Jennifer F. (jenvalet) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 48 - Page:
Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3368
Review Date: 8/20/2006


I loved it and I hated it. Makes for a great book club discussion!


Like Water for Chocolate (Como Agua Para Chocolate)
Review Date: 6/27/2005


One of my favorite books of all time. Highly recommend it!


The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia)
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Chronicles of Narnia)
Author: C. S. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 419
Review Date: 9/4/2005


I remembered reading this when I was little so when I heard it was going to be made into a movie, I read it again. It'll make a great movie!


Lucky
Lucky
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1357
Review Date: 9/18/2005


Sad story of a rape victim. Very well written.


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 360
Review Date: 8/17/2005


I can't wait for the movie to come out! Fascinating story about the life of a geisha.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5403
Review Date: 11/3/2006


I had really high hopes for this book, but I didn't love it. It's very long winded, but the story is nice. I read it on a trip, but it was the only book I'd brought. If I'd have read it at home, I'm not sure I would have finished it.


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2504
Review Date: 12/31/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I really wanted to like this book, but honestly, now that I've finally finished it, I feel somewhat cheated. This book is really tough to get through - so much Greek history and history of Detroit. I kept waiting for something to happen, knowing that so many loved this book, but nothing ever happened until the final quarter of the book, and even then, I wasn't thrilled.

Way too long, way to heavy. Why did this win a Pulitzer?


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2145
Review Date: 11/7/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Amazing - Wow! A Very gripping story of a drug addicts 6 weeks in recovery.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 11/27/2005


Very gripping true storry about a young mans journey through 6 weeks in rehab. Very graphic.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 353
Review Date: 11/13/2005


A sad story about a girl who was conceived to be a donor for her dying sister.


Never Let Me Go
Never Let Me Go
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/23/2008


Snooze. I don't get it. I picked up this book on vacation and had no idea what it was about. I won't spoil it, it's an interesting concept, but the ending was so unfulfilling, as was basically the rest of the novel. Spare yourself.


Never Let Me Go
Never Let Me Go
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/24/2008


Snooze. I don't get it. I picked up this book on vacation and had no idea what it was about. I won't spoil it, it's an interesting concept, but the ending was so unfulfilling, as was basically the rest of the novel.

I just don't understand why they accept their fate. Why don't they just leave???? Maybe I'm not smart enough to understand :)


Nights in Rodanthe
Nights in Rodanthe
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 770
Review Date: 7/24/2005


Nice love story.


The Notebook
The Notebook
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1719
Review Date: 7/18/2005


Great love story.


The Other
The Other
Author: Thomas Tryon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/2/2005


Very creepy novel, many twists and turns. I enjoyed it a lot.


The Other Boleyn Girl
The Other Boleyn Girl
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2784
Review Date: 7/15/2005


I enjoyed reading about the Boleyns and King Henry. It's made me want to read more about the English history. I definitely recommend this one.


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1575
Review Date: 7/7/2006


This book took me a while to get through. In the end, I liked it, but I don't think it's the best I've ever read. I've ordered the next in the series to see if it picks up since there are so many rave reviews!


The Queen's Fool
The Queen's Fool
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1333
Review Date: 7/7/2005


A wonderful story of historical fiction in the 1500's.

From Amazon.com: A young woman caught in the rivalry between Queen Mary and her half sister, Elizabeth, must find her true destiny amid treason, poisonous rivalries, loss of faith, and unrequited love.


Robbie Williams. Somebody Someday.
Review Date: 8/8/2005


Please note - this is the SOFT COVER version! It is from London, and the ISBN # did not work.


Running with Scissors
Running with Scissors
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2412
Review Date: 9/22/2006


Interesting story, I laughed out loud, I made faces....It's a bit unbelievable, but I quick read.


21 to 40 of 48 - Page: