Jessica D. (MTGirlAtHeart) - , - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
America's Boy: A Memoir
America's Boy: A Memoir
Author: Wade Rouse
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/29/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This is probably one of the best memoirs I've read in a long time. The author describes what he went through growing up as an overweight, gay boy in small-town America during the 60's & 70's. Even after moving away and losing all the weight, he still struggled with who he was and how others perceived him. A very honest and heartfelt story.


The Brutal Telling (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 5)
The Brutal Telling (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 5)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 12/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I've never read any of the other books in this series, nor have I read anything by this author, so I wasn't sure what to expect. I'm also not a regular visitor into the world of mysteries. That being said, I really enjoyed this book. Louise Penny does a great job of developing her characters and making you feel like you really know them, rather than just reading about them. I was hooked from the very first chapter and eager to find out how it would all play out!


Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Candy Girl: A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Author: Diablo Cody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 7/15/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was a fast and interesting read. However, I learned far more about strippers and "sex workers" than I ever wanted to know! Some parts were a little too graphic, but overall it was a good book!


Candy Girl : A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Candy Girl : A Year in the Life of an Unlikely Stripper
Author: Diablo Cody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/7/2009


This was a fast and interesting read. However, I learned far more about strippers and "sex workers" than I ever wanted to know! Some parts were a little too graphic, but overall it was a good book!


How to Never Look Fat Again: Over 1,000 Ways to Dress Thinner--Without Dieting!
Review Date: 5/20/2010
Helpful Score: 2


The great thing about this book is that it includes tips EVERYONE can use, whether or not you're overweight! It covers all the typical problem areas, such as wide hips & thighs, big booty, back fat, wide face, and buddha belly. It also includes sections for dressing in the summer, winter, and for working out. There are tons of tips for losing weight and "no fat shopping", plus plenty of photos to make all the ideas easy to understand.


I Survived Rumbuli
I Survived Rumbuli
Author: Frida Mikhelson, Frida Michaelson, Wolf Goodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/20/2009


This book tells the story of Frida, one of only two women to survive the massacre of over 30,000 Jews in the Rumbuli Forest. She was determined to live so that she could tell the story to others and the victims would not be forgotten.

As with any book about the Holocaust, a few parts were difficult to read, but it was definitely worth it.


An Inconvenient Elephant
An Inconvenient Elephant
Author: Judy Reene Singer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/8/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I haven't read the prequel to this book, Still Life With Elephant, so I wasn't sure what to expect. An Inconvenient Elephant turned out to be a really enjoyable book! I especially liked that the story began in Kenya and Zimbabwe, which really helped me to understand who the characters are and why they do what they do. Once I started reading, I had a hard time putting the book down. I'll definitely be on the lookout for the prequel now!


Little Black Dress
Little Black Dress
Author: Susan McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/6/2012


I really enjoyed this book, much more than I had been expecting to. The chapters switch off between the present, being told from Antonia's point of view, and the past, from her mother Evie's perspective. Fifty years ago Evie's sister disappeared the night before she was to be married, after putting on a mysterious black dress & seeing a vision about the future. Her actions & the black dress will affect her family & their fates for years after she is gone. This is a wonderful story about love & family, with a little bit of magic thrown in to the mix.


Mistaken Identity: Two Families, One Survivor, Unwavering Hope
Review Date: 5/20/2010


It's amazing what these two families went through. Yet they never lost their faith in God and have chosen to share their stories. I highly recommend it; just be sure to have a box of tissues ready!


The Peach Keeper
The Peach Keeper
Author: Sarah Addison Allen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 1/17/2013


Sarah Addison Allen is my absolute favorite author, so I was excited to read The Peach Keeper. While I didn't enjoy it as much as her other books, I did find myself staying up late at night to finish it. It seems to be lacking some of the "magic" that Allen's other books have, but I do love that a character from Garden Spells made an appearance in this book. Overall, if you've enjoyed other books by this author then I think this one is worth reading.


Playground : A Childhood Lost Inside the Playboy Mansion
Playground : A Childhood Lost Inside the Playboy Mansion
Author: Jennifer Saginor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 9/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I was rather disappointed by this book. I was expecting it to be about a childhood spent living at the Playboy Mansion, but it was really more focused on the drugs she used, who she slept with, and naming as many famous people as she could. You learn a lot about her highly dysfunctional family, but there are a lot of better memoirs to be read if that's what you're interested in.


Soldier Boy: At Play in the ASA
Soldier Boy: At Play in the ASA
Author: Timothy James Bazzett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/28/2009


Having not read Bazzett's first memoir Reed City Boy, I didn't know what to expect. I usually enjoy reading about the lives and experiences of others. However, I found myself having to force my way through this book. The foul language was somewhat of a turn-off, although I'm sure it was necessary to preserve the authenticity of the story. I believe there is a specific audience who would enjoy this story, unfortunately it just didn't appeal to me.


uncharted terriTORI
uncharted terriTORI
Author: Tori Spelling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 11/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I've been a Tori Spelling fan ever since the first season of her reality show aired on TV. I thoroughly enjoyed both of her previous books. Unfortunately, I was extremely disappointed with this book. I found it to be rather boring and kind of all over the place. She jumps from one topic to another so often that I had a hard time keeping track of what she was even talking about. And if you've watched the most recent season of her show, you have already seen almost everything that is mentioned in this book. Definitely don't waste your money buying it!


Uninvited
Uninvited
Author: Amanda Marrone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 11/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I honestly had to force myself to finish this book. It's about a teenage girl named Jordan & her deceased ex-boyfriend who has become a vampire. The majority of the story focuses on him sitting outside her window, wanting her to invite him in. I know this is a young-adult book, but it just seemed so juvenile and amateur. I'm sure there are some teenagers who would enjoy the simple story line, but at the same time, I'm not sure I would want my teenager reading a book that puts so much focus on doing drugs, getting drunk, and sleeping with random guys....If you're looking for a young-adult vampire story, there are plenty that are much better than this one. Don't waste your time on it!


1 to 14 of 14