Maria C. - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Busy Bear Celebrates Christmas (Busy Bear Book)
Busy Bear Celebrates Christmas (Busy Bear Book)
Author: Hartmut Bieber
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/27/2013


My two year old and I enjoy the Busy Bear books - there are lots of little details to notice in the pictures.


Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1431
Review Date: 1/15/2008


I really did not enjoy this book. I like the concept but I found the story tedious and the language awkward.


Dark Tide : The Great Boston Molasses Flood of 1919
Dark Tide : The Great Boston Molasses Flood of 1919
Author: Stephen Puleo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/15/2011


A fascinating story! My father swears he remembers being able to smell molasses years later in the North End of Boston when he was growing up. The writing style reminded me of "A Civil Action" - a true story written like a suspense novel, with very real characters.


Good Grief
Good Grief
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 380
Review Date: 11/14/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Even though it's a depressing subject - a woman's grief after the death of her husband - it's a very funny book with a lovable heroine. I loved all the comments about having curly hair!


The Lost Painting
The Lost Painting
Author: Jonathan Karr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/14/2007


This book is really interesting - even if you aren't into art, it's a fascinating story.


My Dream of You
My Dream of You
Author: Nuala O'Faolain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/2/2007


About an Irish woman going through a kind of mid-life crisis. It was interesting to learn about Irish History and English-Irish politics.


The Spiral Staircase : My Climb Out of Darkness
The Spiral Staircase : My Climb Out of Darkness
Author: Karen Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/14/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I did not exactly find this book "unputdownable", as one of the reviews inside the cover claims. I expected it to have more theological discussion, but she doesn't get into that until the last few chapters.


Year of Wonders
Year of Wonders
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 880
Review Date: 1/29/2008
Helpful Score: 19


This is a very engrossing story told in amazing detail. I highly recommend the book but be warned - it is one horrific tragedy after another, and the author spares none of the gory details.


1 to 8 of 8