Kathleen Marie (kathleenmarie) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 92 - Page:
The Aeneid (The Library of liberal arts ; 212)
The Aeneid (The Library of liberal arts ; 212)
Author: Virgil
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/7/2009


A must read for all those interested in classical literature.


American Gods
American Gods
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 968
Review Date: 4/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would. It sat on my shelf for more than a year as I pondered whether to read it or not. It is a rather dark read but is not a horror story, more just dark fantasy. If about eight unnecessary pages were deleted the book would have been better. What made the story interesting for me where all the stories, myths, legends within the story. Gaiman did his homework.

The premise is that when people emigrated or were brought to American they brought their "gods" with them and then the gods were abandoned for new gods. The old gods and the new gods planned a war... But there are many twists and turns in the story that keep the reader wonder what is going to happen next.

I don't know if I would read it again because it is a dark read, but I am glad that I gave it a go.


Angel in the Waters
Angel in the Waters
Author: Regina Doman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/7/2007


This is a really sweet book that kids are sure to enjoy. The story is a amazing illustration that pre-born babies are indeed human beings. That is a reality much overlooked in our modern society. I highly recommend this book for children and adults. It could offer joy for pregnant women or women who have recently given birth, and compassionate truth for women considering an abortion and those encouraging her to do so. It will teach children of all ages, including teens, that human life begins at conception and is indeed sacred.


Anne of Green Gables
Anne of Green Gables
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/11/2016


I bought this for my granddaughter who loved it. She's 9.


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/7/2009


I really enjoyed this book and the politics of a small town being blown over by and evil corporation out to destroy whomever in the name of money, creed, power and politics.... A bit heartbreaking at times.


Beauty
Beauty
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/17/2010


I adored this story. I now know where Disney got a lot of there ideas for their Beauty and the Beast animated movie - whether or not they would admit it. McKinley is so imaginative, humorous and clever in her re-telling of this classic fairy tale. This is a story everyone should read.


A Beka Health, Safety & Manners Reader Grade 2
A Beka Health, Safety & Manners Reader Grade 2
Author: A Beka
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/22/2011


A Beka books are great resources and with Christian perspective


The Blue Cow: The Sugar Creek Gang
The Blue Cow: The Sugar Creek Gang
Author: Paul Hutchens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/26/2007


These are excellent books for boys and girls up to age 14.


The Book of Faeries
The Book of Faeries
Author: Francis Melville
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/6/2009


This is such a cute overall book for people of all ages. My granddaughter enjoys the pictures... too young for her to read to.


The Book of Irish Weirdness: A Treasury of Classic Tales of the Supernatural, Spooky and Strange
Review Date: 7/3/2009


This book is full of legends, myths, crazy stories of Ireland. I enjoyed it but it is not a book I feel I personally would want to read again, so time to pass it on.


Cane River
Cane River
Author: Lalita Tademy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 12/13/2006


This is a very good book but not for the super soft hearted as it does deal with slavery.Elisabeth is a slave from Virginia who is taken from her husband and children, sold onto a new plantation. Here begins the story of the Cane River women, Suzette, Philomene and Emily. I was compelled to read every detail of their lives from slavery to freedom. I shared their heartbreak, joy, suffering and triumph, on the journey to freedom. The book paints a long lasting impression of the power of love and family. A book I will think of for a long time to come. This story is based on Tademy's genealogy so much of it is historically accurate. It is a very good read.


Central Park ( Austen, Bk 3)
Central Park ( Austen, Bk 3)
Author: Debra White Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 11/14/2006


If you are a Jane Austen fan you should really like this book. Wrenched from her family Francine is terrified by her new life with her aunt and uncle in New York City. Filled with romance, questions, longing...


The Chamber
The Chamber
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 275
Review Date: 12/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Of Grisham's novel, this is one of my favorites. The issue of the death chamber, of what is truth, what is lies and what lies past in times that still haunts everyone today.... Hatred, racism, murder, pain... An excellent read.


Christmas Joy
Christmas Joy
Author: Susan Branch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/21/2010


A very cute Christmas book with recipes, quotes, pictures, stories... It was charming and done in such a cute way. It makes a cute keepsake. I gave this to someone as a gift :)


Christmas Past : When the Power of Love Reaches Across Time
Christmas Past : When the Power of Love Reaches Across Time
Author: Robert Vaughan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/28/2011


This was a sweet story with a good message about a couple putting their careers ahead of their marriage and children. A trip to the Smoking Mountains has some huge surprises in store - putting the focus back on the holidays which leads to healing for the family but don't let this simple review sway you as this story has a lot of wonderful surprises, twists and turns. A good holiday read.


Christmas Wishes:  Christmas Letters / Rainy Day Kisses
Christmas Wishes: Christmas Letters / Rainy Day Kisses
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 12/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


These are very cute and humorous Christmas stories. They lighten the heart, are an easy and quick read. I enjoy her stories. If you are looking for a little heavier Christmas reading, with more of a Christmas message I suggest you read Dickens or Greeley. You won't find it here. These are delightful love stories full of Christmas cheer.


Complete Tales & Poems of Edgar Allen Poe
Complete Tales & Poems of Edgar Allen Poe
Author: Edgar Allan Poe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/1/2010


Excellent collection of Poe's best -- a true classic edition for any library.


A Creed Country Christmas (Montana Creeds, Bk 4)
A Creed Country Christmas (Montana Creeds, Bk 4)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 11/30/2012


This WAS a wonderful story for the first 9/10's of the book and then the author had to add "soft porn", which to me is just plain porn. I mean, the book is like G-rated then becomes R rated by the turn of a page.

What a let down!! The scenes could have been just plain romantic and left the rest to the readers imagination. Instead we get what seemed to be the beginning of a step by step... which I quickly turned the pages on. I thought that was it until a chapter later the reader is tricked again by more of....scum/smut.

I was planing on reading the Creed book series but NO MORE. I am so disappointed. They seriously need warnings on smutty books like this - I felt tricked as you get to know the characters, become enthralled in the book and then wham -- SMUT in the face.

So, if you hate smut, have values and don't like reading porn of any kind, let the author know and pass on this book.


Danger in the Shadows
Danger in the Shadows
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 9/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. From the first page it just grips you -- draws you in. I was very pleasantly surprised and highly recommend it. It is a romance, a thriller and a mystery of sorts. It is also not preachy as are some Christian novels - (I don't like it when the author throws in sermons throughout their novels... annoying.)


Dusty Mole Private Eye
Dusty Mole Private Eye
Author: Barbara Davoll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/26/2007


The book is very good. It has been read by little people in the house who are now grown up. It is a good Christian mystery story for kids 4-12.


1 to 20 of 92 - Page: