Sarah P. (jowy) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
All I Want... (Harlequin Blaze, No 221)
All I Want... (Harlequin Blaze, No 221)
Author: Isabel Sharpe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I needed a cigarette after this one, and I don't even smoke.

I did enjoy this story. It was a fun, very hot, quick read. I'll definitely be looking for more by this author.


All That Sparkles (Harlequin Intrigue, No 50)
All That Sparkles (Harlequin Intrigue, No 50)
Author: Stella Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/1/2007


Back cover:

Some people would kill for diamonds...

Paula Renfrew was proud to follow in her father's footsteps as a diamond finisher for the House of Kohl in Amsterdam. But years ago her father had been implicated in the theft of a valuable gem. And now that diamonds have begun to disappear again, Paula's motives for apprenticing at the family-run firm became suspect.

To Christophet St-Giles, the Kohl's lontime friend and banker, the evidence pointed to an inside job. But the deeper Christopher probed, the more entrenched Paula became in a dangerous situation that threatened her livelihood- and her life.

Now it was up to Paula to prove her innocence... before it was too late.


Bittersweet Marriage (Harlequin Presents, No 990)
Bittersweet Marriage (Harlequin Presents, No 990)
Author: Jeneth Murrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/2/2007


Back cover:

Manon Lucas, out of work for six months, with a young brother to support, was desperate. Why else would she have gone to an interview set up by powerful Stephen Vestris?

Steven Vestris! Their love affair three years ago had been idyllic--at first. Now she learned that Stephen, still angry at her walking out, had manipulated her into her present state of need.

His marriage proposal, just like a job, had to be accepted. She could be hurt again, Manon knew. That was the worst of loving a man like Stephen. It turned life upside down!


Fair Rose (Daughters of Liberty, Bk 2)
Fair Rose (Daughters of Liberty, Bk 2)
Author: Corinne Everett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/26/2007


Back cover:

Proud and headstrong, Lady Rose Fairchild refused to be married off in order to settle her family's debts. Having fled to the wilds of America, she's determined to take over her late father's Virginia plantation and run it on her own. She certainly didn't expect to fight a brazenly handsome American with deigns on Willow Oaks. Peter Walters is no English gentleman, and he has a low opinion of British beauties who overstep their bounds. So how can she explain the unmistakable attraction sparking between them- an attraction they're both reluctant to admit. Yet when her family conspires to whisk Rose back to England, she knows her heart belongs to Peter. Now it is Peter who must decide which matters most: a lust for land or a blossoming love with the woman who was meant for him.


The Financially Confident Woman
The Financially Confident Woman
Author: Mary Hunt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/19/2013


I don't normally review books, but this one I felt I had to.

This book is kind of a joke. It SHOULD be listed under religious books as well as women/financial category, because it seems everything this woman says in regards to money management has something to do with God.

This book is really intended for the older woman who grew up with the "men handle money" and "my husband will take care of everything" ideal of yesteryear. Women are not raised like that anymore, so this book is kind of pointless in that matter.

So if you're a woman looking for a book about money management, skip this one. Yes, it has a few tips and tricks that could be handy, but there are better books out there written by better qualified women that reach a broader audience and have more information than this one.


Hearts at Risk (Century of Romance: 1960s) (Harlequin American Romance, No 373 )
Review Date: 6/1/2007


Back cover:

Reporting for an underground newspaper, Jennifer Wright champions counterculture causes--and fears love's dangers. Test pilot Lij Branigan explores the limits of speed and performance in experimental jets--and struggled with his own private demons.

And on the day man takes his first steps on the moon, the anti-establishment journalist and the fearless top gun enter an unknown world--one that mingles age-old desire and space-age conflict.

Courageous and committed, Lij and Jennifer are part of the changes shaping America's headiest decade. But now they learn firsthand that the hardest changes to make are those made within.


Hide and Seek (Wright Family, Bk 2) (T-FLAC, Bk 3)
Hide and Seek (Wright Family, Bk 2) (T-FLAC, Bk 3)
Author: Cherry Adair
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 6/23/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This was one of, if not the, best romance novels I've ever read. Certainly the best contemporary I've read. Adair manages to make the story move with very witty writing, while keeping it on the fine line between being too fluffy or too hard.

Oh, and the sex scenes are HOT.


The Law and Ginny Marlow (Cutlers of the Shady Lady Ranch, Bk 4) (Silhouette Yours Truly, No 83)
Review Date: 6/1/2007


Back cover:

When city gal Ginny Marlow stormed into Serendipity, Montana, to bail out her little sister, she didn't expect to be sentenced herself--to ten days on Sheriff Quint Cutler's ranch! Or that 'doing time' with this laid-back lawman would completely unsettle her well-ordered life.

Quint knew just what Ginny and her sister needed. As for his own needs...After one all-consuming kiss, he couldn't help himself. He wanted Ginny in his arms forever. And soon he was building a case that even she couldn't resist!


Paige by Paige: A Year of Trading Spaces
Paige by Paige: A Year of Trading Spaces
Author: Paige Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 6/1/2007


I'm not much of a Trading Spaces fan. I watched it somewhat regularly when it first started (even before Paige was on it), but I haven't seen a whole episode in a few years. I am, however, a fan of Paige's because of her Broadway career, so I decided to pick up the book because of that. I should have known that it would be mostly about Trading Spaces, and not about Paige herself. It's a good read if you like the show, and it has some interesting bits if you like Paige, but don't expect much of a biographical piece in it.


Phantom in Time
Phantom in Time
Author: Eugenia Riley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The story itself is very good. I generally like time travel romance (in fact it's the only paranormal/fantasy romance I will read), but the writing itself leaves much to be desired. I can't really put a finger on what exactly was wrong, but it could've used quite a bit of editing and polishing, which is a shame, because as I said, the base story was very good, if a little bit dated.


Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry
Author: Mildred D. Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/1/2007


Back cover:

With the land to hold them together, nothing can tear the Logans apart.

Why is the land so important to Cassie's family? It takes the events of one turbulent year- the year of the night riders and the burnings, the year a white girl humiliates Cassie in public simply because she is black- to show Cassie that having a place of their own is the Logan family's lifeblood. It is the land that gives the Logans their courage and pride- no matter how others may degrade them, the Logans possess something no one can take away.


Second Chance
Second Chance
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/1/2007


Inside cover:

Eccentric high fashion meets buttoned-up Madison Avenue in Danielle Steel's captivating tale of two perfect-for-each-other people from two wildly different worlds. In a fresh, funny look at what happens when a woman who has everything finally meets her match, Danielle Steel proves that, in life and love, it's never too late for a second chance.

As editor-in-chief of New York's leading fashion magazine, Fiona Monaghan lived a life as hectic and high-toned as the fashion world itself, jetting back and forth between her stylish Manhattan brownstone and the couture shows of Europe. With closets stuffed with Fendi, a snoring bulldog named Sir Winston sharing her bed, and a houseman who favors gold lamé and borrows her shoes, Fiona was utterly content with her life. Until the sweltering June day John Anderson strolled into her office.

After a dinner date left them both wanting more, Fiona impulsively invited John to the Paris couture shows. And in the most romantic city in the world, somewhere between the magic of the runway and the stroll along the Seine, Fiona let this man into her heart. A widower with two daughters, John Anderson was nearly Fiona's opposite in every way. As conservative as she was freewheeling, John was both amused and appalled by Fiona's world of high-strung designers, anorexic models, and high-heeled housemen. But within weeks of their return to New York, John was making friends with Sir Winstonâand Fiona was making room in her closets.

It didn't take long for the dominoes to start falling. First, John introduced Fiona to his daughters, their bloodthirsty Pekingese, and a snarling housekeeper straight out of Hitchcock's Rebecca. It was hate at first sight. Then, after a dinner party with John's biggest client goes disastrously awry, Fiona and John's relationship began to unravel with alarming speed. What happens next will set Fiona on a journey filled with pain and revelation, awakening and change.â¦For when she returns to Paris alone and takes an amazing risk, an extraordinary series of events begins to unfold. And as the snow falls on the city of light, Fiona is about to get the surprise of her life: a second act she never saw coming.

In a dazzling tale of modern misadventures and career-crossed relationships, Danielle Steel brings us into the lives of two unforgettable people as they love and laugh, struggle and survive. With unerring insight, she captures the heady magic of instant attraction, the challenges of changeâand the hope that comes when we dare to do it all over again.


Small World
Small World
Author: David Lodge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/1/2007


Back cover:

They're academics, but their lives are anything but staid and stodgy. There's Persse, a young Galahad of a professor searching for his ideal woman; Morris Zapp, the American post-structuralist touting his latest paper: "Textuality as Striptease"; Fulvia Morgana, the Maserati-driving; anti-bourgeouis Italian professor; not to mention the mysterious, black-glovers Siegfried von Turpitz, among others. From Chicago to Ankara to Tokyo, they're chasing graduate students, seducing each other's spousesm and questing for the truth, good times, and the one glittering prize they all desire.


Sorry, Wrong Number (Silhouette Romance, No 931)
Review Date: 6/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Back cover:

Meg Porter was starting to think there wasn't a worthwhile person of the masculine persuasion left in Brooklyn Heights- not to mention the rest of New York City. And she knew it wasn't very bright to have an extremely intimate conversation with a wrong number- and then let him keep calling. But her faceless confidant was so unlike any man she'd ever met. Still, there was something to familiar about this guy's voice....

Nick Morgan was beginning to despair getting anywhere with Meg Porter, his gorgeous next-door neighbor. Then one night a wrong nimber kept him entranced for hours. And the conversation had Nick feeling confused- and disloyal. Funny thing though- there was something so familiar about this woman's voice...


Take Me (Take Me, Bk 1)
Take Me (Take Me, Bk 1)
Author: Bella Andre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 2/8/2009
Helpful Score: 6


Very steamy book, which I enjoyed because I like steamy books.

However, the heroine did get very annoying. Because she's a size 16 she's been teased all her life and has very low self-esteem, which hinders her relationship with the heroine. As a woman who is big (bigger than a size 16 even) she just came off as annoying. I was never as bad as she was, and the constant whining and asking "Am I good enough?" just became much too annoying nearing the end of the book.

I also love how the model on the cover is SO not even close to a size 16.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5268
Review Date: 7/6/2007
Helpful Score: 46


Definitely one of the best books I've ever read. True, the concept of the time-traveling takes a while to understand, and I don't think you fully do understand it, but I believe that's the whole point.

It truly is a wonderful and unique story. Such a tearjerker as well. Amazing amazing book.

If you start to read this and don't understand it, don't give it up right away. Give it a little while and you'll start to understand it and enjoy it.


Titanic: The Long Night
Titanic: The Long Night
Author: Diane Hoh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I gave up on this book after only a couple of chapters. It's so obvious it's a ripoff of the movie. The characters are almost the same: A young woman from a rich family who is to be married to a nice boring young man in New York, but falls in love with a young penniless artist. The only real difference is that their names are different and there seems to be another little plotline with some of the lower-class passengers.


To the Ends of the Earth (Avon Romance)
To the Ends of the Earth (Avon Romance)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Wonderful book. Extremely well-written. You can't help but love these characters. Wonderful contemporary romance.


Too Great a Temptation
Too Great a Temptation
Author: Alexandra Benedict
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 6/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I had trouble putting this book down. The plot is a little weak in spots, but the characters really drew me in. And there are quite a few steamy scenes in this that really hook you.


1 to 19 of 19