Allison O. (Allieoop) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 9/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


When I picked the book up, I thought it would be comical, not even close. The characters were well developed, but I didn't think it was such a fabulous trip......


At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 10/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Nicholas Sparks works his magic again...a wonderful story teller. Simply loved this book!


The Bridge
The Bridge
Author: Doug Marlette
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/17/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Takes place in NC textile mills....I didn't think that I would enjoy it, but was a good read


Carolina Isle (Edenton, Bk 2)
Carolina Isle (Edenton, Bk 2)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 310
Review Date: 10/4/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Two cousins switching places...with a bit of romance, suspense and fun along the way. A quick, enjoyable read.


The Christmas Box
The Christmas Box
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 9/17/2008


A great little book that I read each Christmas.


Cold Sassy Tree
Cold Sassy Tree
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 9/17/2008


Loved this book about life in a simpler time, set in rural Georgia basically between a boy and his grandfather. An excellent story.


Crazy As Chocolate
Crazy As Chocolate
Author: Elisabeth Hyde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/17/2008


Izzy lets us into her past and present....life with her parents, sister, niece and husband. There were some deep thoughts in the book, but definetly not one of my favorites.


The Diplomat's Wife
The Diplomat's Wife
Author: Pam Jenoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 5/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Really enjoyed this book....love, mystery, suspence...a great read!


Eat Cake
Eat Cake
Author: Jeanne Ray
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 4/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Totally enjoyed this book...a quick read. Ruth has her hands full with family and finds a great escape with cakes....along the ways she discovers some truths about herself.


The First Patient
The First Patient
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 4/19/2009


Totally enjoyed this book. Quite a long book, but kept me interested, intrigued and guessing.


Gap Creek: The Story Of A Marriage
Gap Creek: The Story Of A Marriage
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 430
Review Date: 9/17/2008


Story of a 17 yr old girl living over in western NC in early 1900's, poverty, pregnancy, marriage. Enjoyed this book


The Ha-Ha
The Ha-Ha
Author: Dave King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 9/17/2008


Loved this book. Story is about Howie, a Vietnam Vet who comes home unable to communicate with the world. Thru an old girlfriend, Howie takes care of her young son and the relationship between them grows and changes Howie's life in ways he'd never expected. A different look at the Vietnam Vet thru this book.


How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents
Author: Julia Alvarez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 9/17/2008


I probably would have enjoyed this more, if I had some Spanish background (of the language)....read it for a bookclub.


I Can't Believe I Said That! An Autobiography
I Can't Believe I Said That! An Autobiography
Author: Kathie Lee Gifford, Jim Jerome
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/17/2008


Read this years ago when Kathie Lee was with Regis. A look at her life. It was interesting.


In This Mountain (Mitford Years, Bk 7)
In This Mountain (Mitford Years, Bk 7)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 10/4/2008


Loved the Mitford books.


The Last Girls
The Last Girls
Author: Lee Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 9/17/2008


I loved this book. College friends meeting up years later to drop another roommates ashes off a steam boat. A trip that they had made when they were all in college. Love the characters. Great read


Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time
Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time
Author: Valerie Bertinelli
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 9/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed this book. I grew up watching One Day At A Time and seeing Valerie as America's sweetheart. In this book she shows that she was not the squeaky clean kid that the media had her portrayed to be....very honest, open and it reads like one friend talking to another....can relate to her weight roller coaster ride too. One of the best autobiographies that I've read in awhile...highly recommend.


Madame Bovary (Signet Classics)
Madame Bovary (Signet Classics)
Author: Gustave Flaubert
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 4/19/2009


Probably the kind of book I should have read in High School...french setting (french words throughout that I had no idea of their meaning). I found it very boring....was reading it for a library series. Flaubert wrote of the social structure (moving up in such). I could have cheered at the end, to have it done with.


Morgan's Passing
Morgan's Passing
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/19/2009


Found Morgan creepy....stalking in his day. Didn't care for the book....characters were hard to like.


A Mother and Two Daughters
A Mother and Two Daughters
Author: Gail Godwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/19/2009


Basically about a mother (Nell) that loses her husband in the
begining of book..how she comes to terms with the loss; her daughter
Cate-headstrong, professor who has a knack of losing her job, can't keep a
relationship and Lydia who leaves her hubby of x yrs to pursue her career, life, etc....Set in the 70's, it brings back a time when casual sex was norm and women didn't have as many choices. Thought the book was a little too lengthy, but characters were well thought out.


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: