Judy D. (bactitech) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Back When We Were Grownups
Back When We Were Grownups
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 10/17/2006


For anyone 50+ years old who likes to read Anne Tyler, this book is worth the read. I couldn't get into it at first; the character's names are trite and cutesy, but after I got past the first scene, I couldn't wait to put it down. I started listening to it on a library audio book. I had bought the hard cover off the library's "withdrawn" shelf. I found I had to read it as listening to it was just too slow. I would definitely read another book by this author.


Bird's-Eye View
Bird's-Eye View
Author: J. F. Freedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 9/20/2007


I listened to this on tape and my husband read the paperback. I thought it was an edge-of-your-seat thriller. My husband liked it, but didn't think it was that intense. It's one of those mysteries where you don't know who is a bad guy and who isn't until the end. I really liked it.


Boundaries : When to Say YES, When to Say NO, To Take Control of Your Life
Review Date: 5/2/2013
Helpful Score: 4


Way way way too religious for my tastes. Good ideas, but I really didn't need a Biblical quote every other paragraph. I just couldn't get past it and did not finish reading. I did not plan on a sermon when I got this book.


Busman's Honeymoon (Lord Peter Wimsey, Bk 13)
Busman's Honeymoon (Lord Peter Wimsey, Bk 13)
Author: Dorothy L. Sayers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 12/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderfully written mystery that is not violent per se but intricate in the true Lord Peter Wimsey style. It is too bad that Ms. Sayers did not write more with the two characters as man and wife, as the dialog between them is wonderful. If you like English mysteries you will like this one.


C.B.Greenfield: No Lady in the House
C.B.Greenfield: No Lady in the House
Author: Lucille Kallen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The vocabulary was excellent; however, the plot was very hard to follow. This writer has a lot of promise. Perhaps if she wrote more succinctly. The Greenfield character is good. Maggie is kind of an airhead.


Childhood Interrupted
Childhood Interrupted
Author: Kathleen O'Malley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/3/2014


The horrors of the Irish industrial schools is made very plain in this autobiographical account of the author. She and her sister were taken out of their home when she was only eight years of age and forced to endure extreme hardships - apparently because her mother was not married. This took place in the 1950's and early 1960's. A must-read reality check for baby boomers.


The Color of Death (Rarities Unlimited, Bk 4)
The Color of Death (Rarities Unlimited, Bk 4)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 4/14/2007


The mystery part of this book is great; the cutesy sexual foreplay gets old real quick and seems relatively high school and stupid.

http://tinyurl.com/2plk8w

Here is Amazon's review of this book.


Convention, M.D.
Convention, M.D.
Author: Frank G. Slaughter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/6/2007


For those of you who like medical mysteries, this keeps one interested until the end. However, there is lots of fairly dry technical information, which is interesting if you like that sort of thing, with a lot of medical jargon thrown in. It's hard to keep the characters straight at first. This was written in the early 70's and shows quite clearly many issues of the day which have become commonplace in our world of 2007.


Devil's Corner
Devil's Corner
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 10/22/2006
Helpful Score: 6


If you like Lisa Scottoline, you will like this book. I found it a bit too cutesy for my tastes, but that's just me. I've read another one by her that was better. However, if you're a Scottoline addict, I would definitely read this, as the construction of the mystery is very good with a surprise ending.


False Witness
False Witness
Author: Dorothy Uhnak
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


"This is a searing powerful novel about a gruesome crime - and the way it changes the lives of the victim, the investigators and the criminal himself, whose identity is the final, spine-tingling shock of the book."

The above was taken from the inside dust jacket. I found this mystery to be one of the best I've ever read.


The Hunt Club (Wyatt Hunt, Bk 1)
The Hunt Club (Wyatt Hunt, Bk 1)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 11/9/2009


The plot of this book is gripping. It is quite a surprise ending and I'm sure that enthusiasts of police procedurals will enjoy this immensely.


The Investigation
The Investigation
Author: Dorothy Uhnak
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/6/2007


Dorothy Uhnak won an Edgar Award in 1968. She spent 14 years as a police officer before becoming a mystery writer, and the grittiness of her career shows in her excellent writing. I would highly recommend this book and any others written by her. They cause the reader to think deeply about how people really are as opposed to how they appear to be.


The Investigation
The Investigation
Author: Dorothy Uhnak
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/1/2006


I found this book at work on the freebie table. I couldn't put it down once I started it. It's very intriguing from a mystery standpoint and has quite a surprise ending. The author was an Edgar winner in 1968.


Listening Woman (Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee, Bk 3)
Listening Woman (Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee, Bk 3)
Author: Tony Hillerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 9/18/2007


This was definitely one of Hillerman's better stories and has a nail biter ending. Highly recommended.


Maisy's Seasons
Maisy's Seasons
Author: Lucy Cousins
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/9/2009


This is one of the larger big board Maisy books. My 2 1/2 year old grandson LOVES Maisy! This one features all of Maisy's friends and has flaps to pick up and a big wheel (that doesn't turn that easily, which is why I didn't rate it 5 stars) to turn. He doesn't like this one as well as the smaller books. The book is about 12" x 12" so this book is better for the older toddler/preschooler.


The Mercy Rule (Dismas Hardy, Bk 5)
The Mercy Rule (Dismas Hardy, Bk 5)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/16/2009


For lovers of police procedural/courtroom mysteries, this is an excellent book and will keep your interest right up to the end.


Minor in Possession (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 8)
Minor in Possession (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 8)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 11/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This was one of the better J.A. Jance books out there. I will admit I cannot put these down once I start them and I finished it in two days. Some of the subjects touched upon towards the end are sad but there is hope at the end.


Mystery Writers of America Presents The Blue Religion: New Stories about Cops, Criminals, and the Chase
Review Date: 12/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I'm not a big short story fan. If you like them, your opinion will be different. I guess my take on them is that they were...okay. One was so jumbly I couldn't read it and had to skip it, as I couldn't make sense of the characters or the plot. Michael Connelly's story was good, but it was the last one.


Name Withheld (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 13)
Name Withheld (J. P. Beaumont, Bk 13)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 10/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This was a quick read and once I got into it I couldn't put it down. J.P. Beaumont is trying to solve the murder of Donald Wolf, a biotechnology corporation executive whose numerous criminal activities included illegally trading industrial secrets and rape. He was not well-liked and many have motive for murder. Beau has lots of problems in this one also.


Savings Bonds: When to Hold, When to Fold and Everything In-Between
Review Date: 4/28/2012


This book was quite an eye opener when it comes to the details regarding investing in savings bonds. It was written in 1998, however, and I believe he has later editions available. I would encourage anyone who has a sizeable investment in bonds to read this book. I plan on seeking out the newest edition to see if anything has changed since '98.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: