Saiida M. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
All We Ever Wanted Was Everything
All We Ever Wanted Was Everything
Author: Janelle Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 12/22/2009


The blurbs and the synopsis made it sound more interesting than it actually was, however, the author does have a way with word play and description.


The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Bk 1)
The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 548
Review Date: 11/16/2010


Way better than I orginally thought. Although I had been a fan of Patterson for a while. I saw this book in the stores for years and really wasn't interested in another teen,magic type book, but needless to say it was Not Harry Potter-esque at all! These kids are the result of some weird ,wacky scientists experiments. They generated wings on these pre-teens, some in the womb of their unknown mothers. It's indicated that some the parents knew about the engineering of the wings before hand although it's not quite clear wether that is totally true or not. All in all, I can't wait to recieve book two and the other books in the series to see how it all gets wrapped up. I have faith in Patterson and maybe he will use his political powers in Hollywood to see a movie gets made it would be quite a relief from all the sequels hollywood is making now.


Bite
Bite
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 12/31/2009


The beginning was excellent and was everything you could want in a vampire novel. All the good traditional stuff like a love story, heroine a hero and a villian, but after that it all trails off into a different kind of story with the vampire in the background not one of my favorites. But worth reading.


Body Rides
Body Rides
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/16/2017


This was the worst of Laymon"s Books ever! The characters made such stupid choices and made it very easy for the villain and so called boogeyman to get them. ( Spoiler alert) He did. Before I really get started let me tell you I am a fan of Laymon and I have read at least ten of his books so far. But this took me a long time to read and I wasn't sure I wanted to pick it back up again. Once the main character meets this little hick and doesn't dump her like he really wanted too. He sooo should've, her dialogue was dumb, and borderline annoying to say the least. He already had a pretty girlfriend that he cared about,but that wasn't enough. So he leaves town and finds this girl. Long story short she gets him killed by convincing him to make some really dumb choices. Instead of the three of them taking the money and running. It's too much to say here, but I would skip this one.


Breeding Ground
Breeding Ground
Author: Sarah Pinborough
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 10/27/2010


Really good book was scary and creepy at the same time. Was not intending to read the next one but glad I did. The author has a lot of potiential.


Feeding Ground
Feeding Ground
Author: Sarah Pinborough
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/27/2010


WOW! Good read and fans of Pinborough will NOT be dissapointed. Actually, I was rather pleasantly surprised. I guess my surprise was the fact that a british born author could write like a urban author from the ghetto. It was very refreshing and very hard to put down. I was almost late for work reading this one afternoon. I kept one eye on the clock and the other on the characters that jumped from the pages into my brain.


Fifty Shades Darker (Fifty Shades, Bk 2)
Fifty Shades Darker (Fifty Shades, Bk 2)
Author: E. L. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 610
Review Date: 6/14/2013


I'm sure I don't have to go through what the plot is about for PBS readers- so I'll spare you. However, I will say that I'm not entirely sure it was better than the first there was more action and I appreciated the shopping trips and the characters going out to dinner, etc. Anything as long as they didn't start having meaningless sex. I really really just got tired of reading about sex. I almost found myself half skipping the sex scenes. Some reviewers were right. It was meaningless and didn't move the story along, it was like she ( EL James) was just trying to fill up five hundred pages. Having said all that I did fall in love with Christian Grey. I guess the characters calling each other by last names is a British thing which we all know the author is from there- so that didn't annoy me. I will also say as a psychologist that she did get the psychosis correct when she analyzed Christian's mental state.


Fifty Shades Freed (Fifty Shades, Bk 3)
Fifty Shades Freed (Fifty Shades, Bk 3)
Author: E. L. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 533
Review Date: 10/21/2013


I almost didn't read this third installment.I really didn't, but curiosity won out and I'm glad I did. True the first and last books were better than the second. The second book could have been cut in half and made apart of the first. If you want more details before you buy or use your credits seek my other reviews. My main problems with this book was the excessive use of certain expressions like: Gah! or Bah! That I believe are old woman expressions and it aged her character about 50 yrs. Plus,it was annoying!As a writer myself I also thought it was inconsistent for Christian to blow up about Ana being pregnant and then wanting more children after all. The conflict/blackmail was good there was less repetitive sex which was great.


Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Author: E. L. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1046
Review Date: 6/14/2013


I guess I liked this, because the characters were new and interesting. I did get tired of the repetition. OMG, how many times can she say "Holy Crap"- it didn't sound like something a twenty -one year old would say. Also, while we're on that. I thought she made them two young. How is the hero a billionaire at 27! Ana 21, she is graduating from college okay may make since, but Grey should been at least 31 just to even things out. Besides, from a writer stand point it would've made him more believable as a domineering male. I had a hard time even believing he was taller than Ana. This book was good despite the bad writing and I too didn't want to be the only human on the planet that hadn't read this. Now it's coming to the stage and screen.


Generation Dead (Generation Dead, Bk 1)
Generation Dead (Generation Dead, Bk 1)
Author: Daniel Waters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 9/9/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Generation Dead had so much potiential being a supernatural book which is very popular right now. I really wanted to love this book the way I loved the title. However, the book cover had nothing to do with the plot ( their are no dead cheerleaders here). Second, this was sort of a snooze in some places. I really struggled to get through most of it and I did skip to the end just to find out what happened. The ending was rather well done. The author is young and you can tell it's kind of like he just graduated highschool and isn't over it yet. I guess the biggest problem was the editing he could have just cut a lot of the part about the program and focused on Phoebe and Adam or just Adam he was the most likable character in the whole book. Probably won't read the second or the third book.


Glamorous Disasters : A Novel
Glamorous Disasters : A Novel
Author: Eliot Schrefer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/22/2010


Not good, I just couldn't get into it and I 'm really into these types of books- sad.


Heart-Shaped Box
Heart-Shaped Box
Author: Joe Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 321
Review Date: 1/18/2010


A good beginning for one of Stephen King's own. Scary, spooky. I made the mistake once of reading it at night and then trying to go to sleep. Made sure after that I ONLY read it in the early morning light. If you like ghosts this ones for you.


Heart-Shaped Box: A Novel
Heart-Shaped Box: A Novel
Author: Joe Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 8/26/2010


Unbelieveably good and deep and scary all at the same time. Made the mistake of reading it after the sun went down. From that point on it was all daylight hours reading for me. I was even too scared to get in the shower... Well, I had to close me eyes....


Irresistible
Irresistible
Author: Karen Robards
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/14/2009


This book is a hardcover. book club edition


Island
Island
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 1/22/2010


Crazy A** book. Long story a bit drawn out. Perhaps too long , but that's Laymon. Surprise ending, really , really didn't see that coming at all.... and you won't either trust me.


Life's a Stitch : The Best of Contemporary Women's Humor
Life's a Stitch : The Best of Contemporary Women's Humor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/21/2010


This book for women who need or want advice on men , moods, or whatever. Very humorous, funny, fast read, will put you in a good mood. Read it and then hand it over to your daughter or the next woman in your life.


MOI: French Confessions of an American Girl
MOI: French Confessions of an American Girl
Author: Saiida M Stoakley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/13/2010


A collection of fantasy/horror stories: If you like werewolf and vampire tales this book is for you. There's even a few assassin stories thrown in for fun!


Night in the Lonesome October
Night in the Lonesome October
Author: Richard Laymon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 12/3/2013


I have to admit I'm a fan of Laymon and this book kept me reading just to see what would happen the fact not much did kind of disappointed me. The end was a little creepy and I won't spoil it for you, because readers out there may have a different view than mine. If you're a fan, give it a chance and form your own opinions. I would still read more Laymon books. He is a very original author. This just wasn't my favorite.


Privilege (Privilege, Bk 1)
Privilege (Privilege, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Brian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/22/2009


Moves slower that Brian's other Private novels.


The Quickie
The Quickie
Author: James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 594
Review Date: 1/18/2010


Excellent one of Patterson's best! I took a whole summer deciding if I wanted to read it or buy it. Once I did WOW the characters were really popping off the pages. The surprise ending was so good I re-read it at the end out loud to my mother because I couldn't believe it. Only Honeymoon has come this close to being this good.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: