Issa S. (Issa-345) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 99 - Page:
5 O'Clock Bar
5 O'Clock Bar
Author: Chris Owen, Sean Michael, Julia Talbot, B. A. Tortuga
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/18/2011


I liked each story, except for one, I just wish they were longer! You gotta love cowboys and can't help for more. It was a very interesting take on hookups at the same bar by different authors.


Adagio
Adagio
Author: Chris Owen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/10/2011


Great story. Had a lot of background on Australia and I really thought I'd get bored by it. Not at all! Really added to flavor of the story and characters.


Amnesia
Amnesia
Author: Sean Michael
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


What do you like in a book? Do you like plot and character development? Then this book is not for you. If you like sex scenes literally every 6-10 pages then this is for you.

I was so bored I barely finished it. Not one of Sean Michael's best efforts.


Anybody Out There?
Anybody Out There?
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 8/28/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is the one book of hers I will never read again. Don't get me wrong, it was good, but too sad. Not what I expected from a Keyes novel. I generally prefer her more upbeat novels.


Black Dust Mambo (Hoodoo, Bk 1)
Black Dust Mambo (Hoodoo, Bk 1)
Author: Adrian Phoenix
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 4/4/2011


Very interesting book. What I liked: Spending time in the heads of the various characters really helped you get to know them quicker. I also loved Bell, Layne, and Augustine. Id love to see Augustine stick around for the next book, but we will have to see what happens. A little disappointed in Kallie. Shes supposed to be the focus of the book, but we dont spend as much time with her as you would in a typical novel, so I did not get to know her as well and she really did not do much or know much. I assume that will change as the book progresses.

The not so good is the bouncing around among the characters. Was a bit annoying in the beginning. I really did not care for Aunt Gabi and the hoodoo voodoo got very confusing for me at one point. The ending was also very frustrating. A big secret revealed, but only in part.

Overall though, a promising first book with several wonderful characters that could take the series in many different directions.


Bloodlines
Bloodlines
Author: Dinah McCall, Sharon Sala
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 6/26/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This is one of the worst Dinah Mccall books I've read. The main characters were silly and boring (what grown woman calls her grandfather "Grampy"?). I felt what the author set up with Anna the housekeeper was misleading and just wrong. The main character's co-worker cops were only there for comic relief (because our main character cop can single handedly do everything). The only thing that helped get to the end of this thing was the guy who got out of prison. His story was compelling and I wanted to see how it ended. Despite my strong desire for someone to take this book off my shelf, I have to say that there is so very little to recommend about it.


Bride of the Wolf (Victorian Werewolf, Bk 6)
Bride of the Wolf (Victorian Werewolf, Bk 6)
Author: Susan Krinard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 10/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


To me, this book reads more like a historical romance than like a paranormal romance. I enjoyed the characters and the paranormal twist in the western romance.


The Bride Wore Blue (The Brides of Bath)
The Bride Wore Blue (The Brides of Bath)
Author: Cheryl Bolen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/27/2013


Felicity Pembroke, shortly before her marriage, saves Thomas Moreland after he's been stabbed and robbed. He knows her name but she doesn't know his. They move on like ships in the night. She marries and he makes a fortune in India...but he's never forgotten the angel that saved him and comes back to win her after her husband dies.

I was totally on board with this and couldn't wait to see how it played out, but I'm almost halfway through and can't continue.

Felicity, now widowed, is trying to take care of her younger brother and sister. The sister at 17 or so is flighty and immature and her brother only a touch younger than she, is irresponsible and gambles their money away. Here I like Felicity. She strong and intelligent and working very hard to keep the family intact despite her sibling's attempts to ruin them. Thomas learns of her problems and buys the brother's vouchers so he can approach Felicity and convince her to help introduce his 18 year old sister into Bath society. That's part of his plan to win her.

Thomas is an ass. He swoops in, buys her complacency because she can't afford to say no, dictates everything to her like he's king with no discussion, and never once tells her how they met. Why? It's not as if they have a scandalous past. In fact, Felicity would likely be pleased to have met him again after all this time. Instead, she's angry at him, and rightfully so, because he treats her like a child. I'm next stunned when all of a sudden she falls for him because he helped her out one time despite hearing something horrible about Thomas's past (it's a lie but she doesn't know that).

But of course to pump up the drama, you have a pair manipulating Felicity and trying to ruin Thomas. Necessary I suppose because the the secret doesn't make sense and the story needs a distraction.

But most of it comes back to the fact that Thomas is keeping this secret and there is no reason for him to keep it. I know the secret will be revealed at some point. Maybe Felicity will be happy, maybe she'll have some ridiculous reason to be angry with him about it (besides the rightful anger that he lied to her all this time) but I just don't care.


Call Me Irresistible (Wynette, Texas, Bk 6)
Call Me Irresistible (Wynette, Texas, Bk 6)
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 9/18/2011


If you are fan of SEP's stories, you will likely enjoy this one. However, don't expect anything different or unique. It's your standard fair, down and out girl runs out of money, is humiliated over and over, yet uses grit and wits to survive, pretty boy love interest hates her at first, humiliates her as well, learns more about her, then falls in love. She's written essentially the same story several times in the past....but still, if you like that formula, this is a good story.

Many of the characters from former books appeared. I do not read SEP often enough to remember them all or what their stories were, but that was okay, I didn't feel like I need to go and pull out a previous book to follow.

Most of the book is written in Meg first person, and I do wish we'd had more of Teddy through out, but I did truly enjoy the ending.

Standard SEP fare. Enjoyable, but not something I'd every re-read.


Chasing Midnight
Chasing Midnight
Author: Susan Krinard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 6/1/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This was a great book 1 of a new series for Krinard. Mobsters, werewolves, vampires, oh my! Lots of wonderful characters and an unlikely love story. I had difficulty putting it down. I loved it.


Christmas Cookies
Christmas Cookies
Author: Katherine M. Eakin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 8/9/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Contains a wide variety of cookie receipes, including some foreign cookies. Though the title calls them Christmas cookies, they will work all year long.


City Girl
City Girl
Author: Patricia Scanlan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/30/2007


This was a pretty good book. It doesn't have your traditional happy ending but you still feel good at the end. The 3 friends go through much in their lives, but you don't feel overwhelmed. This is an enjoyable book.


Cost of Repairs
Cost of Repairs
Author: A.M. Arthur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/27/2013


3-3.5 stars. An overall enjoyable book. I liked the way the author set it up, starting with Samuel, then moving to Rey, then finally back and forth between the to POVs. I felt I was able to know the characters better that way. Both Samuel and Rey are well written characters with a ton of heartbreaking baggage in their pasts. The only problem I had with this book was it felt like it was missing a few chapters. There are several things going on in Rey's life that are never resolved. And the end feels more like an HFN than a HEA. But I still enjoyed the book and may check out more from this author


Crossing Borders
Crossing Borders
Author: Z. A. Maxfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 4/4/2011


Great book. I loved Michael and Tristan's interaction. The love scenes were hot and the scenes with Tristan's family just laugh out loud funny. Great writing. I so wish we had learned a little bit more about Michael and what made him the way he was. The angst was real and not an outlandishly forced situation just to make a story. A keeper for me.


Damage Control (Dragon One, Bk 5)
Damage Control (Dragon One, Bk 5)
Author: Amy J. Fetzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this was one of the best in the series. Olivia and Sebastian are looking for the same missing comrade/friend and find that their work is related. They and their teams work together to retrieve their missing friend and stop the international conspiracy. There is a mystical component to this book which was different.

The action is non stop. Yes, the romance is a little lacking in the traditional sense, but the relationship between Olivia and Sebastian is great. They are exes. After they meet up again, there is no ridiculous angst about why they broke up, old wounds that need healing, etc. They accept what happened and move on. Very refreshing. They also respect each others' strengths. Sebastian doesn't get obnoxiously alpha about security, Olivia accepts he is expert and Sebastian accepts her intelligence and knowledge about her scientific work. They don't fight, argue or whine.

More characters from previous books appear in this one that in previous books. That is good if you follow the series but you won't miss out on anything if you haven't or forgot who all the players are.

You do spend a lot of time in the bad guys' heads. For the type of story Amy Fetzer wrote, it's necessary though I am not really a fan of the antagonist POV in general.

Overall, a very good book.


Dangerous Cravings
Dangerous Cravings
Author: Evangeline Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 11/27/2013


Interesting book, different from what I expected from Evangeline Anderson. The actual BDSM was light and the murder mystery interesting and well done. The book was released in ebook in 2006 and I might have had a more favorable review if I'd read it back them. Most of the book is taken up with Alex and Cole discussing her need to submit and how wrong Cole and others think that need is. In the current world were 50 Shades of Ridiculousness is a best seller, I can't relate how weird everyone seemed to think BDSM was and it became grating and annoying after awhile to hear about it. But there was much in this to keep me engaged despite the over 400 words of story


Dark Stranger (Primes, Bk 10)
Dark Stranger (Primes, Bk 10)
Author: Susan Sizemore
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 4/13/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Very good book. Stands alone and you don't need to have read any of her others to enjoy it. Just enough backgroud without wasting too much time on it. Loved both characters and couldn't wait to find out how it ended.


Day Dreamer
Day Dreamer
Author: Jill Marie Landis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 2/6/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Day Dreamer and Just Once are connected in that the main characters meet and change places. Celine has psychic powers that are part of the story but aren't the focus of it. Accused of murder, she leaves the States and ends up on an island as the intended wife of someone who is not thrilled to have her there. It was a good book, but not my favorite.


Dead on the Delta (Annabelle Lee, Bk 1)
Dead on the Delta (Annabelle Lee, Bk 1)
Author: Stacey Jay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 1/21/2013


I couldn't finish it. Lots of reasons for that. Annabelle is crass and lazy, she says herself she doesn't care about anything. So how am I supposed to care about her or what she does? Easy, I didn't. Her relationship with Cain baffled me and as soon as Hitch showed up and the love triangle began I put it down. Really didn't care at that point.

Then there was the writing itself. Gritty and disgusting just to be disgusting. Didn't need that much description for bodily fluids.

I think this author is just not for me.


Dear John... (Harlequin Temptation, No 488)
Dear John... (Harlequin Temptation, No 488)
Author: Lyn Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/1/2007


This was a good read. You really like John and you like Jenny (though perhaps to a slightly lesser degree).


1 to 20 of 99 - Page: