Eileen G. (dulcimerlady) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 335 - Page:
365 meditations for mothers of young children
Review Date: 3/30/2007


Inspirational and helpful - quick to read each day.


Aama in America: A Pilgrimage of the Heart
Aama in America: A Pilgrimage of the Heart
Author: Broughton Coburn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/6/2007


Fascinating memoir/travelogue of an elderly woman from Nepal who travels through America with her young befriended Peace Corps man and his girlfriend. I eagerly read each page, reveling in the cultural discoveries as well as the descriptions of our country itself. This was a pilgrimage like no other, an inner one as well as the obvious outer one. Deeply spiritual.


The Accidental Tourist
The Accidental Tourist
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 11/14/2005


One of Anne Tyler's best novels - I enjoyed this oh-so-much. Much better than the movie of the same name, of course.


The Adventure of Two Lifetimes
The Adventure of Two Lifetimes
Author: Peggy Newland Goetz, Brian Goetz, June Meyer Newland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/7/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Wow- I just finished reading this fascinating double memoir, of a 1956 cross-USA bike trek by a woman, then a 1996 cross-USA bike trek by her daughter, retracing the route. The discoveries of places and towns which stay the same or are forever changed made for an interesting read. What courage these woman had! If you like adventure, even armchair adventure, this book is superb.


Age of Iron
Age of Iron
Author: J. M. Coetzee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/19/2006


Intelligent, insightful read. I really enjoyed this novel. The author's characterization is spot-on.


Ahab's Wife: Or, The Star-Gazer
Review Date: 11/4/2005


The dramatic story of Captain Ahab's wife, a fascinating woman hero in her own right. This is a drama you won't soon forget, well written and compelling. Great read. A New York Times Notable Book.


The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Author: Paulo Coelho
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 2/1/2006
Helpful Score: 1


An enchanting story, a modern fable. This was a quick read, but very meaningful to those searching the path of following one's dreams.


All Passion Spent
All Passion Spent
Author: V. Sackville-West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I found both the prose and the story of this unusual novel very enjoyable. It was refreshing to read this book, and I can see why PBS presented an adaptation of it on TV. Good, thoughtful read.


An Unfinished Marriage
An Unfinished Marriage
Author: Joan Anderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/18/2005
Helpful Score: 2


The author wrote this as a sequel to her beautiful "A Year by the Sea," in which she had embarked on a journey to rediscover herself and her relationships with others. I have listed both books. In this one, she chronicles the steps that formed a new union between her and her husband, one that will satisfy them both and lead them forward for the rest of their lives. I found both books absolutely fascinating reads, very honest, poignant, and inspirational.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 11/4/2005


Highly readable memoir of Ireland. This book is stunning in its clarity and drama, told by the winner of the Pulitzer Prize. The movie of the same name was based on this book. I found this memoir to be a fantastic read.


Anniversary: A Love Story
Anniversary: A Love Story
Author: Michael Adamse
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/17/2006


Beautiful, sensitive story, poignant for any marriage both good and troubled.


Aphrodite's Daughters : Women's Sexual Stories and the Journey of the Soul
Review Date: 8/23/2006


Well-written and very well researched. This book gave me a lot of insight on sexuality from the stories that women have told.


The Artist's Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity
The Artist's Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity
Author: Julia Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 4/13/2007
Helpful Score: 6


If you truly want to get in touch with your inner creativity, this is the definitive book on it, for both working and aspiring artists of any kind. Extremely well written and thought out.


Astonishing Splashes Of Colour
Astonishing Splashes Of Colour
Author: Clare Morrall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent story-writing. I enjoyed this novel from start to finish.


At Home in Mitford (Mitford Years, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford Years, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 11/4/2005


Delightful novel with characters who will charm your socks off. Very satisfying and witty.


Back Roads
Back Roads
Author: Tawni O'Dell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 8/24/2005


I was spellbound throughout the entire novel. This author is truly one to be watched eagerly for any new books she writes.


Back to Mississippi: A Personal Journey Through the Events that Changed America in 1964
Review Date: 3/24/2006


Seldom do we get to read a memoir of the civil rights years in the Deep South, so this is a book that will interest many...a first-person account of personal responsibility in a time that our nation endured much upheaval.


Back When We Were Grownups
Back When We Were Grownups
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 5/19/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I've always loved Anne Tyler's novels - and this one is one of her best.


Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author: Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 11/8/2005


It is so thrilling to read literature sometimes that is not Western-based. This small novel is unusual, heartfelt, humorous, and wise. Beautifully written and poetic, unique in its storytelling and scope.


The Banyan Tree : A Novel
The Banyan Tree : A Novel
Author: Christopher Nolan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/16/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Intriguing novel by this author who is mute and paralyzed - he had to type it by having someone hold his head while he tapped at a typewriter with a stick attached to his forehead. His use of language is especially well honed, painstakingly descriptive and unusual. This is a well thought-out story, a rich saga of rural Ireland in the 20th century, spanning 80+ years of a feisty individualistic woman. A good read, and I really enjoyed it.


1 to 20 of 335 - Page: