Karen H. (KarenHorvath) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Bag Boutique: Making Fabulous Purses And Totes (That Patchwork Place)
Review Date: 12/10/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I like all the bags in this book, but it's too much trouble enlarging the patterns, some are 111% or 167% I don't know how I can enlarge something that takes up most of the page, but still needs to be 111% percent on my printer, I'd rather buy a pattern at Joann's for one bag. Happy Sewing


Barefoot
Barefoot
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 2/19/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this story. The characters seemed so real, and it seemed that you knew them all personally. I don't normally like books with cancer in them, but I think I learned from this one. I hope that I could be so brave as Viki.


Before Green Gables
Before Green Gables
Author: Budge Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/13/2008


I have to admit I couldn't finish this book. I liked it in the beginning, but after a while, I wished that he had shortened it. It seems like he just went on and on and it was all dark and gloomy. This book is marketed to children, but I can't see a child enjoying it. The author does have the spirit of Montgomery, and perhaps it would be a lot more enjoyable if it were half the size.


The Book of Lost Things
The Book of Lost Things
Author: John Connolly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 7/22/2008


While this book was readable, I didn't find it worth all the hype. It's a pretty dark story.


Books: A Memoir
Books: A Memoir
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/10/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This book badly needs editing. It is the first book by McMurtry that has disappointed me. It reminded me of talking to and elderly person who keeps telling the same thing over again and doesn't remember mentioning it before, it's interesting to them only.


Celebrity Detox
Celebrity Detox
Author: Rosie O'Donnell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 1/9/2008


This book is sour grapes. She should have left all of this unsaid. I loved her old show, but I didn't enjoy her on the View, because she wasn't doing what she was famous for, being "nice" and funny; someone people could identify with. Much of the time, she came off as overbearing, depressive, and sadly not educated enough to be taken seriously. The show is watched as a vicrious enjoyable coffe klatch, and not "Nightline".


Chew On This: Everything You Don't Want to Know About Fast Food
Review Date: 9/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


A great read, I found it misplaced at Third Place Books, I didn't know it was intended for young readers. I liked Fast Food Nation and this one is just as good. If you want to loose a few pounds read this, it will put you off fast food for a while, yuck!


Comfortably Numb: How Psychiatry Is Medicating a Nation
Comfortably Numb: How Psychiatry Is Medicating a Nation
Author: Charles Barber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/16/2008


The writer is not a psychiatrist. He seems to be unhappy that drug companies profit from the sale of these medications. This is what I have to say about the book. SO WHAT. If people choose to take these drugs with the advice of their doctors, SO What. Is it worse then alcohol, or people chewing betel nuts, or other natural remedies? What is wrong with taking an Ambien so one doesn't have the stress of lying there thinking, what's tomorrow going to be like with no sleep. There are some interesting statistics, in the book, but overall, the book is disappointing. Paxil saved my life, if you feel the same, this book isn't for you. Happy reading.


Cooking for Harry
Cooking for Harry
Author: Kay-Marie James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/18/2007


This is a great little book, writen by a "New York Times" bestselling author, as a fundraiser for a friend. I believe it was a group of writers, who are listed on the back reccommending this book.
Jeanne Ray (Eat Cake, Step-ball Change,Julie and Romeo)
Anne D. Leclaire (Leaving Eden, Entering Normal)
Jo-Anne Mapson (Bad Girl Creek, Along Came Mary)
Jacqueline Mitchard (The Deep End of the Ocean)


Dirt Music
Dirt Music
Author: Tim Winton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/31/2008


This book was wonderful. Tim Winton made me feel as if I were in Australia. It was interesting to me to learn more about the landscape and people there.


Entering Normal
Entering Normal
Author: Anne D. LeClaire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't find this sad, the ending was beautiful!


The House of Tomorrow
The House of Tomorrow
Author: Peter Bognanni
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/22/2010


It was a very nice story about a boy who home schools and his relationship with a boy who had a heart transplant. I enjoyed it.


How Nancy Drew Saved My Life (Red Dress Ink)
How Nancy Drew Saved My Life (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Lauren Baratz-Logsted
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 4/23/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book for some reason, maybe because the main character was a bookworm. The ending was pretty unbelivevable but so are many popular movies. Enjoy


How To Read and Why
How To Read and Why
Author: Harold Bloom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/17/2008


With books like this who needs textbooks.


Identical Strangers: A Memoir of Twins Separated and Reunited
Review Date: 11/20/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Ugh, I've read textbooks that were more interesting. They also continuously change narrartors and thier styles are indistinguishable so it was confusing.


The Law of Bound Hearts
The Law of Bound Hearts
Author: Anne Leclaire
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A beautiful story of forgiveness. Every bit as good as Jodi Picoult or Anita Shreve. Two sisters haven't spoken in 6 years, and one desperately needs the other.

From the author of Leaving Eden and Entering Normal


Lottery
Lottery
Author: Patricia Wood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 10/3/2007


This book was marketed to be the latest "Forrest Gump" but I did not get the charm that Forrest Gump had from these pages. I found the writing boring, and I don't enjoy books with profanity, so I didn't read more then a dozen pages. I'm disappointed that I bought this new, normally I trust what my local independent bookstore reccommends.


Miss Julia's School of Beauty (Miss Julia, Bk 6)
Miss Julia's School of Beauty (Miss Julia, Bk 6)
Author: Ann B. Ross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 12/24/2008


I like the characters but this one was ridiculous, shallow.


Mister Pip
Mister Pip
Author: Lloyd Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/4/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I was disappointed, would have done better as a long "short story" sad and grisly in places.


Mudbound
Mudbound
Author: Hillary Jordan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 9/24/2008


This will be the best book I read this year! I'm flying through it and loving every page. It reminds me a bit of Sandra Dallas who I love.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: