Vivian C. (WiiWii) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Cheap  Easy : A Cookbook for Girls on the Go
Cheap Easy : A Cookbook for Girls on the Go
Author: Sandra Bark, Vin Ganapathy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/4/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Love this book! Not just for girls on th go, great for folks who are on their own for the first time. Helped me get through those first couple of months.


Even God Is Single, So Stop Giving Me A Hard Time
Even God Is Single, So Stop Giving Me A Hard Time
Author: Karen Salmansohn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


loved it! fun read. i couldn't stop laughing.


Free Food for Millionaires
Free Food for Millionaires
Author: Min Jin Lee
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/19/2008


After reading this book, I could not disagree with this review found on Amazon.com. This book left me hanging.:
There are several loose ends left dangling, some bad behavior toward others on Casey's part and an unlikely and too coincidental passing acquaintance with an old bookseller whose wife was crazy about hats, as is Casey. When he dies, he leaves all her hats to Casey--which just might just be the start of something. The author runs out of steam after 512 pages and ends the book without really finishing it, but it is a thoughtful treatment of many of the questions Lee raises, and an emninently worthwhile debut. --Valerie Ryan


Good Luck Life : The Essential Guide to Chinese American Celebrations and Culture
Review Date: 6/25/2007


I enjoyed this book so much, I bought many of my friends copies. Had lots of information my parents never had the time to explain thoroughly. Defiintely a keeper!


The Lady Mechanic's Total Car Care for the Clueless : A Manual for Car Owners
Review Date: 12/3/2008


LOVE this book! This book proved too me that my guy friends don't know anything about cars and maintenance. I now know more than they do!


Milkrun (Red Dress Ink)
Milkrun (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 7/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


it was cute. my first foray into chick lit. want to read more!


The Red Tree
The Red Tree
Author: Shaun Tan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/11/2007


wonderful illustrations. Not just for adults. I take this book out once in a while to get me through the really hard days.


Secret Identities: The Asian American Superhero Anthology
Secret Identities: The Asian American Superhero Anthology
Author: Keith Chow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/20/2009
Helpful Score: 2


With the long (an impressive) list of Asian American supporters and contributers I was hesitant on how great this book would truly be. After reading it, all I can say is that all the accolades are true! I was definitely impressed after reading it. Enjoyed all the characters and artistic styles. I wish I had stories like these to read when I was growing up. I hope they come out with a second anthology! My copy is staying on my shelf for a very long time.


Short Stories on Photography: the Joseph and Elaine Monsen Collection at the Henry Art Gallery
Review Date: 6/20/2008


Great coffee book that contains many images from Seattle's only contemparary art museum on the University of Washington. Very impressive collection.


Simply Green Giving: Create Beautiful and Organic Wrappings, Tags, and Gifts from Everyday Materials
Review Date: 11/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


some great ideas. who would have thought to use VHS tape to create a bow. But it still ends up in the trash.


Son Of A Witch (Wicked Years, Bk 2)
Son Of A Witch (Wicked Years, Bk 2)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 416
Review Date: 6/16/2008


I heard all the raves on Wicked. I read it but it took me forever to finish the book. I picked up the Son of a Witch right around the same time I received the first. Strange enough, I enjoyed Son of a Witch far more than I enjoyed Wicked. I finished it faster too!


The Starter Wife
The Starter Wife
Author: Gigi Levangie Grazer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 6/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Quick read. Found it entertaining. Physical characteristics are slightly different from the tv movie.


The Thief Lord
The Thief Lord
Author: Cornelia Funke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 288
Review Date: 6/25/2007
Helpful Score: 4


great easy read. it made me what to visit Venice and walk where the characters might have walked.


This Next New Year
This Next New Year
Author: Janet S. Wong
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I love how this story interweaves how people of different cultures can celebrate and love this holiday. Definitely captures the spirit of the ever changing festivities. Love Choi's illustrations.


We All Fall Down
We All Fall Down
Author: Robert Cormier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/11/2007


my favorite amongst the Cormier novels.


1 to 15 of 15