Linda B. (24racefan) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 42 - Page:
Low Country
Low Country
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 4/2/2011


Low Country is an emotional struggle for Caro Venable between loyalty to her husband and his business and preserving the beautiful Low Country island which is part of her heritage.


Magnolia Moon (Callahan Brothers Trilogy, 3)
Magnolia Moon (Callahan Brothers Trilogy, 3)
Author: JoAnn Ross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 8/10/2011


I enjoyed the third of the Callahan Brothers Trilogy--Magnolia Moon very much. Like the other Callahan books, the setting was in Louisiana in bayou country. But like the other stories people were drawn into the fold from other parts of the country. I have come to love JoAnn Ross' story telling very much. There is just the right amount of sexy spice along with some kind of an emotional upheaval in various people's lives.


The Man from Stone Creek (Stone Creek, Bk 1)
The Man from Stone Creek (Stone Creek, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 325
Review Date: 4/22/2012


This was a very good westerm romance novel. The setting was 1903 in the Arizona Territory. There was lots of action (stagecoach robbery, murders, and struggles for ordinary people trying to make a living in the west), but it truly was a love story with just the right amount of spice.


Marrying Daisy Bellamy (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 8)
Marrying Daisy Bellamy (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 8)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 11/27/2011


Susan Wiggs dedicated this book to her readers for inspiring her to tell Daisy's story. I am so glad she did. She sent Daisy down a tumultuous path of love and heartache that will make you shed tears, I am sure, but you'll pull for Daisy all along the way. Absolutely loved it!


Mistletoe Reunion (Love Inspired, No 473) (Larger Print)
Mistletoe Reunion (Love Inspired, No 473) (Larger Print)
Author: Anna Schmidt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/8/2012


Five years ago Tom and Norah were divorced. Their now 13 year old daughter is trying to get them back together as a family again. Circumstances bring the three together at Christmas time and Tom and Norah begin to realize that maybe they made a mistake and should try agan. This is a Christmas story full of love and hope. A love inspired store for sure but a really nice book to read at Christmas time. It makes you wonder if others in this world shouldn't try to make the efforts to keep their families together.


Night Passage  (Jesse Stone, Bk 1)
Night Passage (Jesse Stone, Bk 1)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 6/11/2010


I have grown the like Parker's Jesse Stone books a great deal and intend to try to read the whole series.


The Ocean Between Us
The Ocean Between Us
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 4/21/2010


A very touching story of a navy family and their struggles and accomplishments and how they grow used to living two separate lives--one when the ship is in and another when the ship is out. Susan Wiggs gives great insight into the sacrifices that navy (and all our armed forces)personnel and their families make to help keep us all safe. I loved the book.


Old MacDonald Had A Farm (Spin A Song Storybook)
Old MacDonald Had A Farm (Spin A Song Storybook)
Author: Playmore (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/30/2013


My 18 month old grandson really likes this book. The colors are bright and the story simple. The wheels on each page are fun for a little one. In fact I have ordered all four of the books in that series and he loves them all.


One Summer
One Summer
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 7/5/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book by David Baldacci was quite a departure from others I have read by him. This story was truly what I would call a tear-jerker and I loved it. There is love, tragedy, sorrow, defeat, and hopelessness but in the end there is love again and a family moves on. It was very enjoyable to read.


Outlaw Mountain (Joanna Brady, Bk 7)
Outlaw Mountain (Joanna Brady, Bk 7)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 12/19/2013


I have only recently discovered these Joanna Brady novels by JA Jance and I really like them. Joanna is a sheriff in Arizona who is always finding some kind trouble to get to the bottom of. The books are definitely slanted towards women readers (I think), but my husband reads them too. I'm sure it would be best to read them in order but you don't have to.


Redwood Bend (Virgin River, Bk 18)
Redwood Bend (Virgin River, Bk 18)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 5/31/2012


It is amazing the way Robyn Carr can come up with new storylines and characters for her Virgin River books. I really enjoyed this story of family ties and love. I can certainly expect (as another reviewer stated) more about Katie and Dylan in books to come as they start their life together as a family.


Second Chance Pass (Virgin River, Bk 5)
Second Chance Pass (Virgin River, Bk 5)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 12/24/2009


I absolutely loved this tale of love, loss, and friendship. I was in tears several times reading this book. It left me anticipating the next book in the Virgin River series. It's no wonder that readers often ask the author, Robyn Carr, if Virgin River is a real place. We'd all live there if it was.


Southern Lights
Southern Lights
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 5/14/2011


I found Southern Lights to be one of Steel's better books in recent years. The setting was partly in NYC and partly in Charleston, S.C., and I love books about South Carolina. It is a story about relationships, lost love, new love, etc., but also about An Assistant D.A. out to convict a murderer. I would have liked the book better had there been a little more drama to the court trial--it was predictable, but all in all it was a very good story and I enjoyed it.


State of the Union (Scot Harvath, Bk 3)
State of the Union (Scot Harvath, Bk 3)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 8/18/2011


I guess what I enjoyed about the State of the Union as well as other books by Brad Thor, is that the stories do actually seems realistic. I can only hope that they are not real. That would scare me. Brad Thor has a way of writing about the U.S. and its place in the world and its struggles to stay on top that just keeps you turning page after page to see what happens next. He delves into espionage and downright hostile enemies who could threaten our livelihood at any time or any place. A very good read.


The Stud
The Stud
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 6/2/2011


This book was a love story with a couple of little twists. Very enjoyable read.


Suddenly One Summer (Angel's Bay, Bk 1)
Suddenly One Summer (Angel's Bay, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Freethy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 9/9/2012


I liked this book right from the beginning. Jenna is an intriguing character whose real story I can't wait to read about. Reid, who has come to Angel's Bay to write a story about the angel sightings, has a story of his own and some demons to get rid of. Police Chief Joe (and his absent wife) is another interesting character whom I expect to hear more about in the next Angel's Bay book. If you don't believe in angels before you read this book, I bet you will when you are finished. I can't wait to get into the next book in this series.


Summer of Roses (Summer's Child, Bk 2)
Summer of Roses (Summer's Child, Bk 2)
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 5/1/2011


I found Summer of Roses by Luanne Rice to be a very enjoyable read. This was a tale of not one but two love stories and a lot of life's not so pleasant realities. I really love a story that brings me to tears and Summer of Roses did that more than once.


Table for Five
Table for Five
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 5/19/2012


Although I could tell what was going to happen in this book just by reading the snippets on the back cover, it was a very well-written book. As the story progresses, the gut-wrenching reality happens and Lily and Sean are thrown together to take care of the children left homeless by a tragic accident. They embark on a wonderful adverture together. Some would call this book very predictable, but I thoroughly enjoyed it just the same.


A Turn in the Road (Blossom Street, Bk 8)
A Turn in the Road (Blossom Street, Bk 8)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 5/6/2012


As I read this book I became very interested in finding out how things would end up for Bethanne, Annie, and Ruth. The story is about these three women--a mother, her daughter, and the mother's ex-mother-in-law who have embarked on a road trip across the country. Each one of them had some soul searching to do about their relationships with the men in their lives either at present or in the past. I enjoyed the story very much and Debbie MaComber kept be guessing right up until the end about how Bethanne, in particular, would figure out what she needed to do.


Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption
Review Date: 11/9/2015
Helpful Score: 1


This book is quite possibly the best non-fiction book I have ever read. It truly is (as the book cover says) a story of survival, resilience, and redemption. I could hardly believe the terrible way Louis Zamperini and other POW's were treated in prison camps in Japan during WWII. Louis' was just an amazing person and the story was so well written by Laura Hillenbrand that it was easy to read. Finishing this book just a few days before Veterans Day has given me a renewed feeling of gratitude for all members of our military--past and present.


21 to 40 of 42 - Page: