Michelle (LOVE-2-READ) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
Belong to Me
Belong to Me
Author: Marisa De Los Santos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 7/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was another out-of-the-park homerun by Marisa de los Santos. I think I may have enjoyed it more than Love Walked In. The author has a beautiful talent for putting words together in a most creative way. Her prose is pure poetry! You'll love the characters in this novel and you won't be able to put this book down.


Blue Christmas
Blue Christmas
Author: Mary Kay Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Another good one from Mary Kay Andrews. This is the fourth book of hers that I've read. I enjoyed it, but preferred Hissy Fit and Savannah Breeze. Either of those far outweighs this story.


Blue Shoe
Blue Shoe
Author: Anne Lamott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 10/1/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I bought this book to read with my book club. I probably would not have chosen it on my own.

This is the first book by Anne Lamott I read - or I should say ATTEMPTED to read. And it will be my last. I absolutely hated this book. I'm an avid reader, and I can not remember the last time I started a book and didn't finish it. Normally, I feel compelled to read a book to the end, even if I don't like it, thinking there must be something redeeming about it. I kept pushing myself to finish this one, but just could not get into it. I can't recall another book that I have started and left unfinished in the last 20 years.

This book is about a divorced woman dealing with her family relationships. Her family is highly dysfunctional. Every character in this book is dysfunctional... Beyond that, they are just plain weird. I couldn't relate to any of it. The main character is just the most whiny, awfully depicted person I've ever read about! I could clearly see why this couple was divorced, though. They were a pair of nut jobs. It's a story about nothing... It just goes on and on. I will never be able to read another Anne Lamott novel. This was just so bad!

I'd love to get this book off my bookshelf, but I have to be honest... If you're considering reading this, just choose another novel instead!


Body Surfing
Body Surfing
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 10/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Another good read by Anita Shreve.

All of her books (that I have read so far) take place in the same house on the shore, but they're always different characters, different time periods, and different stories. I enjoy the tie in from prior novels... It's sort of fun to follow the history of this house.

This book, like her other novels, takes some unexpected twists and turns. It's an interesting piece, but not my favorite.


Review Date: 11/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Parts of this book were laugh-out-loud hilarious, but other parts were just annoying and obnoxious. That being said, I do think I will read some of her other books. Wading through the descriptions of the author's self-indulgence were worth the moments of humor.


The Crimson Petal and the White
The Crimson Petal and the White
Author: Michel Faber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 345
Review Date: 10/1/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I picked this book up because my book club was reading it, and then I never got to read it at that time or discuss it with them. Not all that intrigued with the story synopsis on the book's cover, I read it quite a bit later. I thought I was going to hate it, but I had this brand new (very long, expensive) book and felt I needed to pick it up and give it a try. I was surprised... I enjoyed the story more than I thought I would.

The story takes place in victorian England. It's the story of a prostitute, her client, and his extremely proper family. The characters are all very interesting and well developed. There are parts of the story that are a little slow, but if you stick with it, it gets interesting again.

If you're easily offended, I would steer clear of this. There are some parts of the story that are a little gross. However, if you don't mind some graphic descriptions, you'll probably like this book. It's different from anything else you've ever read.


Dark Roots and Cowboy Boots
Dark Roots and Cowboy Boots
Author: LuAnn McLane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 4/2/2010


I'm not usually a fan of romance novels, but this was a fun read. It had humor, romance, and a quick moving story line. It sort of reminded me of a Mary Kay Andrews novel; maybe because of the southern characters. Definitely chick lit. I read it in a couple of hours. Great for reading on the beach or just filling some free time.


Dear Neighbor, Drop Dead
Dear Neighbor, Drop Dead
Author: Saralee Rosenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 6/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I got this book because I thought it would be hilarious to read about the impossible neighbor. And while, at times, it seemed the author had paid a visit to my neighborhood, the book wasn't as uproariously funny as I had expected.

That being said it was a very good read. I enjoyed all the characters, and the story moved along quickly. Definitely enjoyable!


Deep Dish
Deep Dish
Author: Mary Kay Andrews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 6/29/2009


Mary Kay Andrews is hilarious. I have read three of her books and have enjoyed them all. The characters are entertaining, and there's always a strong woman as the main character. The plot always moves along quickly. There's suspense, humor, and always a little romance, but nothing sordid, so you don't have to worry about your kids picking the book up from the coffee table. Great light reading for the summer!


Eat Cake
Eat Cake
Author: Jeanne Ray
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 3/10/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Another wonderful book by Jeanne Ray. Like her other novels, this is the story of a strong woman who deals with her family while doing something she loves. In this case it's baking cakes! The characters in Ray's books are so real; You can identify with them immediately. A quick, enjoyable read.


Empire Falls
Empire Falls
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 625
Review Date: 1/17/2011


This was a really great book! One of the best novels I've read in a long time. I was hooked from the first page and wanted to keep reading. It's a story about a small town in Maine, and the relationships between the people who live there. All the characters are very well developed, and the story line is captivating. I couldn't wait to see how it all turned out. There is something for everyone in this novel: humor, suspense, romance...

There's definitely a reason why this book won the Pulitzer prize!

This was the first book I read by Richard Russo, and now I want more.


The Faithful Narrative of a Pastor's Disappearance: A Novel
The Faithful Narrative of a Pastor's Disappearance: A Novel
Author: Benjamin Anastas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A very good satire about a slice of suburban life. It's definitely a different writing style, but who wants to read the same sort of book every time you pick up a novel? This was a very entertaining read, and at times laugh-out-loud funny. It may take you a couple of chapters to get into it, but stick with it... It was worth the time!


Fortunes Rocks
Fortunes Rocks
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/1/2008


Another good one by Anita Shreve. This one is a bit different than some of her other novels. It has a bit of a victorian, Edith Wharton-ish feel about it, but still very interesting. Great characters, surprising twists to the story.


French Lessons: Adventures with Knife, Fork, and Corkscrew
French Lessons: Adventures with Knife, Fork, and Corkscrew
Author: Peter Mayle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 2/24/2009


Another entertaining read from Peter Mayle. If you like food, wine, or travel, you'll enjoy this!


Girls' Poker Night (High Stakes)
Girls' Poker Night (High Stakes)
Author: Jill Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 9/12/2008
Helpful Score: 5


You will laugh. You will cry. You will mostly laugh... OUT LOUD!

If you'd like to read something that's a little bit different, that pokes fun at the girls, you'll love this book. It's a slightly irreverent look at women and their relationships.

A light, fun read.


A Good Year (MTI)
A Good Year (MTI)
Author: Peter Mayle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 9/8/2008


This is one of the most fun books I've read in a long time. I love Peter Mayle and this book is one of his best! You will enjoy this book from beginning to end. It's a great entertaining read. The characters are wonderfully developed and you'll feel like you know them personally. This book is a perfect read for vacation... Or if you feel like you need a vacation... You'll be transported to Provence!

I bought a copy of this book for my dad, and he loved it too. I gave my copy to a friend who also enjoyed it.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2431
Review Date: 5/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


What can I say about this book that hasn't already been said? I feel obligated to write something about it since it's one of the best books I have read in years.

I was drawn in from the first page. The entire novel is riveting. The characters are wonderful, and it's such a great story that needed to be told.

I waited a year and a half to get this book on PBS, and was still waiting when I finally caved in and bought it for myself. I wish I hadn't waited so long to make that purchase! I almost always post my books here when I'm done reading them, but this one won't be leaving my house. I rarely re-read a book since I ascribe to the "too many books, too little time" philosophy, but even though I finished this book last night, I already want to pick it up and re-read it! I wish I'd bought the hardcover version instead of paperback since this one is a keeper and will become a classic of American literature.

All I need to know now: When will Ms. Stockett be writing her next novel?


Hissy Fit
Hissy Fit
Author: Mary Kay Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 456
Review Date: 6/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


FUN! Mary Kay Andrews is hilarious. This is the second of her books that I've read, and they were both wonderfully funny, and fully of great, well-developed characters. The main character is very likeable and someone who most people will relate to on some level.

This is definitely a chick-lit, vacation, read-on-the-beach type of book. It's a quick, enjoyable read. Not too heavy, not a lot of work to plow through it, just an entertaining story. I want to get another of this author's books immediately!


How Stella Got Her Groove Back
How Stella Got Her Groove Back
Author: Terry McMillan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 6/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is a story of a single mother who has gotten caught up in her corporate job and has started to lose touch with the things that are important to her. The story is about how she gets back in touch with her "inner self" and finds love in her life again.

The characters are all very likeable. It's a good story, although the author's writing style takes a little getting used to. She needs to be introduced to the serial comma. After a couple chapters you'll get used to that and the reading becomes a bit more smooth.

All in all, an enjoyable story.


Julie and Romeo
Julie and Romeo
Author: Jeanne Ray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 9/12/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This book re-tells the tale of Romeo and Juliet from a modern perspective. It's about an older couple who falls in love, and their feuding families.

It's a light read, but thoroughly engrossing and enjoyable. I enjoyed it so much that I read it twice!

Since then, I've sought out other books by Jeanne Ray. She has a wonderful writing style and the ability to tell a story that pulls you in. You'll love all the characters!


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: