Cindy (summerlady46) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 45 - Page:
All Over But The Shoutin'
All Over But The Shoutin'
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/29/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This memoir of Rick Bragg's life with his mother has made me want to read everything else he has written. It is intensely sad, yet parts are funny as "all get-out". The sacrifices made by his mother are incredible, the writing is terrific, and the story is inspirational.


Aquamarine
Aquamarine
Author: Carol Anshaw
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Olympic swimmer Jesse Austin is seduced and consequently edged out for a gold medal by her Australian rival. From there, Anshaw intricately traces three possible paths for Jesse, spinning exhilarating variations on the themes of lost love and parallel lives unlived. Dorothy Allison, author of Bastard Out of Carolina, writes, "I found myself wishing I could buy a dozen copies and start a discussion group, just so I'd be able to debate all the questions this astonishing novel provokes." Excellent story, quick read, clever presentation of three different scenarios for a life.


Be True to Your School
Be True to Your School
Author: Bob Greene
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/25/2008


Frankly, I thought I would enjoy the heck out of this book since it spotlights the year that I too was in high school. However, it was more like a diary, not a very thrilling one at that, which became a little bogged down in detail. Not a bad read, just not one that I found worth finishing.


Billy Gashade : An American Epic
Billy Gashade : An American Epic
Author: Loren D. Estleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This historical fiction was written in wonderful, intelligent prose as it followed the protagonist through a highly adventurous life in the old West. Besides that, it was a nicely delivered history lesson. Loren D. Estleman is one heck of an entertaining writer.


Bloody Season
Bloody Season
Author: Loren D. Estleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/15/2009


Loren D. Estleman is a master of description once again in this historical fiction account of the shootout at the O.K. Corral, though it didn't really happen there, but rather a few hundred feet away. Full of characters such as Wyatt Earp and Doc Holliday and a couple dozen more, it is fascinating reading. The Wild West really was wild and wooly! Highly recommend this novel!


Charles Kuralt's American Moments
Charles Kuralt's American Moments
Author: Charles Kuralt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/27/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Two reasons for enjoying this book: First, it is one that can be read for a brief period, then put down, as each story is only a page or two (had to fit into 90 seconds of tv time. Second, Charles Kuralt's wonderment of this great country shines through in every miniature essay. I love his down-home tone and his ability to make each vignette come to life. Wonderfully readable!


Charlie the Caterpillar
Charlie the Caterpillar
Author: Dom De Luise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Charlie is dismissed by animals because of his ugliness and feels very hurt and left out, until his transformation into a beautiful butterfly makes them change their minds. This is a cute book with the underlying message that it shouldn't matter what one looks like in choosing friends. Nicely illustrated by Christopher Santoro, this book has a great message for children.


Cooking for Nitwits
Cooking for Nitwits
Author: J. Hurley, R. Wells
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/30/2008


A spoof of how-to cooking manuals, complete with wacky photos. I thought much of it was laugh-out-loud funny. Whoever dreamed this up is nutty in a good way!


Cooking with Memphis
Review Date: 7/29/2008


If I didn't already have so many cookbooks I'd definitely be keeping this one. Since I actually know many of the ladies who have submitted recipes, I can attest to the deliciousness of them!


Diary of a Frantic Kid Sister
Diary of a Frantic Kid Sister
Author: Hila Colman
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 9/4/2007


I liked this story because it related very much to my life & had very good descriptive scenes. The main character, Sarah, has many difficulties being the kid sister in a family. She has trouble getting along with her teenage sister, Didi. Sarah, no matter how much she hates her sister, has to learn to get along. If not, she'll have trouble getting along living with her grandparents.
Melissa, Jackson Heights Middle (Florida) Grade 8


The Diving Bell and the Butterfly (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: Jean-Dominique Bauby
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Felled by a stroke to the brain stem that left him victim of the 'locked-in syndrome', Bauby nevertheless managed to compose this remarkable memoir of his life before and after the calamity. I listened to the audio book read by Rene Auberjonois whose French accent lent credence to the author's words. This is undoubtedly one of the 20 best works I have ever read!! His use of words, descriptive phrases, similes and metaphors delighted my wordy brain. Hard to believe that someone in such dire cirumstances could be witty but he frequently was. What a great read!


Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Author: Alexandra Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 6/9/2009


Could there possibly have been a childhood more dissimilar from my own? That made this book fascinating and wonderful! Raised in Africa with her sister, her daredevil farm manager father, and her strong, hard-drinking, bi-polar mother, Bobo Fuller lived more adventures in 20 years than most people will in a lifetime.
Though the family was unusual, I wouldn't call it dysfunctional since they truly cared for each other and made the most of their life together. I highly recommend this memoir if for no other reason than to discover a foreign country through the eyes of those who lived there as ex-pats.


Dressing Up for the Carnival
Dressing Up for the Carnival
Author: Carol Shields
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Though short stories are not usually my favorite, I found this collection to be delightful. The language of Carol Shields is to be savored; sometimes I read wonderfully descriptive passages over and over. Just the tongue-in-cheek selection "Flatties and Their Various Forms and Uses" makes the book worthwhile!


Eden Close
Eden Close
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 250
Review Date: 11/30/2009


Begun in a way that immediately catches the reader's attention, this is a compelling story, made even more evocative by the use of spare language, leaving just the right amount to the reader's imagination. I love how Shreve revealed bits and pieces of the important event of 20 years prior as the story progressed. This is one book that I shall remember for a long while and recommend to others.


Edsel: (Detroit Crime, Bk 4)
Edsel: (Detroit Crime, Bk 4)
Author: Loren D. Estleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/29/2008


Perhaps living near Detroit has colored my opinion of this book, but I found it absolutely terrific. Written in the style of Raymond Chandler, Estleman gives his man Connie Minor a repertoire of clever and cynical remarks in tune with the rest of the cast. Though the plot was convoluted to the extent that I sometimes lost my way, I thoroughly enjoyed this book due to Estleman's metaphor and simile-packed language.


Freaky Friday (Andrews Family, Bk 1)
Freaky Friday (Andrews Family, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Rodgers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/4/2007


Like adventure books? Read Freaky Friday. Freaky Friday is a very interesting and funny book. Lindsay Lohan is Anna and Tess Colman is Anna?s mother. Her mother is very strict with her and her mother always wants the best for her mother. Tess needs to take care of their kids herself because her husband died, although she is soon getting married. Anna wants to be popular to every one. Anna?s brother is always messing around with her this annoys her. Anna likes playing in a band with her friends. Anna and her friends play in Anna?s garage. One day they receive the news that they want the band to give a concert. Anna is worried since is the mothers rehearsal dinner. Anna says this is no problem, she can handle it. Another problem occurs. One day they go to a Chinese restaurant. Anna and her mother fight because her mother doesn?t want to let her go to the rehearsal dinner. Anna and her mother had a fortune cookie. The fortune had the same message written in both fortune cookies. After the discussion an earthquake happens. They wake up the next morning and they have switched bodies How could they handle each other?s work and how are they going to pretend to be someone they are not? READ THE BOOK!! This is a very interesting and funny book. If you like adventure you should read it.
Review by "Holllitooo"


Frog and Toad Together
Frog and Toad Together
Author: Arnold Lobel
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Good variety of stories that my children enjoyed reading over and over.


The Gallery of Regrettable Food
The Gallery of Regrettable Food
Author: James Lileks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/30/2009


Like to read while you're eating like I do? Don't try it when reading THIS book. Unless you want an unpostable book when you are done due to food spewed on the pages during laughter. Lileks is one funny guy. Not one of those who tries too hard and it shows. He's just got a natural feel for what's humorous. And those photos! Hard to believe that any cook anywhere made that stuff! Very pleasant way to while away the afternoon before you have to hit the kitchen for real.


The Greatest Generation  (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
The Greatest Generation (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Tom Brokaw
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Perhaps I am a bit prejudiced, being the Baby Boomer daughter of an American soldier who fought in the Battle of the Bulge, but Tom Brokaw's wonderful reading of his book about World War Two survivors, both men and women, was one of the most moving books I have "read" in quite some time. Not at all dry as I had feared, it had humor, joy, disappointment, sadness in the stories Brokaw related of both famous and ordinary citizens. And I learned a great deal about those awful years that my dad, like so many other veterans, just couldn't talk about to those he loved.


Heartwood
Heartwood
Author: James Lee Burke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book partly because it was set in Texas near where we have spent some winter months several times; there were place names familiar to me. More than that though, the style of James Lee Burke really appeals to me. His descriptions are layered, he writes details that make the plot more colorful without really being absolutelu necessary, and he is loyal to his voice throughout the novel. Better have a notepad handy...I counted 20 characters in the first 90 pages or so. It's all about those details and fleshing out the whole story.

Though I usually read his novels starring Dave Robichaux, this was the first with Billy Bob Holland. While they have different professions and distinct personalities, their locales are not too far apart. The reader can tell, though, that Burke is familiar with both. I've finally learned that he tosses in a little nugget making the reader think he has missed something, then a bit later the connection is made. Burke is not an author to be read while one is multi-tasking!

I'd read Burke if he started writing on the backs of cereal boxes.


1 to 20 of 45 - Page: