Robert N. (adastra) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
The Antelope Wife
The Antelope Wife
Author: Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/13/2011


My wife is a big Louise Erdrich fan, but says this book was...ehhh, so-so.


Back to the Moon: A Novel
Back to the Moon: A Novel
Author: Homer Hickam
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/1/2011


Having grown up during the first generation of manned space exploration, with Mercury, Gemini, and Apollo, it was with mixed emotions that I read Homer Hickam's "Back to the Moon." As a young man in my late teens and twenties, I loved what this country was doing in space, cheering every liftoff and landing, from Alan Shepard to Apollo 17. Hickam's novel brought it all back in its wonder, mystery, spirit of exploration, courage, idealism, love. Also, he evoked tears and regret that we today do not have the will to recreate the dreams of our forebears. He's a fine writer and was the right man for the job of telling the story of what might be yet - an American return to the Moon. For me, it was nearly an epic poem for the age of space, for the new frontier (no caps, no politics). I was thrilled by the boldness of the concept and its painstaking road to fulfillment. Literarily, Jack Medaris and Penny High Eagle, may bear no comparison to Ulysses, Achilles, Priam, and Agamemnon. Still, they were well-drawn characters in the context of a pop novel. They typify the courage, ingenuity, toughness, commitment, of what we used to call the American spirit. Minor characters , as important to the plot, as the technicians, scientists, bureaucrats, etc. were important to the real-world execution of our space efforts, are fully drawn and convincing. I'm pretty sure Mr. Hickam wrote the book as an entertainment, and not a polemic. Nevertheless, it's clear he loved the lost, lamented, manned-space era. It should also encourage America to wake up and do everything possible to start again the abandoned journey to the stars. Sadly, the far goals seem further away now than they did in the 1960's.


The Big Over Easy (Nursery Crime, Bk 1)
The Big Over Easy (Nursery Crime, Bk 1)
Author: Jasper Fforde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 1/15/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is my 5th Jasper Fforde novel, and they're great, although this last is not quite up to the quality of the previous four.


Lucky You
Lucky You
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/18/2006


Very funny and outrageous in Hiassen's usual style. Bizarre Floridian characters, tropical setting, hilarious, provacative


My Name Is Mary Sutter
My Name Is Mary Sutter
Author: Robin Oliveira
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 5/14/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I was sorely disappointed by this book. Perhaps I should have been warned by the title, which sounds more like a book for young people. I'm not a raging intellectual, but am no longer an adolescent. This book is aimed at the reading level of someone just going into "adult" books. That's my first complaint.

My second is that it takes forever to get to the civil war, which is the most interesting part to me and why I bought the book (in an airport.) The beginning chapters set the stage, I guess so you'll know Mary Sutter better, but it takes up too much of the book. Besides, she is a stock post-feminist character that exists in so many post-feminist novels, with few distinguishing characteristics.

All passages involving Abraham Lincoln should have been eliminated. The imagined conversations are forced. You want to know how he feels? Go read the 10,000 books written about how he felt, or go see the movie "Lincoln." I just skimmed those passages and was annoyed

On the bright side, her descriptions of the battlefield medical conditions, when they finally arrived, were wonderful. If only the book had stuck more to that and not become an adolescent girls soap opera it could have been good.

Did I mention that her writing is very awkward? Some sentences are so convoluted you have to read them two or three times for them to make any sense.


Skin Tight
Skin Tight
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 3/28/2007


I've never read a Carl Hiassen novel that I did not THOROUGHLY enjoy!


Stormy Weather
Stormy Weather
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 3/28/2007


It's a Carl Hiassen - need I say more?


The Story of Mahajanaka
The Story of Mahajanaka
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 6/29/2008


King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand wrote this retelling of a story from Thai scriptures. He hired a prominent Thai cartoonist to do the illustrated edition. Thai paper was to be used for the sake of economy in order to reach most readers.


Strip Tease
Strip Tease
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 3/28/2007


Outrageously funny - Hiassen is addictive!


1 to 9 of 9