Lisa G. (plum-marie) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 99 - Page:
Always Will
Always Will
Author: Melanie Jacobson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/18/2016


My mistake was not reading the first two pages before I bought the book to try a new author. It was a great indication of how trying it would be to continue reading. Pg 7 how sexy drinking a sports drink was-really?! His hair "tangled like unset taffy"--I am nauseous and not in a good way. Calling each other Loser, dummy-yeah real friends here. Hannah is totally self conscious and so over the top into Will it is painful to read about when he does absolutely nothing in the first 50 pages (I literally couldn't force myself to read each page after that) to explain the attraction. Pg 28 Hannah wants to "...[be] his shark cage, the person who made everything okay, who made it so he could breathe..." How is this book getting such high reviews?! The main character hit the nail on the head pg 53 "My twelve-year-long, pathetic, ridiculous crush." Between the constant eye rolling and general nausea this book induced I just cannot recommend it to anyone. I hope it is the last time I am sucked in my a good blurb on the back without reading the beginning of the story.


And Every Morning the Way Home Gets Longer and Longer: A Novella
Review Date: 2/26/2017


Short, easy to read in one sitting. A dear friend's husband is suffering from Alzheimer's and I wondered what this novella would show me about it. It seems such a terrifying thing to lose someone long before they die. I like that Noah loves his Grandpa so much he thinks of ways to help like reminding him who he is and who his Grandma was. Noah has so many strong memories of his Grandpa he isn't bogged down by the fear and sadness, he seems happy just to be in whatever moment he can be with his Grandpa.


Anger: Taming a Powerful Emotion
Anger: Taming a Powerful Emotion
Author: Gary D Chapman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/25/2016


An important topic, written specifically to Christians with heavy references to scripture and prayer. Yet I think everyone can benefit from its topic and research.

Anger is the opposite of love. "Love draws you toward the person; anger sets you against the person."
"We can't control our bodily reactions; however, we can control our mental and physical responses to anger."
"Anger is like a red light flashing on the dash of a car. It indicates that something needs attention."
"...anger is to motivate us to take positive, loving action to seek to set the wrong right..."
"...restraining our immediate response is extremely important in establishing new patterns."
"'Anger' is one letter short of "danger." Author Unknown"
Sharing information (how you are feeling) rather than judgment is the 1st step in processing distorted (perceived) anger.
Focus on the situation that sparked anger emotion, rather than on the person.
"Anger was designed to be a visitor, never a resident, in the human heart."
"...we can learn from the past, and the other is that the past often affects our present behavior."
"Forgiveness is not a feeling; it is a commitment to accept the person in spite of what he or she has done. It is a decision not to demand justice but to show mercy..."
"Do not teach your children never to be angry; teach them how to be angry and sin not. Lyman Abbott"
"The call of God is that we will trust Him in the darkness as we trusted Him in the light. He has not changed, even though our circumstances have been painfully altered."


The Apothecary's Daughter
The Apothecary's Daughter
Author: Julie Klassen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 5/18/2016


** spoiler alert ** I didn't like this one, it was semi interesting to learn about what would be considered a pharmacist job in those days and some of the characters were mildly interesting. Seemed Lilly had too many suitors throughout to make it believable as to why and never really satisfied as to what happened with her mother. Sad about Mary as well. I don't know, as much as I got the message you have to leave something/lose it to realize its value it never really seemed Lilly would be happy in apothecary for the rest of her life.


The Beautiful Pretender: A Medieval Fairy Tale
The Beautiful Pretender: A Medieval Fairy Tale
Author: Melanie Dickerson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/20/2017


First time reading this author, didn't realize it would have Beauty & Beast elements but I loved that it did. Also a fair amount like The Selection. I really liked the characters and the idea that people should be respected no matter their birth station. That if you let yourself get to know a person you don't know what you'll find behind a title or job label. It also showed how even though Avelina was instructed to take Dorothea's place she still acted and spoke as herself. I didn't feel the religious component was too overdone, mostly when Avelina needed help. A great clean romance, I really liked the story and need to look up the other books by this author.


Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast
Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 4/14/2017


I was so nervous since Beauty and the Beast is a favorite story of mine. Started out slow but then I literally couldn't read fast enough, I had to know what would happen next. I loved this version with no Gaston and sweet sisters and a brother-in-law to look out for Beauty. The messages still come through so beautifully, that inner beauty can transform a person and the power of love. The magic/enchantment elements were well woven in, interesting without being unbelievable. I loved how Beauty's horse was a character unto himself, well thought out and described. I really enjoyed this version and am so glad I took a chance on it.


Becoming Lady Lockwood
Becoming Lady Lockwood
Author: Jennifer Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/18/2016


I enjoyed it. It is a fast read and surprisingly good for the author's first novel. I liked the heroine and her strength in spite of difficult circumstances. I was pleasantly surprised that the switching between Amelia and William's perspectives was not distracting or confusing. It helped to understand the story and move it along. The fight scenes were exciting and interesting without being gory. I felt like the supporting characters (Sidney, Riley, Tobias, Dr. Spinner, Slushy) were well fleshed out and a great addition to the main characters. The book left me smiling and it was a clean sweet romance.


Blackmoore: A Proper Romance
Blackmoore: A Proper Romance
Author: Julianne Donaldson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 5/18/2016


I liked it, it was exciting, sad, interesting, so many things at once. It was a clean book without stuff that I didn't need to read about. The flashbacks to the past were informative enough without being distracted. I loved the time period and the representation of restrictions on women and what it would look like for one of them to challenge everything. Henry is amazing, real without being unbelievable. Kate's family mad me sad but it was believable and contributed much to who she was and what motivated her to be that way. I didn't understand the last scene with the grandfather, it was confusing and I would have preferred to leave with her first meeting with him in my mind. It was great though and I didn't want to put it down.


Blackout
Blackout
Author: John Rocco
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/25/2016


Good story about things you can do that don't involve a tv or even electricity. About spending time together as a family and discovering the places you live and what is around you. The main character is a boy but illustrations make them look more girly to me so that was confusing.


Book of a Thousand Days
Book of a Thousand Days
Author: Shannon Hale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 5/18/2016


Interesting read, never heard the tale from the Grimm brothers before. I liked the journal style, it was clear who was "talking" the whole time. Dashti is a great character, committed to her role as a maid but not without her own strengths. She serves Saren but thinks too. I really like Tegus as well. I think I would go insane in a tower without a view of outside which is crazy because I love to be at home reading and not looking outside. Quick read and I liked the ending.


The Book with No Pictures
The Book with No Pictures
Author: B. J. Novak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/25/2016


I love the premise of this book and am glad I could find it at my library. My toddler had no problems with the fact that it has no pictures and went around the house quoting this book for days! So in that sense I suppose it was a hit. I, as an adult, feel absurd reading about "boo boo butt" and "head made of blueberry pizza" so for that reason I can't give it more than 3 stars.


Britt-Marie Was Here
Britt-Marie Was Here
Author: Fredrik Backman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/14/2017


I think I liked Ove better but this one was good too. One of the skills of the author in my opinion is writing characters you can picture, people with details about their lives without getting bogged down in it, so that you feel you live with them for a time.

At its heart Britt-Marie is about a person who has been living for someone else for so long she almost doesn't know herself. About an unlikely town and group of people who help her see what she wants from life. The story is about the desire in all of us as humans to be noticed and seen.

Chapter 29 had me literally shaking with laughter, I have no idea if that was the late hour at which I was finishing the book or just the way Britt-Marie is you just laugh sometimes. The sections with both Kent and Sven are pretty funny too. I waited the whole book to find out Somebody's name and am impressed that it really works to have her called Somebody when Britt-Marie is telling the story. I'm not sure it is really clear what becomes of Britt-Marie's life but you discover how she changed the course of the lives in Borg and that is more what the story is about anyway-the effect a person can have.


Caterina and the Best Beach Day
Caterina and the Best Beach Day
Author: Erin Eitter Kono
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/3/2016


A book about what happens while you are busy doing other things. I like Caterina and her lists, I think a lot of over organized parents can relate to her. She wants to have the perfect day at the beach and doesn't realize that to do that sometimes you have to go with the moment and not follow a list of to-do's.


Caterina and the Lemonade Stand
Caterina and the Lemonade Stand
Author: Erin Eitter Kono
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/21/2016


Very cute book, tons to look at in the colorful illustrations but even more important is the message of the book. Caterina loves lists, summer, and her scooter which breaks before the 1st page of the story. Appearing in the story with her is her little brother Leo. In order to get a shiny new scooter Caterina figures out how to raise money (a good concept for children to understand money doesn't appear because you want it)-a lemonade stand. However she isn't the only one in the area with the same idea. Instead of giving up Caterina goes a step farther to figure out how to set her lemonade stand apart from the rest. Again great lessons for children in persevering and thinking outside the norm. Her end result is creative and successful and when she gets the new scooter it is a beautiful message on the last page about why she wanted to get it. A wonderful story.


Caterina and the Perfect Party
Caterina and the Perfect Party
Author: Erin Eitter Kono
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/3/2016


About how no matter how much you plan, things often do not go according to plan. How to lean on friends and adjust when that happens. Caterina is a great character to teach important concepts to children. Illustrations are cute and fun to look at.


The Chemist
The Chemist
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/26/2017


Ugh, I'm trying to console myself with the fact that I cannot be the only one who picked this up based on the author. This book dragged and left me feeling weighted with ugly things. I wish I had saved myself the time. If swearing, nudity, extra-marital affair, supposed love at first site, pre-marital sex, violence, kidnapping, torture, and murder are your thing you'll find it all jammed into this. If they aren't please don't waste your time putting it all into your life because that is what you'll have at the end of this book.


Chopsticks
Chopsticks
Author: Amy Krouse Rosenthal
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/28/2016


Spoon may always be cuter to me just because I really don't use chopsticks but the play on words with illustrations in this one is brilliant [whisked away-with a whisk, get it?...no one stirred, not even spoon (because they stir)] The message too about being together but also independent is also very good. Plan to add both utensil stories to our collection.


Courting Miss Lancaster
Courting Miss Lancaster
Author: Sarah M Eden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/18/2016


It was actually even better than the first one. I loved Harry in the first book and he didn't disappoint in this one. I loved being able to read more about Adam and Persephone again too. I read the whole book in one evening and ended with a very huge satisfied grin on my face. Clean, sweet romance about love creeping up on you and not always riding in on a white horse.


The Crown (The Selection)
The Crown (The Selection)
Author: Kiera Cass
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/14/2016


Here's the thing I can't really recommend this one because you can't understand a thing that is going on unless you have literally just finished The Heir. It starts right into a story you have forgotten by this point and I really disliked The Heir so there is no way I was going to re-read it to figure things out. On its own it is ok but it doesn't come close to America & Maxon's story in the first three books and Eadlyn just is not a character I ever came to care for. I love Eikko and Henry but this series should have ended as a trilogy and I should not have assumed that because the book covers are stunning that the continuing story would be as well.

Eadlyn is a mess, Illea is a mess in the last two books, the boys don't even really seem to be that much in competition with each other-they all just have a reason that they conveniently go away, all that was interesting and new about the series when it started just didn't hold out.


The Dancing Master
The Dancing Master
Author: Julie Klassen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/18/2016


I really don't understand why I even finished it, I knew part way through I was way too bored with it. Other books from this author I read in a day, this took nearly three weeks. It could not hold my interest, the premise of a dancing master moving to a town who doesn't dance and having the entire book essentially in that town was beyond boring. I did not like Julia-way too self centered and reckless. She never learned as far as I could tell and hurt people throughout the story. I wish I hadn't finished the book and should have skipped this one to begin with.


1 to 20 of 99 - Page: