Mary L. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
Bad Blood (Virgil Flowers, Bk 4)
Bad Blood (Virgil Flowers, Bk 4)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 6/20/2012


Another definite must read for Sandford fans. Virgil Flowers and his techniques are different than his boss Davenport but just like his boss he always gets his man, and usually some of the women too along the way!


Death Benefit
Death Benefit
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/24/2014


Robin Cook never fails to deliver. But this one throws a whole new twist on insurance and those who are willing to bet on when we will die and how they can make money on us NOT recovering! Hmmmmm.......


Deep Fathom
Deep Fathom
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 9/8/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Another fabulous read from this author, I am a die hard fan now! It's like Clive Cussler without the sometimes wry sense of humor, but tons more facts and action and great story lines mixed with historical facts and fiction. And always a little touch of romance thrown in without muddying up the story with it. Unlike Clive Cussler, we don't have the same hero in each book so we get a fresh start each time and no history of the characters to have to recall.Makes me want to go out exploring the locales he provides each time. I love this author.


Deep Storm
Deep Storm
Author: Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 3/4/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Another fantastic read by Lincoln Child. Scary in that the inside look at the military and "secret" operations that take precedence over human safety seems all too realistic. I also enjoy the unknown elements that his books go into, sometimes way beyond the realm of reality, and other times like this one, maybe a little too close. Recommend it highly.


The Devil Colony (Sigma Force, Bk 7)
The Devil Colony (Sigma Force, Bk 7)
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 12/14/2016


A little history, a little mystery, action, adventure and a teeny bit of romance thrown in. Loved it, as I do all his writing.


Emily Climbs (Emily, Bk 2)
Emily Climbs (Emily, Bk 2)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/20/2010


Part 2 of 3. Necessary reading between book 1 and 3. Early teen years, struggling with love, becoming an author and growing up. Again, more lovely writing from the author who brought Anne of Green Gables to the world. Book is very autobiographical according to sources in her publisher's notes. Enjoyed very much.


Emily of New Moon
Emily of New Moon
Author: l.M. Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/20/2010


Absolutely delightful story of turn of the century life in Prince Edward Island, Canada. Like Little House on the Prairie up North. Book 1 of the 3 part set. I loved this and have been enjoying the series lately on TV so wanted to know more, like what had I missed coming into the middle of the series. Great for readers of all ages, historical, emotional, lovely writing in old fashioned manner.


Emily's Quest (Emily, Bk 3)
Emily's Quest (Emily, Bk 3)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/20/2010


A necessary conclusion to the 3 part Emily of New Moon series. I have been watching it on TV of late and had to read the books because the series does not go this far into her future and I wanted to know how things turn out. THINK LITTLE HOUSE ON THE PRAIRIE BUT IN TURN OF THE CENTURY PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND CANADA. Lovely reading for all ages.


Excavation
Excavation
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 375
Review Date: 9/29/2010


Another fantastic book, I absolutely love this author, don't know how I didn't hear of him till a few months ago. If you are into pyramids, lost cities and mysterious substances that come from imagination but could be ripped from the pages of laboratories around the world, and the brilliance to throw this altogether then this is the author for you. Oh, and there is always an underlying romantic thread throughout his tales. This one throws some religious fiction and fanatacism into the mix as well. Great book!


The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest (Millennium, Bk 3)
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets' Nest (Millennium, Bk 3)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 8/25/2012


Just finished this, the 3rd in the trilogy and was so downcast that I reached the end. Wanted more. These 3 books were great reading, they are lengthy so they lasted which is always a good thing when the information is peppered with action to keep it from getting boring. The drawbacks, the long street names and city names, since it takes place in Sweden but if you can ignore that you will not be disappointed. I can't wait to go out and rent the movie to see how close they kept to the story and if they just kept to the one book (Dragon Tattoo) or if they combined the story lines of all 3 in the movie. Also there is the original swedish version and the american remake, I may rent both since reviews of the movie seem to favor the original. Just hope its not with subtitles but I'll watch anyway. As soon as I listed this book it was snapped up.I am so sad that the author died shortly after turning in these manuscripts. I would have looked forward to anything else he wrote.


The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, Bk 2)
The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, Bk 2)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 8/25/2012


Again, can't say enough about how absorbing I found these 3 books in the trilogy. Wish there were more. You will love Lisbeth Salander, a remarkable female character, totally independent, not trusting anyone, quirky, not the most friendly but talk about a survivor, wow. Having lived thru the most horrible adolescence, this little slip of a girl shows how strong a woman can be. I am listing all 3 in the trilogy this week. You won't be sorry unless you are looking for a short, predictable fast read.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/25/2012


Absolutely the best book I have read in a very long time. There's information, action, and the best female character that I think has ever been written. Strange does not always mean inferior or unintelligent. Lisbeth Salander is amazing. Halfway through this book I had to order the next 2 in the trilogy. Only 2 were here in the club, the last one I went and bought on ebay. Each book takes up within days or weeks of the last one. The only sad note is that the author died shortly after turning in these three manuscripts. I would have gladly read anything else he wrote for a long time to come. Highly recommend, but a warning they are very large books in terms of pages, that's a plus for me but maybe not for everyone. You will also notice that some of the spellings of words are the European form and there's lots of long and strange city and street names, it is Sweden after all. But that did not affect my pleasure. It's nice not to be done with a book in 2 days although you will want to be.


The Host
The Host
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 3/3/2013


I was looking forward to this book so I was disappointed when thru the first third of the book I was trying to stay interested. By the second third of the book I was starting to get interested and by the last third I cared how it ended. Was it great? No. Was it ok? Yes. Not like the Twilight series which I couldn't wait to finish each one. Is it possible there would be a sequel, I can see where it could go on, and the premise was at least something new in Sci Fi. So overall it was fair to good. I know I disagree with some of the critic's reviews but a good book is judged by it's readers tastes. At least it was a good long book that took more than 2 days to finish. I value that.


The House
The House
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 10/17/2010


Not your typical Danielle Steele although there is romance but its more about a house, a history, a mystery, the 1920s/30s and today. Also a lot of information about architecture,style, don't know if the house really exists, but if it does I would love to see it.


Ice Hunt
Ice Hunt
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 373
Review Date: 8/12/2010


Absolutely loved this book, as good as one of my most favorite author's books any day, Clive Cussler! In fact there is a critics comment by Clive recommending the book! Action, suspense, tiny bit of romance, along with espionage and russian/american shenanigans/past history of bad, bad things! At end of book he even lets you know what's real and what wasn't based on facts. Interestingly enough the "monsters" of the book were something I was just reading about recently in either Nat'l Geographic or Smithsonian can't remember which. Very excited to find such a great read. I intend to order many more of his books in near future as I get credits. They have history, science, action, heroes, the bravery and cowardice of ordinary folks, and an obviously brilliant author's imagination behind them.


The Kingdom (Fargo Adventures, Bk 3)
The Kingdom (Fargo Adventures, Bk 3)
Author: Clive Cussler, Grant Blackwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/23/2013


If you are going to get this book, be sure to read the first and second in the series. Great new series for fans of Clive Cussler's earlier works of the Dirk Pitt series, but now a truly lovable married couple who beat all odds and are truly MacGiver's of the new millennia.


Lost Empire (Fargo Adventures, Bk 2)
Lost Empire (Fargo Adventures, Bk 2)
Author: Clive Cussler, Grant Blackwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/23/2013


Another great Fargo adventure in the true Cussler tradition of adventure, excitement, struggle and strife and ultimate success. Fun along with knowledge and historical trivia. Way to go!


Lost, Lonely and Vicious: Postcards from the Great Trash Films
Lost, Lonely and Vicious: Postcards from the Great Trash Films
Author: Michael Barson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/5/2014


This is a fun book full of over sized postcards from the trashy B-Films of the 50s and you can actually pull them out and send them in the mail to your friends who may be fans of old movies or just for fun. Is it for intellectual stimulation, hell no! But historically it gives you a look at the sleazy posters that used to sell films to the general public. I think I may have actually seen one or two of these films on TCM Turner Classic Movies.


Mortal Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 13)
Mortal Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 13)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 8/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Another fantastic Lucas Davenport story, I cannot believe that after all these books and all these years his mysteries are still tight, compelling and intense. The plots are complex and well thought out, and I always enjoy books where the character's history is just as interesting and important as the story line, and in some cases where his past opponents return to wreak havoc.


Mysteria
Mysteria
Author: Gena Showalter, P. C. Cast, MaryJanice Davidson, Susan Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 318
Review Date: 10/20/2009


I really enjoyed this book, all the stories were like a mixture of Janet Evanovich meets Charlaine Harris and met with Sue Grafton and had a party...the mixture of supernatural, romance, and humor was very pleasurable. Serious literature? No, of course not, just plain fun and guilty pleasure....absolutely. The book was fine, fun and provided excellent "bathroom" reading. I would definitely start reading some of these authors solo novels now, I had not heard of them before this. Collaborations don't always fit as well as these stories did.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: