Amber M. (kohaku-san) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 68 - Page:
100 Things You're Not Supposed to Know
100 Things You're Not Supposed to Know
Author: Russ Kick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 12/14/2011


This is a very informative book that covers a variety of topics. Most of what it discusses relates to the United States, but it does mention other countries and events relating to the world at large. An eye-opening experience!


101 Essential Tips on Photography (101 Essential Tips)
101 Essential Tips on Photography (101 Essential Tips)
Author: Michael John Langford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/23/2012


This book has a lot of good info to use regardless of what camera you have or even how much experience you have. It would have been helpful if some of the descriptions had been a little more in-depth, though. All in all, a good book, especially for serious beginners.


3 Minute Stories: Fairy Tales
3 Minute Stories: Fairy Tales
Author: Publications International
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/27/2012


There are a wide variety of stories AND types of illustrations in this book. All of the pictures are lovely and fun to look at; some of them are absolutely jaw-dropping beautiful! The stories themselves are very short but entertaining. And there are a few with endings I didn't expect. A great book for bedtime!


The Adventures of Momotaro, the Peach Boy (Bilingual Children's Classics) (English/Japanese)
Review Date: 7/29/2012


Like all of the bilingual books in this series, the illustrations are GORGEOUS and the prose is well-written. Wonderful introduction to the myths!


Alana's Secret Friend (The Little Mermaid, No 12)
Alana's Secret Friend (The Little Mermaid, No 12)
Author: Jess Christopher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/14/2011


I adore all of the books in this series! Ariel's sisters all get major parts in these tales, and this one focuses on the gentle Alana. It's wonderful to see more of the other mermaids and how the interact with their world. There are some black and white illustrations scattered throughout the book, which adds to the fun!


Ariel and Sebastian : Serpent Teen (Disney's the Little Mermaid)
Ariel and Sebastian : Serpent Teen (Disney's the Little Mermaid)
Author: Walt Disney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/14/2011


Wonderful book for any age Disney fan! We get to see more of Ariel's older sisters, and Aquata in particular gets a big role in this tale, along with Sebastian and Flounder and Triton. We also learn there are other dangers in the sea aside from Ursula the Sea Witch. The art is very well drawn and in a regular comic book format, and the dialogue is easy to read and entertaining for readers of all ages and levels. Heartily recommended!


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 891
Review Date: 12/19/2013


This was an amazing novel. I watched the movie and fell in love with it, and sought the book to get more info and just to read the original story. It was impossible for me to put this book down very long! I knew how most of the story was supposed to go and got a lot of details for these scenes, and much more. The ending was very different from the one in the film, although there are still some points in common. I cannot possibly recommend this book enough. It is a favorite and one of the most poignantly beautiful novels I have ever read.


The Baby Unicorn
The Baby Unicorn
Author: Jean Marzollo, Claudio Marzollo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/22/2011


Fantastic illustrations with great detail decorate every page of this book. The story is interesting, although it wraps up a little too neatly too quickly. Still, it makes a wonderful bedtime story, especially for kids who love unicorns and dragons.


The Boyfriend Mix-Up (Disney's the Little Mermaid Novels, No 10)
Review Date: 12/14/2011


For once, the star is not Ariel! Adella and Attina take center stage in this story, with their sisters trying to help them, only to hinder them instead! Great look into their interactions and family life, and it's nice to see that even princesses can have problems with boyfriends! There are several black and white pictures detailing the action in the story. I high recommend this book!


Brightly Burning
Brightly Burning
Author: Mercedes Lackey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 222
Review Date: 12/14/2011


This book is very poignant, very powerful, and somewhat depressing. Mercedes Lackey is a fantastic writer and this is one of her best works. It really draws you in and involves you in the tale, and you really feel for the characters. It is not necessary to know everything about the Valdemar Heralds and their world to read this book, although prior knowledge does help. If you are looking for an emotionally-charged story, look no further!


Cat Haiku
Cat Haiku
Author: Deborah Coates
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/29/2012


Hilarious little book that every cat-lover will enjoy. Beautiful illustrations really add a lot of character too.


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 1/27/2015


Another unbelievably good story from the great Suzanne Collins! We go even deeper into the world Katniss and Peeta share, and we meet new characters that add their own charm or mystery or horror. There are twists that I didn't expect, and two characters in particular that I had not expected to like as much as I do. In some ways I think this book is even better than its predecessor, but I love both of them. Powerful drama, strong action sequences, and deep emotion make this a great vehicle for the author's thoughts and points.


Civil War Prose Novel
Civil War Prose Novel
Author: Stuart Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/29/2012


Incredibly well-written story. The characters are of course familiar. The way they handle the choices presented to them are believable and both sides of the fight are sympathetic. Masterful storytelling.


The Cute Book
The Cute Book
Author: Aranzi Aronzo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/29/2012


This book is of course great for creating adorable creatures (as it was meant to), but it's also fun to just read. There are some REALLY weird projects here and the commentary on those pages always makes me smile. The crafts themselves are very easy to make and would be enjoyable for any age group.


The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Presents America (The Book): A Citizen's Guide to Democracy Inaction
Review Date: 7/29/2012


I really enjoy the audio version of this! The different voices add a lot of fun to the experience. And this is a great way to bring some light-headed silliness to a subject that can be quite boring at times.

I think a lot of the cussing is rather unnecessary, but it's easy enough to gloss over that and it doesn't detract much at all from the rest.


Damn You, Autocorrect! Awesomely Embarrassing Text Messages You Didn't Mean to Send
Review Date: 7/29/2012


Absolutely hilarious! And somewhat naughty, but that's the fault of autocorrect. I love this book!


The Disinherited (Star Trek, Book 59)
The Disinherited (Star Trek, Book 59)
Author: Peter David, Michael Jan Friedman, Robert Greenberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/10/2015


The authors did a great job on this tale! The main characters were all written very well (it was easy for me to "see" them acting and "hear" their voices), and most of the lesser characters worked too. The plot flowed nicely, without spots to slow down the story, and the science was not too outrageous (for the Star Trek universe) or too complicated to follow. I was involved with several of the relationships that were developing among some of the characters. All in all, this was a very good book I will read again someday.


Disney's the Little Mermaid: Ariel the Spy (Disney's The little mermaid)
Review Date: 12/14/2011


This one was not as entertaining as some of the others in this series, but I still thoroughly enjoyed it. Ariel drags her sisters into what she suspects is a horrible plot, and chaos ensues. We get a good look at what it's like to live with all these teenage mermaid princesses, with nice black and white pictures to accompany the story.


Disney's The Little Mermaid: Tales from Under the Sea
Disney's The Little Mermaid: Tales from Under the Sea
Author: Frederic Marvin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


First off, the art is gorgeous! The stories are all extremely well-written and fun, with many of them emphasizing good moral lessons or happy feelings. Ariel's older sisters are given quite a lot of exposure in this book, and we get to see how they interact with each other. Also includes themes that focus on Sebastian, Flounder, Scuttle, Ursula, and King Triton! Most of the book is made up of short stories, and the rest of the entries are cute poems. Very, very highly recommended for all Little Mermaid fans!


Divergent (Divergent, Bk 1)
Divergent (Divergent, Bk 1)
Author: Veronica Roth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 447
Review Date: 1/27/2015


This was a pretty good book. It wasn't a great book, and it didn't nab my attention as thoroughly as some other novels have, but it wasn't a bad book either. The premise was interesting and I did find some of the characters to be quite intriguing, but something about the story just wasn't enough. I still recommend it, but I wasn't invested enough to search out the sequels.


1 to 20 of 68 - Page: