Karen F. (earlsgirl) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 189 - Page:
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 4/6/2012


Gerald G and Peggy F said all that needs to be said about this book. Please don't be scammed into wasting money and time over this dog.


16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 569
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I read it halfway through, then decided I didn't really care much for the characters or the writing style. It was my first book by Debbie Macomber. I realize she has legions of fans, but I guess I'm not one of them.


2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1174
Review Date: 7/20/2007


Very much enjoyed this second book in the series.


4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 869
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I love this series! A great read with surprises.


All the Dead Were Strangers
All the Dead Were Strangers
Author: Ethan Black
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/20/2007


I have been recommeneding Ethan Black's Conrad Voort series to mystery readers. This third book in the series was a bit different, but very well done. I have to say I didn't enjoy it quite as much as the other two, but it was still excellent.


Almost Night
Almost Night
Author: Ann Prospero
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Ann Prospero's first novel is excellent, with Susannah Cannon as a homicide detective in Miami. I hope there are more to come with this character!


Animal Colony: A cautionary tale for today
Review Date: 1/16/2011


While this is definitely not the classic Animal Farm, this short little allegory presents quite clearly how liberty and freedom get diluted then distorted by the use of language that tries to manipulate "we the animals" by their leaders. The only thing that would have improved this little gem is if the first half of the book had been condensed and the second half had been expanded. It all comes to an end so furiously and quickly that it leaves the reader questioning just how this could have happened so fast. Perhaps that is exactly what the authors intended in this too-true cautionary tale.


The Association
The Association
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 8/14/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first book by Bentley Little that I've read. I wasn't disappointed - it was creepy and suspenseful. I had no idea what to expect and had lots of spooky surprises. I will definitely check out more of his stories.


At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 365
Review Date: 7/20/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I just couldn't get interested in it. Read the first half in an evening and then skimmed the rest. I think Patricia Cornwell's writing career is "At Risk".


At the Stroke of Madness (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 4)
At the Stroke of Madness (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 4)
Author: Alex Kava
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 4/19/2008


Not so great. Doesn't come close to A Perfect Evil and Split Second. A dud.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 3/29/2008
Helpful Score: 10


I wanted to like this book (purchased it to read before I saw the movie). Parts of it were good, but overall, it just didn't provide any satisfaction. The themes were interesting ones, but the characters just never resonated with me. I felt like I struggled too much to "wade" through it. Just a nitpicky thing, but I got distracted several times by odd punctuation in the use of commas. At times it seemed well-written with lovely prose, but overall I have to say I didn't care for the book.


Back to School Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 4)
Back to School Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 4)
Author: Leslie Meier
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 9/8/2012


This series is a fun read, but I didn't care for the lunatic pastor character. Beliefs held by most conservative Christians were quoted by this disgusting man, thus conveying the idea that people who agree with these beliefs are looney too.


Bait (Large Print)
Bait (Large Print)
Author: Karen Robards
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 7/20/2007


Large print. Typical Karen Robards book. A great beach read!!


Bayou
Bayou
Author: Pamela Jekel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/20/2007


I've read all of Jekel's books. If you just like to get lost in a good story, her books are marvelous.


Beach Road
Beach Road
Author: James Patterson, Peter de Jonge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 485
Review Date: 7/20/2007


I read this book in one sitting - could not put it down! It really does leave you gasping. Wow!


Becoming Kate
Becoming Kate
Author: Theodore J. Jansma
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 7/20/2007


Fascinating account of a psychologist's work with a multiple personality client and her ultimate healing.


Before and Again
Before and Again
Author: Doris Mortman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/11/2007


Doris Mortman's books are usually just wonderful. This one wasn't up to her former standards and I was disappointed.


Before I Wake
Before I Wake
Author: Anne Frasier
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 6/11/2007
Helpful Score: 3


The Amazon reader reviews gave a very high rating for this book, but I thought the plot was highly contrived, it really dragged in places, and I wasn't really very interested in the characters or the plot.


Blindness
Blindness
Author: Jose Saramago, Giovanni Pontiero (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 11/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Unbearably tedious and extremely boring!! I was so annoyed that I had actually purchased this silly book. Sorry to disagree with the majority, but I can't believe this is so highly touted. Jose is no great writer - don't waste your time or money on this one.


Blood from a Stone (Guido Brunetti, Bk 14)
Blood from a Stone (Guido Brunetti, Bk 14)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 1/31/2013


Donna Leon's series of Guido Brunetti mysteries set in Venice is one of my favorites. This particular one just doesn't measure up. Very difficult to get into, hard to see where it was headed, political views thrown in detracted from the overall story. If this had been the first book I read in this series I wouldn't have picked up another one. Donna, please go back to your usual excellent novel writing!


1 to 20 of 189 - Page: