Carol C. (cmcav04) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
A Defense for the Dead
A Defense for the Dead
Author: Michael Fredrickson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/18/2008


I truly enjoyed this book. Many unexpected twists and turns. The further you read on, the better it gets. You won't be disappointed!


The Dog Is Not a Toy: House Rule #4
The Dog Is Not a Toy: House Rule #4
Author: Darby Conley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 1/27/2008


So cute and funny!!!


Education of Harriet Hatfield
Education of Harriet Hatfield
Author: May Sarton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/28/2008


Sad, yet inspiring. I loved it!


Flying in Place
Flying in Place
Author: Susan Palwick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/25/2008


This one will stay with me for a long time to come.


The Girl Next Door
The Girl Next Door
Author: Jack Ketchum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 2/15/2008


A bit harsh. Based on a true story. Sickened me on that thought alone.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3373
Review Date: 4/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


If you liked 'Running With Scissors' you'll love this one!! Will not say more for fear of spoiling it... an absolute must-read.


I'm Not Julia Roberts
I'm Not Julia Roberts
Author: Laura Ruby
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/22/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I truly loved this book! I enjoyed it so much that I read it all in one sitting. It's an honest look at step-parenting.


Jackson & Perkins Beautiful Roses Made Easy: Southwestern Edition
Review Date: 2/25/2008


Beautiful book!


Lust Killer
Lust Killer
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 2/12/2008


Made me become more aware of my surroundings. You never know "what" may be lurking around the corner, or down the street in your own neighborhood! Ann Rule puts you there as though it were taking place right before your eyes. Scary stuff.


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 921
Review Date: 1/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book! Once I started reading, it was hard to put down. Too bad I missed Oprah's interview with Jeffrey Eugenides.


Midwives
Midwives
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/20/2008


A bit disappointed with the outcome. Really don't see why it was one of Oprah's Book Club selection.


Off Season
Off Season
Author: Jack Ketchum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 2/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book in one sitting (hard to put down). Very intense and graphic! Looking forward to reading THE GIRL NEXT DOOR and other works.


The People Next Door: A Novel of Suspense
The People Next Door: A Novel of Suspense
Author: Caroline Crane
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/4/2008


I loved this book! It is well written and kept me in suspense up until the very end. All is not as it appears, very mysterious. Looking forward to reading more of Caroline Crane's work. A definite "2" thumbs up!!


The Perks of Being a Wallflower
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author: Stephen Chbosky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 575
Review Date: 1/20/2008


WOW! This book left me speechless. Unexpected ending. A definite MUST read.


Postmortem  (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 1)
Postmortem (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 1/20/2008


This is the one that got me hooked!


Predator  (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 14)
Predator (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 14)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 532
Review Date: 11/17/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This one tends to drag on but a must read if you like to keep up with Kay, Benton, Lucy and Marino. A very interesting look into the mind of a serial killer.


The Reader
The Reader
Author: Bernhard Schlink, Carol Brown Janeway
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/20/2008


Loved it!! Book is in three parts. Picks up in the Second with unexpected twists and turns. Won't disappoint.


Running with Scissors
Running with Scissors
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2402
Review Date: 1/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


My first Burroughs read. Loved it! Inspiring to see he rose above it all. Looking forward to reading his other work!


The Scandalous Summer of Sissy LeBlanc
The Scandalous Summer of Sissy LeBlanc
Author: Loraine Despres
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 5/4/2008


I loved reading this book! Very entertaining and hard to put down. Hard to believe it was a first for this author.


Sights Unseen
Sights Unseen
Author: Kaye Gibbons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/20/2008


A page-turner! Read it in a few hours. Excellent story told from a child's perspective.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: