first book by Suzanne Enoch. I'm so glad that I gave this author chance. I absolutely loved this book. Enoch gives you such charming dialogue, and witty repartee from both main characters. The secondary characters were just as delightful.


Snowy Night with a Stranger: Snowy Night with a Highlander / When Sparks Fly / A Holiday Gamble
Review Date: 2/10/2010


While I loved both Sabrina Jeffries's story and Julia London's, I found Jane Feather's left something to be desired. Great to curl up with a cup of tea and read on a chilly winter day!
I enjoyed reading all three stories but I admit my favorite, was A Snowy Night with a Highlander by Julia London. She is at her best in this short story, creating memorable and lovable characters and circumstances. Although, this was short, it was as good as any full length and a worthy read.


Then Comes Seduction (Huxtables, Bk 2)
Then Comes Seduction (Huxtables, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 356
Review Date: 11/30/2010
Helpful Score: 3


The second Huxtable sister Regency romance is a charming tale starring two delightful lead characters who gamble on love. Jasper and Katherine are a perfect pairing as each raises the stake in what turns into a scandalous love affair enhanced by overarching family issues. Mary Balogh is two for two with one sister left and a younger brother who deserves that magical Balogh historical touch... Then Comes Seduction is the second novel in Mary Balogh's newest series featuring the Huxtable family. While each of the four novels will stand on its own, those who prefer to read a series in order should start with the first book in the series, First Comes Marriage, as it sets the stage...


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: