Carol G. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 70 - Page:
Adopting After Infertility
Adopting After Infertility
Author: Patricia Irwin Johnston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/4/2006
Helpful Score: 2


The absolute best part of the book is in the first 70 pages! It helps you sort through the issues (continue infertility treatment, stop, pick a different option or consider adoption). Best of all, it helps you feel in control of your family building plans.

We dealt with infertility treatments for a few years, moving onto adoption as our means of family building. Now we're the parents of three beautiful children.

KUDOS to Johnston!


Always in September
Always in September
Author: Doris Elaine Fell
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/5/2006


2005 reprint of 1994 book by same title, same author,

"As the Iraqi terrorist lifts his gun to Andrea, she is too panic-stricken to even whisper a child's prayer . . . "

intrique, romance, spirituality -- a good read!


The Amethyst Heart: Newly Repackaged Edition
The Amethyst Heart: Newly Repackaged Edition
Author: Penelope J. Stokes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/29/2007


Excellent story of a family's heritage and the choices they made - "a testimony to the freedom, faith and family . . . entwined with the history of a nation."

Another winner from the author of the Blue Bottle Club, The Wishing Jar, and The Memory Book.


The Ark, the Reed, and the Fire Cloud (Amazing Tales of Max and Liz, Bk 1)
Review Date: 6/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Just finished reading it myself -- loved it but disagree with some comments.

Given that it is a story of the Noah building the ark in the face of critics and in response toi God telling him to do it, how could you tell the story without mentioning Christianity?

It is a wonderful adventure story that looks at an familiar event (at least to most of us) from a different perspective -- how did Noah get all the animals on board? Did he go after them? Maybe, but not in this story -- God called to 2 of every kind from all over the earth and they journeyed to Noah and arrived just in time.

I hadn't thought about it before, but how did the animals from different climiates survive being on the ark, let alone the journey?

I'm a children's librarian and can't wait to both use this as a read-aloud and to recommend to my older students.

Carol


Bad Attitude (Bureau of American Defense, Bk 2)
Bad Attitude (Bureau of American Defense, Bk 2)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 329
Review Date: 3/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


HOT! HOT! HOT! Just read this in hardcover from our library - Everything you want: sexy heroes, strong women, heart-stopping romantic suspense. Can't wait for the next one . . .check our author's new website for this series: www.badagency.com (for Bureau of American Defense)

If you like shadow agencies, espisonage, Alias TV, fighting terrorism, and unforgettable characters -- this series is for you!

This is the first full-length novel featuring the agents of BAD. Some have appeared in "Born to be BAD" (3 novellas), and other anthologies. Can't wait to read more!


The Barefoot Princess (Lost Princesses, Bk 2)
The Barefoot Princess (Lost Princesses, Bk 2)
Author: Christina Dodd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 349
Review Date: 5/19/2006


Book 2 of Lost Princesses trilogy (book one was Some Enchanted Evening; book 3 is Prince Kidnaps a Bride, summer 2006).


Before I Wake
Before I Wake
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 2/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it - can't wait for next one in the series . . .


Blow Out (FBI Thriller, Bk 9)
Blow Out (FBI Thriller, Bk 9)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/21/2006


FBI agents Savich and Sherlock return for another thriller involving an unsolved 30-year old case and a current murder of a Supreme Court justice.


Blowout (FBI Thriller, Bk 9)
Blowout (FBI Thriller, Bk 9)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 12/21/2006


a gripping page-turner - one of her best FBI thrillers!

"A long weekend in the Poconos is cut short when FBI agents Sherlock and Savich are helicoptered back to Washington, D.C., to lead the investigation into the brutal murder of a Supreme Court Justice.

Savich allows Callie Markham, an investigative reporter for The Washington Post, to partner with local Metro Police liaison Ben Raven since shes got the inside track shes the stepdaughter of the murdered Justice.

Is the murder a terrorist act? Or is it something more personal? Within twenty-four hours theres another murder with the same M.O.

Savich and Sherlock are up against it this time, following leads that seem impossible to connect to the madness. But are they?"


The Buck Stops Here (Million Dollar Mysteries, Bk 5)
The Buck Stops Here (Million Dollar Mysteries, Bk 5)
Author: Mindy Starns Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 2/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


love this series -- can't wait for the next one!


Caught in a Bind (Amhearst, Bk 3) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 58)
Caught in a Bind (Amhearst, Bk 3) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 58)
Author: Gayle Roper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/26/2007


Her three books (Caught in the Middle, Caught in the Act and Caught in a Bind) are being reissued. I read the first two when they were originally published -- now I'm re-reading them again.

Her fourth book (Caught Red-Handed) is a new one in the series and I can't wait to read it!

Wholesome book, excellent storyline, good mysteries, and not everything works out in the end -- just like life.

Highly recommend this author and these books!


Caught in the Act (Amhearst, Bk 2) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 54)
Caught in the Act (Amhearst, Bk 2) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 54)
Author: Gayle Roper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/26/2007


Her three books (Caught in the Middle, Caught in the Act and Caught in a Bind) are being reissued. I read the first two when they were originally published -- now I'm re-reading them again.

Her fourth book (Caught Red-Handed) is a new one in the series and I can't wait to read it!

Wholesome book, excellent storyline, good mysteries, and not everything works out in the end -- just like life.

Highly recommend this author and these books!


Caught In The Middle (Steeple Hill Love Inspired Suspense)
Caught In The Middle (Steeple Hill Love Inspired Suspense)
Author: Gayle Roper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Her three books (Caught in the Middle, Caught in the Act and Caught in a Bind) are being reissued. I read the first two when they were originally published -- now I'm re-reading them again.

Her fourth book (Caught Red-Handed) is a new one in the series and I can't wait to read it!

Wholesome book, excellent storyline, good mysteries, and not everything works out in the end -- just like life.

Highly recommend this author and these books!


Caught Redhanded (Amhearst, Bk 4) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 64)
Caught Redhanded (Amhearst, Bk 4) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 64)
Author: Gayle Roper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 11/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Her three books (Caught in the Middle, Caught in the Act and Caught in a Bind) are being reissued. I read the first two when they were originally published -- now I'm re-reading them again.

Her fourth book (Caught Red-Handed) is a new one in the series and it is as good -- or BETTER -- as the earlier ones in the series!

Wholesome book, excellent storyline, good mysteries, and not everything works out in the end -- just like life.

Highly recommend this author and these books!


Central Park
Central Park
Author: Debra White Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/7/2006


Book 3 of her Austen series (Book 1 is First Impressions, Book 2 is Reason & Romance). These are retelling of Jane Austen's book, in this case, it is "Mansfield Park" retold as "Central Park". The novel is good contemporary Christian fiction, without being preachy or overly sentimental.

As a HUGE Austen fan, I recommend this series . . .


Chicken Soup for the Woman's Soul
Chicken Soup for the Woman's Soul
Author: Marci Shimoff, Jack Canfield, Jennifer Hawthorne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 1/4/2006


Full of stories to mirror emotions in a women's life -- like all the CHICKEN SOUP books, this one is filled with poems, stories, and messages that will uplift you.


Child's Play
Child's Play
Author: Leslie Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/4/2006


subtitle: 200 instant crafts and activities for preschoolers


The Christian Working Woman: What You Need to Know
The Christian Working Woman: What You Need to Know
Author: Mary Whelchel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/4/2006


Invaluable resource when I WAS a working woman instead of a stay-at-home mom . . .


Close to You (Lost Texas Hearts, Bk 3)
Close to You (Lost Texas Hearts, Bk 3)
Author: Christina Dodd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 5/4/2006


Another excellent read --- contemporary novel by C Dodd


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1993
Review Date: 3/24/2007


took me awhile to get into it (set in London) but once I did, Ireally enjoyed it -- can't wait to see what happens next toe Rebecca.


1 to 20 of 70 - Page: