Judith L. (JML) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 155 - Page:
Albert Goes to Town
Albert Goes to Town
Author: Jennifer Jordan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was a wonderful story about Albert and his magical neighbor. Or was it a dream?


Alexander and the Wind-Up Mouse
Alexander and the Wind-Up Mouse
Author: Leo Lionni
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 11/11/2005


My book has a different ISBN number, but the cover is the same.


Amazing Grace
Amazing Grace
Author: Mary Hoffman, Caroline Binch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 3/13/2006


This book comes with an audiotape of the story.


The Amelia Bedelia Treasury: Three Books by Peggy Parish (An I Can Read Book)
Review Date: 9/29/2006


Here are three Amelia Bedelia books in one! There's Amelia Bedelia, Thank You, Amelia Bedelia, and Amelia Bedelia and the Surprise Shower.


AN EDUCATED DEATH (Formerly Title : Trouble Crossing the Pyrenees)
Review Date: 11/25/2005


From the back cover: A famous geology researcher and professor, Ralph Pangbourne was more powerful than popular. But who hated him enough to murder him and then to place his lifeless body in a medieval stock on the campus green? Retired CIA agent Henry Garrett is on the scene to find out...


Andrew's Angry Words
Andrew's Angry Words
Author: Dorothea Lachner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/8/2007


This is a favorite of mine. It illustrates very cleverly how angry words can travel and hurt other people, even those we don't know. And how kindness can heal those words.


The Ants Go Marching
The Ants Go Marching
Author: Jeffrey Scherer (Illustrator)
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/25/2005


This is an illustrated version of the song, and the drawings of the ants are adorable.


Architecture: Drafting and Design
Review Date: 8/4/2006


This is an old textbook, but is an excellent source for the layman to understand how architects make decisions.


Aristotle Detective
Aristotle Detective
Author: Margaret Anne Doody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/20/2006


From the back cover: When a violent murder leaves a prominent citizen dead and a falsely accused suspect in exile, a master philosopher turned part-time sleuth is drawn into the baffling mystery. The scene is Athens, 332 B.C.; the murder weapon is a bow and arrow; the investigator, an inexperienced young boy. There is only one mind capable of putting together the puzzling pieces--that of the great and wise Aristotle. Stephanos does the legwork, exploring the ins and outs of the city, and the master ponders the clues and weighs the evidence. In a splendidly dramatic trial before the supreme tribunal of Athens, Aristotle unmasks the villain in a dazzling display of deductive logic.


Arthur's Halloween
Arthur's Halloween
Author: Marc Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/7/2005


Everyone's favorite aardvark is getting ready for Halloween. D.W. goes into the witch's house and Arthur has to go in after her. What will happen next?


Away Went Wolfgang!
Away Went Wolfgang!
Author: Virginia Kahl
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/16/2007


This is a fun book from the 1950s, with lovely folk art drawings.


B. C. One More Time
B. C. One More Time
Author: Johnny Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 12/14/2005


From 1968. I thought he was funny then.


Baa, Baa, Black Sheep
Baa, Baa, Black Sheep
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/24/2006


This board book has beautiful, whimsical drawings to accompany the song Baa, Baa Black Sheep. The black sheep is the proprietess of a general store and a gentleman goat is enquiring about the availability of wool.


Beaded Bobby Pins
Beaded Bobby Pins
Author: Marilyn Green
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/9/2006


This is a Klutz how to book. There are some cute designs, like a beaded butterfly, but my daughter and don't use bobby pins.


Behind Eclaire's Doors (Eclaire, Bk 1)
Behind Eclaire's Doors (Eclaire, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Dunbar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/27/2008


I was not sure I would like this book, it started out rather depressing. Poor girl meets rich guy in New Orleans and he treats her badly, very like the Scrapbook mysteries by Laura Childs. But this poor girl has more spine and sets herself up in business after her divorce and does very well. Husband comes back and is a changed man, really! There are side plots and interesting characters. I like mysteries set in New Orleans, lots of atmosphere. I ended up enjoying it more than I expected, and look forward to reading the next in the series, A Bad Hair Day.


Better Homes and Gardens Traditional American Crafts
Better Homes and Gardens Traditional American Crafts
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/20/2006
Helpful Score: 3


There's a little bit of everything in here: tole painting, faux finishes, stencilling, woodcrafts, making wreaths, but the majority of projects are sewing: quilting, samplers, crewelwork and dollmaking. I enjoyed looking at it, but I confess, I've not tried to make any of the projects.


Big
Big
Author: Keith Haring
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/6/2006


My kids loved this book when they were little. I must have read it hundreds of times.


Bob's Birthday (Bob the Builder Storybook)
Bob's Birthday (Bob the Builder Storybook)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/13/2006


This book comes with an audiotape of the story and since I bought it in Britain, it's the English Bob, not the dubbed in American Bob you normally hear.


A Bonny Case of Murder (Dr. Jean Montrose)
A Bonny Case of Murder (Dr. Jean Montrose)
Author: C. F. Roe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


From the back cover: Caroline Fraser is undeniably a beauty and knows exactly how to use her looks to get what she wants, especially when it comes to men. But this time her self-confidence forces the hand of the wrong person, and she winds up viciously murdered with a common kitchen knife. This baffling case compels Inspector Doug Niven to turn to Dr. Jean Montrose, who was Caroline's doctor and liked her very much.

Caroline aroused strong feelings in everyone who knew her, and this only makes Niven's job tougher. His growing list of suspects includes her ex-boyfriend, Brian, who couldn't accept that he'd been given the heave-ho...her brother, Marco, whose feelings for her were disturbingly unfamilial...her boss, Mac, whose interest in her was unprofessional...and the terribly jealous other secretary, Aileen. To catch the killer, Niven must investigate this uneasy set of relationships. But when his prime suspect is gruesomely murdered, he once again calls on Dr. Jean Montrose, whose expert medical knowledge and understanding of human nature are desperately needed to unravel the web of deceit and death.


The Book Stops Here (Mobile Library, Bk 3)
The Book Stops Here (Mobile Library, Bk 3)
Author: Ian Sansom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/4/2008


The third Israel Armstrong is much better than the second. If you thought Mr. Dixon Disappears was rather flat, don't give up on the series, this one is just as quirky and fun as the first. Imagine Israel and Ted's excellent adventure to England to look at replacing the mobile library. Will they make it? Will they ever stop bickering like an old married couple? And what is Israel's mother like? Read it and weep with laughter.


1 to 20 of 155 - Page: