Lloyd B. (azriel308) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The 85% Solution: How Personal Accountability Guarantees Success -- No Nonsense, No Excuses
Review Date: 4/28/2016


One of the worst books I have tried to read. After the first chapter, it is just a lot of the same self righteous garbage about how great and perfect the author is. Glad to have it out of my office.


The American (aka Heart of Betrayal) (Ryan Kealey, Bk 1)
The American (aka Heart of Betrayal) (Ryan Kealey, Bk 1)
Author: Andrew Britton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/31/2018


Really wanted to rate this one higher. It got off to a good start, then the author decided to toss in a lousy character. Spoiler alert on this one.






He could have made Kealeys girlfriend less of a insecure, manipulative, controlling, jealous, sugar daddy hunting witch. (Was going to use a different word...) Maybe he wanted his readers to hate her? If so, he did a great job on it. She was one of those self centered women that cries she loves you yet you have to change because she can't take what you are right now characters. Seemed like her goal was to make him feel guilty as much as possible so she could get whatever she wanted. Whether it was telling him what she wanted directly or dropping not so subtle hints, she was all about "me". I was so glad that she was killed at the end of the book. Every time I saw her name I started to just skim over the paragraphs until I saw she was gone. I kept hoping she would die in a big explosion or run off the road, she was a bad driver, or just leave and never come back. Of course she wasn't going to do that, she loved his money.

Okay, rant over the bad part over. The rest of the book was good. Moved along well, didn't get all bogged down in useless dialog with people. The back story came out as you went along instead of dumping it all at once and then trying to work a story off it. I won't give anymore of it away.

Overall it was a good book and I was glad I stuck with it to the end. I will give his other books a shot too.


American Jihad: The Terrorists Living Among Us
American Jihad: The Terrorists Living Among Us
Author: Steven Emerson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/4/2014


Great book, good research and tells it like it is. Every American should read this, might open their eyes to what is really going on and has been for a long time. I have shared it with many co-workers and they agree.


The Apocalypse Watch
The Apocalypse Watch
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 9/3/2018


Usually I like Mr. Ludlums books. This one though, started off pretty good. By page 22 I think it was, I couldn't deal with it anymore. The dialog between the dead mans son and his adoptive parents is just simply over done. I've read law books that were easier to stick with than this. Maybe it got better farther into the book, don't know and not going to bother reading any farther. I have other books to read that will probably be better than this.


Bartimaeus Trilogy: Golem's Eye - Book #2
Bartimaeus Trilogy: Golem's Eye - Book #2
Author: Jonathan Stroud
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/19/2012


Was a good read, much like the first book.


The Day Before Midnight
The Day Before Midnight
Author: Stephen Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 7/27/2018


Spoiler in this.



Just a short review on this.

I have read several of Mr. Hunters books, enjoyed them to varying degrees. This one was good until the last 15 pages or so. When one of the heroes and main characters gets killed while a traitor lives, with her grief and that is all, I sort of loose interest. She was a traitor who gave up security plans to a nuclear weapons facility to another country and her only excuses are; they are our allies (They weren't), she was angry at him, lonely, and her husband shouldn't have left the plans laying around which made it so easy. Okay, I agree on the last part. Throughout the book she is nothing but arrogant, disdainful of anyone not a artist (and disdainful of many of them too), and self serving about whatever she wants. Yet she gets away with being the main reason over 200 solders, law enforcement and a mother die with just walking off to cry alone. At least have her swallow a bottle of sleeping pills and a glass of wine or something. Leaving her to cry just seems a lazy way to deal with her, specially when the good guy gets killed stopping the mess that his traitor wife created.

Okay, with that out of the way, I did enjoy the other 99% of the book. There were some twists I didn't see coming, and a good story line. Over all, a good book.


The Diamond Of The Gods Book 1: The New Guardians (Volume 1)
The Diamond Of The Gods Book 1: The New Guardians (Volume 1)
Author: Dachs Aldman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/22/2018


Pretty good book for a first time author I thought. Curious to see where the second book takes us.


The Hard Way (Jack Reacher, Bk 10)
The Hard Way (Jack Reacher, Bk 10)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 5/22/2012


As usual, good book from Mr. Child.


Invasion: How America Still Welcomes Terrorists Criminals & Other Foreign Menaces to Our Shores
Review Date: 8/26/2018


Well written and researched book about the real issues with the soft view politicians take on illegals. Ms. Malkin did a good job showing the crime and issues illegals bring with them when they violate the USA's immigration laws.

This should be required reading for students in high school, along with the constitution.


The Kill Switch (Tucker Wayne, Bk 1)
The Kill Switch (Tucker Wayne, Bk 1)
Author: James Rollins, Grant Blackwood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/13/2016


Good book, read it in one go while on a flight. Don't usually do that. Enjoyed the relationship between the man and his dog, and could empathize with the mans feelings about his dog(s). Don't want to give anything away. Was a good book. Looking forward to reading the next one.


Kill Zone (Kyle Swanson Sniper, Bk 1)
Kill Zone (Kyle Swanson Sniper, Bk 1)
Author: Jack Coughlin, Donald A. Davis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/22/2012


Pretty good book.


Mechanical Failure (The Failure)
Mechanical Failure (The Failure)
Author: Joe Zieja
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/17/2018


This was a great book. If you are looking for a book that makes you laugh, if you have a military sense of humor, this is a good one. Keeps moving at a good pace too. This was one of those books that I wanted to ask the pilot to make a few turns around the airport before landing so I could finish it.

Just a good entertaining book. Looking forward to his next book.


The Operator: Firing the Shots that Killed Osama bin Laden and My Years as a SEAL Team Warrior
Review Date: 6/18/2017


Let me start with, I have nothing but respect for these guys. They really deserve nothing but support and respect.

This was a interesting read, entertaining at times and funny at others. What really kind of ruined the whole thing for me was the Authors note at the beginning and near the end where he makes mention again of changing the elite warriors of the military. Both times the author had to toss in the unicorn drinking liberal social engineering garbage. I know it sounds petty, it just really ruined what would have been a good book.

The other thing that brought it down a little for me was the lack of actual time spent on the mission to kill the terrorist. Most of the book was around Mr. O'Neills time leading up to that. While this was interesting and well written, I was expecting more on the killing of OBL.

Overall it was a good book, and I enjoyed it for the most part. Was nice to read about Americans, the raid was a team effort, finally killing that terrorist that caused so much death in the USA.


Ordinary Thunderstorms
Ordinary Thunderstorms
Author: William Boyd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/3/2016


Got this in a box of books I bought at a garage sale. Really tried to get get into it, couldn't get past page 9. Even tried starting it again a few weeks later. Nope.


Orphan X (Evan Smoak, Bk 1)
Orphan X (Evan Smoak, Bk 1)
Author: Gregg Hurwitz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/5/2018


This was one of the better books I have read in the last year.

Started it on take off of my flight, finished it about an hour before landing and was mad at myself for not bringing the second one in the series.

One thing that was nice to see was the attention to detail on things. Not just attention to detail, getting the details correct. For example, his favored pistol is the 1911 from Wilson. (Lets not get into the debate of 1911 vs this or that.) Not only did he use correct terms for things, like magazine vs "clip", he describes it fully and accurately. It seems he actually went out and at least handled one, if not shot it. So many authors just toss a bunch of firearm terms together to describe something and just come across as sounding really ignorant. It wasn't just the firearms either. from the truck to the other characters.

Was a good read and looking forward to getting into the next book in the series.


Outlaw Platoon: Heroes, Renegades, Infidels, and the Brotherhood of War in Afghanistan
Review Date: 11/1/2017


Well written book from the soldiers point of view about the war. Unlike so many that like to gloss over things, or not share what the enemy really does to people, this author shared it all. Enjoyable book. Several of my co-workers enjoyed reading it as well.


Pandemic
Pandemic
Author: Daniel Kalla
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 1/26/2013


Since I was asked, I will review this one. I don't like giving bad reviews, seems like I will probably get stuck with the book Would rather be honest about it. This one just never ended. Got to where I was skimming the paragraphs rather then really reading them. If I hadn't been stuck on a 12 hour flight and this was the last book I had with me, wouldn't have bothered finishing it.

If you like reading about meetings, lots of them, broken up with little bits of this or that, mostly in a lab or hotel room, this is the book for you. It had lots or promise when it started out, specially with the story line being so believable and possible in todays world. It did bring to light how bad things could go, and how easily it could be done. At the about half way point though seemed like the author was just trying to stretch out the story and had run out of steam. The whole book seemed rough, didn't really flow from one thing to the next very well. Almost like he was adding fluff to make it a full length novel. In time maybe he will get better at things, my understanding is this is his first book. The story and subject are a good start, just never really got going.

First novel or not, the main character was pretty sad too, specially in his personal life. A co-worker who read it called him "just plain whipped to spinelessness". After reading the book, that description seem fits. He is supposed to be this great hero, and yet he comes off as a timid wishy washy husband who can't stand up on his own feet. Not sure what the author was going for with that character, it came across as just... Pathetic for the most part. If hwas going for sympathy for the main character, it didn't work.

The ending was very weak too. Seemed like something that was tossed together at the very last minute just to end it. Didn't seem to have much thought to it, and where the rest of the book had something of a believable and possible story line, the ending was just done to get it over with. The ending had a little truth to it as the FBI does like to over complicate things to the level of just total stupidity. For this book the ending was just that, an ending.

Maybe someone else will like it more. Personally I can't say it was the worst book I have ever read, certainly wasn't one of the better ones.


The Plantation (Payne and Jones, Bk 1)
The Plantation (Payne and Jones, Bk 1)
Author: Chris Kuzneski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 2/24/2018


For a book that the first three pages were so good, this book crashed in a hurry. Couldn't get past page seventeen. The dialog was corny at best. It came across as hollow l, fake and forced for the most part. I really had promise, as long as the characters weren't talking.

Glad I had a second book with me.


The Red Line
The Red Line
Author: Walt Gragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/1/2017


Read this in less than two days. It was that good.

I will get the one thing that really bugged me about the book out of the way first. The author, who was in the military, insisted on calling "magazines", "clips". Now to some of you that, may sound petty or just dumb. When an author goes to great lengths to describe tanks, air defense radar, and building characters up yet drops the ball entirely on something that simple, it just seems lazy or willfully ignorant. What really got me was that he was in the military. Don't remember the last time I heard anyone in the military call them clips.

Okay, bad part out of the way.

The book moved really well, didn't get bogged down with long drawn out battle scenes or unneeded dialog. The characters were well developed and I found myself actually wanting some to make it to the end of the book. Some do, some don't. It's a book about war, people die.

Aside from my minor irritation stated at the beginning of this review, the author seemed to have done his research. The strategies of the Russians seemed well thought out, and realistic for the most part. There were a few parts that I sort of wandered about, they didn't hurt the story at all though.

As much as I enjoyed reading it, the ending was good too. I sort of wonder if he hadn't watched a certain movie or had it in mind when writing the ending. Some of you will get the one I am referring to after reading the book. Unlike many authors, this one didn't seem to think he had to drag out the book, he knew there was going to be an end. It also didn't seem like he ran out of interest in writing to book and just cut it short. I am sure you have read books like that. All of a sudden things are over. The books that make you wonder if you didn't get some pages with the book when you bought it. That kind of thing. This author did a nice job of tying things up, and didn't just blow everyone up or anything like that.

Over all it was a good book and I look forward to reading more of his work.


Shooter : The Autobiography of the Top-Ranked Marine Sniper
Review Date: 5/12/2012


Enjoyed the book.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: