Nancy B. - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
The Accidental Virgin
The Accidental Virgin
Author: Valerie Frankel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 9/16/2005


My book isn't perfect. FYI, the bottom of the cover is creased from shelving. It has a remainder mark on it. Don't want you to be disappointed when you see it. Otherwise its clean and crisp and fairly new.


Ain't She Sweet?
Ain't She Sweet?
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 295
Review Date: 6/16/2005


This is a sweet contemporary romance. The main characters get together fairly quickly...the tension comes when they have to decide whether they want to stay together when the down-and-out heroine gets a chance to return to the big city and a great job opportunity.

From the back jacket: No one is more surprised than Colleen Collins when she's offered a job writing fluffy magazine articles about rural Texas cooking. The big-city investigative reporter knows nothing about goats, prickly pears, or peafowl, and to make matters worse, she can't even cook. But thanks to a political scandal that cost Collie her job, her boyfriend, and now -- with this demeaning assignment -- her self-respect, she has no choice but to drag herself out of bed and head to the Texas hill country.

After only a few days in the charming little town of San Saline, Collie finds her affection gorwing for its bigherted residents. And despite her intentions to the contrary, she's finding it impossible to resist the infuriating True McKitrick, a local boy made good whose mere presence makes her feel utterly alive...and inexplicably at home. Soon, this unlikely romantic pairing is stirring up more than just desire. It's making Collie wonder about the lfie that once seem edperfect -- and the chance of starting over...with a man who's True.


Becoming Georgia
Becoming Georgia
Author: Emily Carmichael
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/16/2005


On the back cover: Georgie Kennedy is so mad she could spit. Just weeks after she sold one of her Arizona gold claims to Cougar Barnes, some two-bit lawyer has the gall to tell her the mine wasn't hers to begin with. Georgie knows her rascally grandpa is behind the whole mess -- and that she'd better high-tail it to Chicago to set him straight. Should be simple enough. She's wiped the floor with men twice her size. How much trouble can one old coot be?

...Plenty, that's how much. Grandpa could give a mule lessons in sutbborn -- and he's hell-bent on turning "Miss Georgia" into a petticoat-wearing, curtsying priss. He tells her that if she stays on in Chicago for exactly one year -- and makes nice with the strait-laced simpleton he wants her to wed -- the claim will be hers, free and clear. Now, getting hitched is just about the last thing on Georgie's mind. But between her unwanted suitor and Cougar Barnes, who comes all the way to Chicago to make sure he gets his property back -- and to check on Georgie -- she has a lot of thinking to do. And soon she has to decide if her heart belons in teh bit city...or at home on the range.


Code Name: Baby (Code Name, Bk 3)
Code Name: Baby (Code Name, Bk 3)
Author: Christina Skye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 335
Review Date: 2/1/2006


This is one of several books by Christina Skye about secret agents and people and/or animals with psychic abilities. It was a nice change of pace for me and very romantic.


The Masquerade (de Warenne Dynasty, Bk 5)
The Masquerade (de Warenne Dynasty, Bk 5)
Author: Brenda Joyce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 10/3/2005


This is a true bodice ripper (the guy really rips off the girl's bodice) in the heat of passion. Its ok. She likes it. I can't say this is great literature, but I cried several times reading it because the heroine is so long-suffering. So it reached me at an emotional level. Or maybe I was just premenstrual. Anyway. Its brand new. I've been the only reader. Oh, yeah. I don't smoke either...in case you're into that whole deal that's been going on at Paperback Swap.


One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 959
Review Date: 8/23/2005


Evanovich has become my favorite author. She is laugh-out-loud funny. If you haven't read her Stephanie Plum series yet, start with this one. If you have read it and you want to get someone else hooked, start with this one.


Strangers
Strangers
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 6/16/2005


There are two short stories in this book. In Mystery Man, the heroine is hot on the heels of the man who jilted her and her search takes her to a remote Caribbean island. But the man she finds, while he looks like her old beau, says he's somebody else and he doesn't know her.

The other story is called Obsession. The heroine turns to her ex-husband, who she divorced because he was overprotective and restrictive, to act again as her bodyguard when a new threat surfaces.


Tell Me Lies
Tell Me Lies
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 456
Review Date: 6/29/2005


This is the book that made me a Jennifer Crusie fan. Its delightful.


You've Got Male (OPUS, Bk 1)
You've Got Male (OPUS, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Bevarly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 2/1/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was very funny. Gotta love a female computer nerd who doesn't leave her home because she's agoraphobic. When she's forced to leave for her own protection, its hilarious. Funny, sexy, romantic, hip.


1 to 9 of 9