Reviews - Magretta Y. (buzzreader)

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
Adventures of a Salsa Goddess
Adventures of a Salsa Goddess
Author: JoAnn Hornak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"Fun book, not great literature!"


Bleachers
Bleachers
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 611
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"I've enjoyed his lawyer books more."


The Booster
The Booster
Author: Jennifer Solow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 8/15/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I was oddly drawn to this book. The first couple of pages put me off with the proliferation of high fashion designer names thrown about. Soon you find out it is about a poor little rich girl who shoplifts to fill a hole inside.

But I couldn't put it down. Interesting characters, well written, and a plot that kept moving. I enjoyed it much more than I would have imagined!"


Crime School (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 6)
Crime School (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 6)
Author: Carol O'Connell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/10/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really liked this book. There are interesting twists and turns and information about Mallory we didn't hear before. O'Connell is my new favorite author. I am devouring every one of her books (and sharing them with others!)"


Dave Barry's Complete Guide to Guys
Dave Barry's Complete Guide to Guys
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"Funny"


The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street
The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street
Author: Helene Hanff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"Enchanting."


Essential Managers: Managing Budgets
Essential Managers: Managing Budgets
Author: Stephen Brookson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"Short book. Good for entry level."


Hill Towns
Hill Towns
Author: Anne Rivers Siddons
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"I enjoyed the characters and wished I had been to Italy!"


How to Find Romance After 40
How to Find Romance After 40
Author: Julia Grice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"Some good thoughts, and doesn't put "older" women down."


How to Make an American Quilt
How to Make an American Quilt
Author: Whitney Otto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 6/3/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book touched me. I resonated with the relationships that were represented. I even tried to get my husband to read it, but he couldn't get into it."


The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 649
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"Grisham's style seemed different while writing this story. A bit more disjointed, but still enjoyable."


Killing Critics (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 3)
Killing Critics (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 3)
Author: Carol O'Connell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"I just found these Mallory books a few weeks ago and I want to read them all!"


Killing Critics (Kathleen Mallory Novels)
Killing Critics (Kathleen Mallory Novels)
Author: Carol O'Connell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/5/2009


"Carol O'Connell's books are my favorite literary discoveries for a long time! I can't put any of them down once I pick them up, and I keep telling other people about them. Kathleen Mallory is an interesting woman with a mysterious past that has molded her in ways no one completely understands and the reader is only treated to glimpses in novels, each revealing a little more. I have three more to read and I am pacing myself, because I enjoy them so much and I don't want to finish them. In fact I have enjoyed them so much that I am now going back and replacing my paperbacks with hardcovers so that I can continue to loan them out.

Killing Critics has an interesting, complicated plot with further revelations about Mallory."


The King of Torts
The King of Torts
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 922
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"Good Grisham"


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5599
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"Made me cry..."


Mallory's Oracle (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 1)
Mallory's Oracle (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 1)
Author: Carol O'Connell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 5/26/2009


"I found this book and her second book, "The Man Who Cast Two Shadows" at a thrift store. I gobbled up the first one, and then the second one. The characters are unique. They aren't people you meet on a daily basis, and the books had me wanting more information about them to figure them out. I've loaned the book to a friend who passed it on to her daughter, so I bought my daughter another copy!"


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1439
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"It was okay, and was an easy read."


Modern Man in Search of a Soul
Modern Man in Search of a Soul
Author: Carl Jung
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"Good for understanding Jungian psychology as it relates to todays world."


Murder at the Watergate (Capital Crimes, Bk 15)
Murder at the Watergate (Capital Crimes, Bk 15)
Author: Margaret Truman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"I just picked this book and had no idea what it would be like. I throughly enjoyed it. A real page turner."


A New Song (Mitford Years, Bk 5)
A New Song (Mitford Years, Bk 5)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 6/3/2009


"The Mitford books always seem "gentle" to me. Easy and enjoyable to read."


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: