DiAnna F. (bestamor) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
And the Shofar Blew
And the Shofar Blew
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 4/1/2011


This was my first Francine Rivers book and I am hooked. It made me want to be more like Abby and Eunice by the time I finished. I'm so happy she has written several books because I plan to be reading many more of her writings in the future.


Answer Them Nothing: Bringing Down the Polygamous Empire of Warren Jeffs
Review Date: 1/16/2015


This is a very in-depth book on the history and legal wrangling that has gone on over a very touchy subject in the states of Utah, Arizona and Texas. It is very informative of a closed, sick society. What this man has done to ruin the lives of so many is unbelievable. The book gets into all the legal motions and court hearings to prevent the states from moving forward and how devious the FLDS can be toward outsiders. This is a very educational book if you are interested in the subject.


The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
Author: Barbara Robinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/3/2013


This is a laugh out loud book. It was a Weekly Reader book so was written from the experience of a young girl about a really rough and tough family of kids who take over the annual Christmas pageant. If you want a quick read that will tickle your funny bone then read this one.


Betrayed
Betrayed
Author: Stan Telchin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/3/2012


This was an exceptional book. As a Christian seeking a deeper understanding of my belief that began with Jewish roots I found this book so helpful. As Stan learned we can't understand the New Testament without understanding the Old Testament. This is a fun and fast read. Great story.


Blood Hollow (Cork O'Connor, No 4)
Blood Hollow (Cork O'Connor, No 4)
Author: William Kent Krueger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 3/5/2014


Another well written book by William Kent Krueger. He makes Cork O'Connor and everyone in the book every day people. He has a way of keeping me guessing Who-dun-it until the very end. His books are easy to read and will hold your interest all the way through.


Broken (P.S.)
Broken (P.S.)
Author: Daniel Clay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/15/2011


I like how the author weaves the different characters together to show how the actions of one person can affect others in so many ways. I thought it was a great read.


The Couple Next Door
The Couple Next Door
Author: Shari Lapena
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 4/26/2017


Great plot with lots of twists and a surprise ending besides.


The Devil in Pew Number Seven
The Devil in Pew Number Seven
Author: Rebecca N. Alonzo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 7/22/2012


Exceptional book. The people I need to forgive in my life are saints compared to the ones Rebecca forgave. If we all would learn the lessons from this book the world would be a better place.


Empire Falls
Empire Falls
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 629
Review Date: 11/30/2016


This was a very enjoyable read. Most books make the characters so perfect in appearance but Russo made the characters believable and not one was perfect. It's a story that goes into the past and back to the present to bring the whole story together. I definitely want to read more of his books.


The Eve of Destruction : The Untold Story of the Yom Kippur War
The Eve of Destruction : The Untold Story of the Yom Kippur War
Author: Howard Blum
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/3/2015


Howard Blum always does such good research for his books. This book gave the view from Syria, Egypt and Israel before and during the Yom Kippur war. Anyone interested in middle east history will enjoy this book.


Exodus
Exodus
Author: Leon Uris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 2/21/2013


This is the first book I've read by this author. It is a wonderful historic novel of the birth of the nation Israel. Don't let the small print and many pages discourage you. It held my attention from beginning to end. Besides a good novel I also learned a lot about the toughness of the early pioneers of Israel many years before it became a nation. If you are a lover of the history of Israel I highly recommend this book.


First Person Plural : My Life as a Multiple
First Person Plural : My Life as a Multiple
Author: Cameron West
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/23/2014


This was a stay up all night book. I loved his humor in the face of trouble and I highly recommend this book. He was blessed to have such an understanding wife who guided and supported him through his discovery and therapy. Hopefully this book will help others understand, too.


Free to Be Me: A Journey through Fear to Freedom
Free to Be Me: A Journey through Fear to Freedom
Author: Betty Robison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/8/2012


I think most women will be able to relate to Betty Robison's self doubt. It's amazing how God took this shy young woman into a public life that ministers to millions.


The Gold of Exodus: The Discovery of the True Mount Sinai
The Gold of Exodus: The Discovery of the True Mount Sinai
Author: Howard Blum
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/31/2014


This was an exciting book. It is a true story written as a novel. It certainly brought the reality of the exodus to light. It also opened my eyes to the oasis the Israelites camped at and the caves of Jethro. It will cause me to read the exodus with new eyes. A must read for anyone who loves the Old Testament stories.


A Green Journey
A Green Journey
Author: Jon Hassler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/19/2015


I read this book out of order by reading Dear James first. That did not remove the enjoyment of the book. I found myself laughing out loud over the mishap of a priest and a bishop going to the hospital after eating mushrooms. A great old fashioned read as Jon Hassler always delivers.


He Killed Them All: Robert Durst and My Quest for Justice
He Killed Them All: Robert Durst and My Quest for Justice
Author: Jeanine Pirro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/27/2017


Very well written book about a cold case from 1982 and new cases involving the same person. Judge Jeanine wrote the book about her search for justice. She not only gives credit where credit is due but names ones she believes were a detriment to solving the case. After reading this book watch the documentary The Jinx for a visual of what transpired.


The Last Jew of Rotterdam
The Last Jew of Rotterdam
Author: Ernest Cassutto
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/30/2012


This is a very interesting book. It's an easy read about how God worked in the lives of Jewish people during WWII and how they came to know Jesus as Messiah. A wonderful tribute to this amazing family.


The Lion's Gate: On the Front Lines of the Six Day War
The Lion's Gate: On the Front Lines of the Six Day War
Author: Steven Pressfield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/24/2018


I really enjoyed this book. It had a different take from other books on the Six Day War because it was all interviews with men and women who were there and experienced it first hand. It also showed how vulnerable they were by not knowing their way around Jerusalem when they took the city. Great read.


Looking for Salvation at the Dairy Queen
Looking for Salvation at the Dairy Queen
Author: Susan Gregg Gilmore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 8/11/2018


Great book on how we change our thinking on life as we go along. I also like that it showed the human side of people, including her father/minister. This was a nice read with a little southern faith woven in. I hope we will see more books by Susan Gregg Gilmore.


A Man Called Ove
A Man Called Ove
Author: Fredrik Backman, Henning Koch (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 4/26/2017


I loved Ove. He was not only grumpy but lonely and as so many people like him, deep inside he had a heart of gold. The treasure of this book is the author does not come right out and give details but builds the story page by page until you fall in love with A Man Called Ove.


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: