Susan W. (WriterOne) - - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Allegiant (Divergent, Bk 3)
Allegiant (Divergent, Bk 3)
Author: Veronica Roth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 4/25/2014


I loved the first two books. It was a long wait for the third one to come out. I found that I had forgotten the dynamics of a lot of the key players so I scrambled to do some reviewing before I got too far into the book.

It was slow at first. I didn't think I was going to like it. The middle got me going and kept me hooked although I thought there were a lot more interesting "paths" she could have taken some of the characters.

Possible spoilers below here, at least hints ... ALERT

The ending? Oh no way ... nuh-uh. I did not like the way she ended it at all. I can understand because it would have almost been too contrived had something like that not happened. But from the moment "it" happened - I kept waiting for "something" to make it not so. Some sort of reverse serum, or something. I don't know what I was waiting for. It took me until almost then end to realize, "hey, this IS how it's going to end."

All in all, it was a good series. I'm glad I read the three books - I just wish the last one was as good as the first two.

I just saw the first movie and gave it high marks. I'll be watching the rest of the movies as they come out.


Cat Nap (Sunny & Shadow, Bk 2)
Cat Nap (Sunny & Shadow, Bk 2)
Author: Claire Donally
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/16/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Cute story. Easy and fun read. I am absolutely in love with Shadow!

It features a light plot, decent dialogue, a couple nutty characters, a couple "real" characters (the next door types) and remember to suspend reality when it comes to the part about the Ukrainian gangsters.

All in all, a good read. Don't even bother to pick it up if you're looking for anything other than a mindless read.


The Duke's Perfect Wife (Highland Pleasures, Bk 4)
The Duke's Perfect Wife (Highland Pleasures, Bk 4)
Author: Jennifer Ashley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 5/28/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was actually disappointed with this final installment. The others were just so stellar but this one dragged on and on in some parts. The end was also anticlimatic.

I think much of my disappointment was Ashley's writing. She did a lot more "telling" instead of "showing" so it was hard to feel part of the emotional moments.

This is no reflection on the characters. I loved Hart and Eleanor -- I'm invested in the entire Mackenzie clan. I loved the fact that Hart finally realized what was important in life and didn't let it slip away at the end.

I do wish that she would have told Daniel's story. I think that would have made for a much more completed conclusion.

I have littled understanding as to why she picked Ainsley's brothers to pursue. They didn't seem particularly remarkable to me. I would much more rather have heard about Inspector Fellowes and with that hijack towards the end, I've little doubt we'll see something come of "that" relationship.


Dune Road
Dune Road
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 9/28/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I'm a Jane Green fan but this book disappointed me. It was boring. The characters were rather flat in personality, the plot and character actions seemed contrived and too many things just happened to fall into place.

I got the idea that she was thinking "hey, I'm the writer" so I can put this piece here and this piece right next to it and force them to fit together. Nope.

Not to mention, and very major pet peave of mine, is that since she is writing about Americans and putting an American "voice" with the story then she needs to have the "lingo" correct. It was very weird to hear the British terminology she used and was rather out of place. As an editor myself, I'm thinking her editors should have caught that disparity.

Beach Road was such a treat that I was expecting a whole lot more from her.


Haunting Beauty
Haunting Beauty
Author: Erin Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/11/2009


This author was formly known as Erin Grady. She wrote Echoes from 2004 and Whispers from 2006, also for Berkeley Sensation, I believe. Her first novel was published by Avon in 1994.


Insurgent (Divergent, Bk 2)
Insurgent (Divergent, Bk 2)
Author: Veronica Roth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/2/2012


An OK follow up to Divergent. I was not as impressed by the second book, however. I thought it was weaker in plot and anticlimatic at the end. I was left with a "so what?" kind of feeling. It's not that I thought it was a poor entry to the story or not an integral part-- it just shouldn't have left off there.

I think that this story also left many things throughout unexplained. Almost as if the author couldn't figure out how to get character A from one place to another ... so poof, all of a sudden the character was just "there." Example, it took great planning to enter the Eurdite compound in one scene, yet in another, a character has all of a sudden gained entrance, somehow.

I'm also not a fan of the characters' development. Caleb's progression should have been a bigger deal. Why Peter helps Tris was a luke warm reason and how Peter becomes such an "important" person is totally ignored.

Still, all in all, a very interesting and unique story. The author has a wonderful way of "showing" the audience what is going on through her writing. That is the sign of a good writer. Her writing style allows the reader to be right there in the moment with the characters.

I will definitely be reading the third. I do think it's a shame that it won't be released until the fall of 2013. Seems like a long time to wait.


The Ivy Chronicles
The Ivy Chronicles
Author: Karen Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 3/6/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book sat on my shelf for quite awhile before I decided to read it. I'm now wishing that I would have picked it up a long time ago. It was so very, very good! A very well-rounded book with something for everyone.

Great characters, it was funny, it was sad, it had romance and death. It had some shocking things ... it's amazing the lengths the parents went to get their kids into a "top-tier" private school. No matter how crazy the parents Quinn made it all believable, which could be because I've heard that NYC is cut-throat when it comes to gaining admission to exclusive private schools.


Keys to the Castle
Keys to the Castle
Author: Donna Ball
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I'm not usually one for contemporary romances but I love books set in other countries so that's what piqued my interest.

I enjoyed the book but the ending fell flat. I got the feeling the author just wanted to wrap it up and finish. I also don't like that the author didn't allow the reader to see the outcome of the one piece of intrigue in the story. I mean, it was alluded to and we can guess what the outcome was but it wasn't finalized yet it was touted throughout most of the book.

But that's actually minor since the rest of the story was so good. The characters grew as the story progressed, which is something I look for in any genre I read.

While there wasn't really any commentary or color on the local area featured in the story, it was a wonderful romance that featured very likeable characters.


Murder, She Barked (Paws & Claws, Bk 1)
Murder, She Barked (Paws & Claws, Bk 1)
Author: Krista Davis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 5/11/2014
Helpful Score: 2


I couldn't even finish it. It seemed too silly. Things just fell weirdly into place, too many catastrophes all at once and I didn't think the characters were believable at all.

I really wanted to like it ....


A Potion to Die For (Magic Potion, Bk 1)
A Potion to Die For (Magic Potion, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Blake
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 3/1/2014
Helpful Score: 2


I don't write negative reviews too often and likewise, I don't often quit a book after just 50 pages. I crept to 50 and only under total duress.

This book was utterly stupid - it opens with a chase scene with the "victim" protagonist being chased through town by a large group of residents wanting some sort of potion to ward against a prediction that one person in the town was going to get a divorce ... or something like that. Gahhhh!

It's too bad because I like her other series. This one is not for me - I can do silly but not ridicules.


Rescue My Heart (Animal Magnetism, Bk 3)
Rescue My Heart (Animal Magnetism, Bk 3)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 1/23/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I was disappointed in this book. I enjoyed the first two ... well, I loved the first one and the second one was decent. This one was boring. I did not enjoy the characters.

Most of the first half was the same type of dialogue such as reviewing over and over ad nauseum the same aspects of their past historyt together and the both of them talking to themselves about how "hot" the other one was. It was like Shalvis couldn't quite find the right way to say something so she kept repeating the idea lest the reader not quite understand what she was trying to convey. We got it already. By page 10!

I stopped reading the book halfway through and will not be reading any more of the series. It's a shame too because I'm a Shalvis fan.


The Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance, Bk 1)
The Sleeping Doll (Kathryn Dance, Bk 1)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/22/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This is my first review and what compelled me to write one about The Sleeping Doll was the book's sheer briliance. This is my first Deaver novel and I was utterly impressed by the man's writing. The book keeps you on your toes, it keeps you wanting to read - no place was ever a good place to stop and take a break from reading it. The main character, Kathryn Dance, was a well-rounded woman who juggled widowhood, motherhood, family and a prestigious position. And she never came across as superwoman. He painted a "real" picture of a character. I also loved that it's set right around where I was born, raised and live now. That's always a fun bonus. Definitely read the book!


A Spoonful of Murder (Soup Lover's, Bk 1)
A Spoonful of Murder (Soup Lover's, Bk 1)
Author: Connie Archer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 1/1/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Was rather disappointed. It just didn't hold my interest. Nothing redeeming or memorable about any of the characters. Even though Lucky lost her parents the writing didn't make me feel any empathy for her. Halfway through the book I wasn't even remotely curious who killed the victim. That's when I realized it was time to put the book down and move on.


The Whole Cat and Caboodle (Second Chance Cat, Bk 1)
The Whole Cat and Caboodle (Second Chance Cat, Bk 1)
Author: Sofie Ryan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/6/2014


No, no, no. It was not a good read on many levels. Verb tense errors, editing errors abound. I found several in the first 32 pages.

I know many who enjoyed this book - especially because of the cat Elvis. But the author doesn't employ the basic tenet of writing, and that's "show, don't tell." I felt the author did a lot of "telling" about Elvis and not so much showing and as a result, I didn't see Elvis' personality emerge like it should have.

Just not for me.


1 to 14 of 14