Linda B. (24racefan) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
After Innocence (Delanzas, Bk 2)
After Innocence (Delanzas, Bk 2)
Author: Brenda Joyce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 6/11/2012


Edward and Sofie's love for each other is so obvious to the reader, but misunderstandings, anger and family interference nearly allow their love to slip away. I loved the book. Sofie goes from being an eccentric recluse who never wants to marry, to an unwed mother who moves to Paris to study her art. The story will keep you turning the pages until you get what you've been waiting for the whole time. The writing is excellent.


Angel's Rest (Eternity Springs, Bk 1)
Angel's Rest (Eternity Springs, Bk 1)
Author: Emily March
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 5/1/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The first in the Eternity Springs series, this is the story of Nik and Gabe. Gabe is an emotionally wounded soul who at times wants to escape from life itself. With the help of Nik (and her support from her friends) Gabe is able to come to terms with his traumatic past and move on to a new life.
Although the Eternity Springs books are stand alone stories, I wish I had read this book first because it offered insight to what follows in book 2 and 3. For your own enjoyment I would suggest reading them in order. It was a good story and I liked it a lot.


At Hidden Falls (Angel's Bay, Bk 4)
At Hidden Falls (Angel's Bay, Bk 4)
Author: Barbara Freethy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/14/2012


Isabella is drawn to Angel's Bay by a necklace her brother, the chief of Police in Angels Falls, sent her. He had found the necklace in the basement of his house and thought it was the color of Isabella's eyes. On the way there, Isabella was run off the road and slid off a cliff. Nick saw the accident and rescued Isabella and their story begins. Complicating matters is Nick's estranged teen-age daughter who has recently come to live with him.
Annie's story is also continued in this book. She is the mother of a newborn baby she is considering giving up for adoption. Annie suddently disappears while on a trip to the store one day and this puts the whole town on edge.
I loved the story and can't wait to read the next in the series of Angel's Bay books.


At the King's Command (Tudor Rose, Bk 1)
At the King's Command (Tudor Rose, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 11/27/2009


I really enjoyed this book even though I was unsure about it at first.


Beach Colors: A Novel
Beach Colors: A Novel
Author: Shelley Noble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/20/2013


I loved this book. It was the story of a NYC fashion designer who lost everything as a result of a husband who stole all of her money and her business. She moved home to Conn. and started over, but had to decide whether she wanted to stay in her home town and have a new type of career or return to NYC. You could probably call the book predictable, but I love this type of story. It shows that people can start over, but be sure of what you want before you wish for something.


Beach Lane (Chesapeake Shores, Bk 7)
Beach Lane (Chesapeake Shores, Bk 7)
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 10/1/2012


This was a very good book. It is the story of Susie and Mack and the ins and outs of their relationship and what it really means to them both. There are many tear jerking moments if you like those kinds of stories (which I do). If you like Sherryl Woods I'm sure you'll love this one too.


Blue Bayou (Callahan Brothers, Bk 1)
Blue Bayou (Callahan Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: JoAnn Ross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 7/23/2011


If the other two Callahan Brothers Trilogy books I have sitting on my shelf are as good as this one, I will be a very happy reader. I have been longing for a good love story with lots of emotion and Blue Bayou certainly brought that to me. I will definitely be looking forward to more JoAnn Ross books.


Carrie and Me: A Mother-Daughter Love Story
Carrie and Me: A Mother-Daughter Love Story
Author: Carol Burnett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/25/2015


This is a lovely mother-daughter love story which brought me to tears several times. Who among us does not know Carol Burnett? But do we really know what her real life was like? Her daughter, Carrie, had some early difficulties with addiction but she luckily had a supportive family and the willingness to get clean.

Carrie was definitely a different sort of person but then again I guess you might say her mother was too. It was obvious to me from reading the book which is a series of e-mails between Carrie and her mother, that Carrie was a very talented and artistic person. She had quite a bit of success before her untimely death of lung cancer. The second portion of the book was an unfinished book that Carrie had been writing. She had hoped her mom might finish the story for her, but Carol found it impossible to know the direction Carrie would have taken and chose instead to write this book about her daughter instead. I enjoyed the book a great deal.


Christmas in Eternity Springs (Eternity Springs, Bk 12)
Christmas in Eternity Springs (Eternity Springs, Bk 12)
Author: Emily March
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/14/2017


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was so uplifting and hopeful to see how people can get over their obstacles that cause them sadness and have a happy life. Loved it. You don't have to wait for Christmas to read it.


Crystal Cove (Friday Harbor, Bk 4)
Crystal Cove (Friday Harbor, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 12/11/2013


I really liked this book, It touched a little on witchcraft but was not weird. Most of all it was about a young woman, Justine, who wanted to experience real love, but had not been able to because of a spell her own mother had cast on her. The story tells how she went about removing the spell and how she found her dream man. It was very erotic in parts.


Dead Silence (Stillwater Trilogy, Bk 1)
Dead Silence (Stillwater Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Brenda Novak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 9/20/2017


I just finished Dead Silence by Brenda Novak. It is not a new book but it was a very good read. It is about a woman who has been emotionally damaged and is trying to live a normal life. But there is a family secret that is causing great distress. I can't wait to read the next volume in this trilogy.


Dream Country
Dream Country
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/26/2012


Dream Country is the best book I have read in quite a long time. Luanne Rice knows how to expertly draw you into the story and make you attach yourself to the characters as their emotions spill out onto the pages. You cannot help but become involved in their story. Some themes that struck me particularly were: sisterly love, love and devotion between horse and rider after many years absencd. amd the realities of life on a cattle ranch in the west.

The story itself was about a couple who lose one of their 3 year old twins and how their lives split apart for the next 13 years.


Folly Beach (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 8)
Folly Beach (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 8)
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/28/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book. Although it is a little different than some of Dorothea Benton Frank's books and took a little bit to get into it I felt it was a good read. I would suggest reading the author's nopte in the back of the book before you start. It will give you a little insight into the connection Dorothea felt with these people she is writing about. There is real life history behind this story.


The Four Seasons
The Four Seasons
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/17/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Another very good book by Mary Alice Monroe. A story of sisters who grew apart after a family tragedy and how they are able to reunite as a family again with new understanding about each other.


Guilty Wives
Guilty Wives
Author: James Patterson, David Ellis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 6/12/2013


This story was riveting from beginning to end. I became very emotionally involved with the story and the characters, especially Abbie. A great read.


Hummingbird Lake (Eternity Springs, Bk 2)
Hummingbird Lake (Eternity Springs, Bk 2)
Author: Emily March
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 11/22/2011


This was a wonderful story of a young woman who has been through some very traumatic events that have left her broken and how she eventually faces the challenges from her friends and her lover to begin the healing process and enjoy the life that lies ahead for her. I loved it.


In Shelter Cove (Angel's Bay, Bk 3)
In Shelter Cove (Angel's Bay, Bk 3)
Author: Barbara Freethy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 10/13/2012


I can't get enough of the Angel's Bay books by Barbara Freethy. I am amazed at how the author is able to create such moving stories and connect them to the shipwreck long ago which led to the founding of the town of Angel's Bay. Many of the characters from the previous books make an appearance here, but this story is about Brianna, her son, Lucas, and Derek, the husband and father who has died in prison after being convicted of stealing art from the local gallery. Brianna sets out to clear Derek's name and as you might expect, the truth comes out in the end.


The Island
The Island
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/29/2013


I do enjoy Elin Hilderbrand. This was truly a book about life and relationships. Two sisters, their mother and aunt decide to spend a month on a small island at the family vacation home with only a generator for meager electricity and a camp stove to cook on. Each of the characters in the story had their own (sometimes tragic) story about their relationships with men and during the time on the island each woman eventually comes to terms with her past and moves on to what she hopes will be better times to come.


Jewels of the Sun / Tears of the Moon / Heart of the Sea (Irish Trilogy)
Jewels of the Sun / Tears of the Moon / Heart of the Sea (Irish Trilogy)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/23/2012


Three excellent Irish love stories. Roberts' storytelling really brings you to Ireland and its magic, music and myth. In each of these 3 stories she weaves the tale of finding true love for each of the Gallagher siblings who run the local pub. In may be that little bit of Irish in me that had me believing in faerie princes, magic and Irish legends.


Love With a Perfect Cowboy (Cupid, Texas, Bk 4)
Love With a Perfect Cowboy (Cupid, Texas, Bk 4)
Author: Lori Wilde
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/8/2015


I don't normally go for books with a hunky cowboy on the cover, but this book was quite good. It was the story of feuding families in Cupid, Texas who just couldn't get over the past and move on--even a couple who were in love with each other. I also discovered an author I will look to again for a good story.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: