Darla P. (kittehmama) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 542
Review Date: 6/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book to be very depressing, and seemingly never-ending. Dad's drunk, beating Mom and the kids, but we still love him. Now he's quit drinking, and everything is great. Oops, he fell off the wagon again, and we have to move to a hovel, and be subjected to beatings once more. But wait, he has quit drinking again....and the cycle continues through the entire book. I read it because of the rave reviews, but still do not understand what all the hubbub was about. Will not be reading any more of this author's books.


Buried Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney, Bk 2)
Buried Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney, Bk 2)
Author: Carolyn Haines
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/4/2011


This book is the second in the series about Sarah Booth Delaney, a P.I. by chance, a southern girl by birth, and a colorful character who inhabits the family home along with the ghost of her great grandmother's maid, Jitty. Sarah Booth always manages to solve her interesting cases, but not before getting into all kinds of trouble. The characters in the small southern town are well-developed, there is a bit of romance, a lot of comedy, and this is another enjoyable read from Carolyn Haines. I am looking forward to continuing this series.


The Complete Vegetarian Cuisine
The Complete Vegetarian Cuisine
Author: Rose Elliot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/11/2011


This is a wonderful book for vegetarians and those wishing to incorporate healthier food options into their diets. Although I haven't prepared any of the recipes yet, I have found many that sound great, and am looking forward to trying them. All the recipes are easy to follow, and use ingredients that are readily available.


The Day of Small Things
The Day of Small Things
Author: Vicki Lane
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/25/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This was a wonderful book. The characters are believable, and most seem like people I would love to meet. It is a story of a woman from the mountains who was not given a good start in life, and experienced much cruelty. She overcame the adversities and we get to follow her rich life and gentle spirit. This book is one that stayed with me for weeks, and I will seek out other books by this author.


First Friends (aka Those Who Serve)
First Friends (aka Those Who Serve)
Author: Marcia Willett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Although I love Marcia Willett's books, this was not one of my favorites. There was a great deal of detail about the navy, which seemed to detract from the story of the two main characters, Cass and Kate. They have been friends since school, and the story follows their lives, and continued friendship as they marry and have children. They embrace each others differences, and like true friends, support each other while agreeing to disagree on certain issues. There were many characters to keep track of, and I found this distracting. All in all, this is another of Willett's books that offered an escape into another world, a glimpse into a lifelong friendship, and evidence of the sometimes long-ranging consequences of our decisions.


Hens Dancing
Hens Dancing
Author: Raffaella Barker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/10/2011


This book is an entertaining trip through the life of a single mother of three living in rural England. It is full of interesting and colorful characters, the joys and frustrations of overseeing the lives of three young children, and the work involved in maintaining a household, and her own sanity. I am currently reading Summertime, which is the follow-up to Hens Dancing, and am finding it to be another wonderful escape into Venetia Summers life. These books make me wonder how we all survive those years of our children growing up, and yet, somehow, with humor, good friends, and an occasional gin and tonic Venetia manages to do just that, and find love in the process


The Homecoming of Samuel Lake
The Homecoming of Samuel Lake
Author: Jenny Wingfield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/9/2012
Helpful Score: 5


I found an advanced reader copy of this book last year at the local library's book store, and found myself drawn into the first paragraph immediately. It was only one of several books I purchased that day, and I had a stack of books on the "to be read first" pile, but this one kept calling to me. I am so thankful I listened. It consumed me, and I consumed it in 2 1/2 days (and I only read at night). I didn't want it to end, but I had to know what happened to all the people I had come to know and love. I even wanted to know what happened to those I couldn't love.
Swan is one of the most wonderful heroines I have met in a very long time. The love and support of the colorful family for each other, the lyrical writing, the rich descriptions, and the suspense-filled story line made this one of my favorites of the past year (maybe all-time). I will be re-reading this one, and have recommended it to many friends.
I look forward to reading more by Jenny Wingfield!


The Last Suppers (Goldy Schulz, Bk 4)
The Last Suppers (Goldy Schulz, Bk 4)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 7/20/2011


fourth book in the series, this is another good read. there are interesting characters, a twisting plot, good recipes, and lots of humor.


The Orchard:  A Memoir
The Orchard: A Memoir
Author: Adele Crockett Robertson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


What a wonderful book! My only complaint is that it ended too soon. I wanted to hear more of her story. This is a first-hand glimpse into the trials facing the people who lived through the Great Depression. We get to see the desperation, the continual hunger, the help neighbors gave even though their pockets were also empty. Ms. Robertson's writing style flows like a gentle stream, and welcomes us to wade with her.


Raising Hope
Raising Hope
Author: Katie Willard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/20/2011


this is a warm story about two women and a young girl whose lives are brought together unexpectedly. we get to know each one through their individual narratives, and see the growth each one experiences, and the love they share as an unconventional family unit.


The Summer House
The Summer House
Author: Marcia Willett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/12/2012
Helpful Score: 3


In typical Marcia Willett style, the characters in The Summer House quickly become friends we love visiting. Milo and Lottie are the older, wiser and totally approachable members of the family. They are an excellent support system, offering advice, love and encouragement. Lottie's ability to see more than is readily visible to others adds a bit of mysticism to the plot. I enjoyed Matt's journey to find the truth, and Im's coming to terms with the path her life took. And the spunky, outspoken Venetia is a wonderful spark in the story. The ending of the book makes me hope we will see a sequel. I would love to have another chance to spend time with these people, and see what new adventures they encounter.


1 to 11 of 11