musicowls - Reviews

1 to 20 of 47 - Page:
About Grace
About Grace
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/30/2009


Interesting story, although it drags in the middle. Author is very descriptive of the setting and the characters feelings, but I was anxious for him to "just get on with the story". Moves too slow for my taste.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 6/17/2009


Loved, loved, loved this book! Exciting fast paced adventure that makes you really wonder about the power of the CHURCH & conspiracies. Never a dull moment, I read it after DaVinci, & it really is the prequel but it made no matter. It was great from beginning to end. Highly recommend.


Autobiography of a Face
Autobiography of a Face
Author: Lucy Grealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 3/1/2013


Very good book, sad story. I was touched by all she endured as a child, when one so badly needs to feel accepted by peers. It must have been terrible for her. I kept thinnking, there must be some better surgery/solution for her problem...but this was the 70s/80s so maybe not at that time...It damaged her for life, her spirit, her self esteem. Tragic, worth the read.


Before I Go To Sleep
Before I Go To Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 4/2/2014


A suspenseful thriller, kept me reading. a bit confusing at times when the text switches between present events occurring & when the main character Christine was reading. I figured out the twist before it occurred in the book, but still pretty darn good read, especially for a first novel.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 803
Review Date: 7/2/2011


Started reading this, the premise looked interesting....stopped at about page 8. Absolute drivel! I couldn't force myself to read another word; not when there are so many books worth reading out there, why waste the time!


The Constant Princess
The Constant Princess
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 781
Review Date: 7/29/2009


Interesting history of Katherine of Aragon, Henry VIII's first wife & how she attained her esteemed position to become Queen. I got lost with the overwhelming details of the battles, the political jockeying going on in the last quarter of the book. It was confusing & bored me. Over all a good book but not a favorite. Liked The other Boleyn girl MUCH better.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3346
Review Date: 6/17/2009


This book is my all time favorite...in my personal opinion the BEST book I have ever read. I loved the controversial storyline, the art history, the biblical implications and the secret society/hidden messages theme. You may choose to believe the premise or not...but it is a fascinating thought provoking book. Angels & Demons a close second, but this is just the best. Highly Recommend, & keep an open mind!


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1731
Review Date: 6/17/2009


Very good book, never dull. Involves politics, conspiracy & scientific discovery (that of course will change everything!) I'm a science-minded gal myself, with a Biology degree so this appealed to me. Recommended.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1733
Review Date: 8/3/2009


I enjoyed this story & getting a peek into the sort of life I will NEVER have, nor would want to. High socitey Manhattan too wealthy, too thin, TOO shallow people who dont know their self worth should NOT be measured by the label on their clothing or shoes. Sad really that some endure torture at the hands of a monster boss in order to find their place in the world, or a better job. I wouldn't have put up with it.


Diary of a Submissive: A Modern True Tale of Sexual Awakening
Diary of a Submissive: A Modern True Tale of Sexual Awakening
Author: Sophie Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/16/2016


got a few chapters in and I was so completely repulsed by the content of this narrative I cannot continue. Skipped to a few later chapters, scanned a few paragraphs, and it cemented it for me. Get this trash out of my house! I TRY not to judge, but OMG I cannot wrap my head around how anyone can allow themselves to be abused, beaten, degraded and treated like less than human all in the pursuit of orgasm. Its disgusting This woman does not need a dom, she needs therapy


Digital Fortress
Digital Fortress
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1742
Review Date: 6/17/2009


Interesting, fast paced adventure again from Dan. Liked it but was my least favorite of all his books. Any math/numbers geeks will likely enjoy this one...about code breaking & such. Dan Brown is a great storyteller.


The Dressmaker
The Dressmaker
Author: Elizabeth Birkelund Oberbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


It wasn't as good as I expected...but I guess its her first novel, so maybe she will improve. No character development at all...no depth to the main characters, I never really got why Claude was so in love with Valentine, she didnt really DO anything, they had nothing in common, etc. The part I liked the most was the descriptions of the fashions, not really anything about the people in it. I felt like stopping but muddled through to the end...didnt get better.


Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Author: E. L. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1071
Review Date: 5/10/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Well, I am "behind the times" & just now finished reading this, when the rest of the world read it 2 years ago, I was intrigued enough to order book 2. I did enjoy the relationship part of the story...many things about this man are appealing, although dark. I agree with past reviewers about much of the dialogue between characters is annoyingly unrealistic for supposedly educated, intelligent people. Especially Ana's constant thoughts of "holy F***" really? who talks that way? Some disturbing parts...I think she is childish with relatively low self-esteem, & that bothers me. When her guy expresses the desire to hurt her..& she allows it....well, it makes me want to slap her! The voyeur in me wants a peek into this dark, weird world.


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2518
Review Date: 6/30/2009


Wasn't what I expected, but a fast & easy read. Didn't move me as much as it did others.


Gap Creek: The Story Of A Marriage
Gap Creek: The Story Of A Marriage
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 432
Review Date: 7/21/2009


While it was well written, this book was just plain depressing! One tragedy after another! The description of the main character prepping that dead guy's body for a funeral, I was like, "oh come on!" Like she really would have done that. Will not read more Oprah picks, she seems to always like depressing stories. Not for me


Harvesting the Heart
Harvesting the Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 800
Review Date: 8/10/2009


It was different than I thought it would be. Not one of her best, or my favorites, but worth a read anyway. Thought the husband was a rather cold fish, unforgiving and a bit "heartless". Ironic considering his profession.


Hot Property
Hot Property
Author: Susan Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 9/14/2011


Lusty is how I would describe this book. The story line intrigued me, about the stolen art, & the sexy ex-CIA guy, but it fell short. A lot of lusty sex scenes and not much substance. An unlikely romance based on shallow outward appearances and not any kind of mutual common interest. Characters dialogue was petty, snippy, and unrealistic. I wanted more detail about the stolen art and the book that was "exposing" the secret, but the author just pursued the sexual connection between these two. disappointing.


Land of a Hundred Wonders
Land of a Hundred Wonders
Author: Lesley Kagen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 7/2/2011


This book was just ok for me. It's not as good as
Whistling in the Dark, I loved that, and this one I expected to be as good, but I felt it wasn't. I wanted more explanation about what specifically went on at Land of Hundred wonders, esp since that was the title, like it was some miracle place, but it never developed into much. a disappointment.


Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls
Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/23/2014


a collection of short essays with really no connection to one another other than they all apparently happened to the author, or perhaps they are completely fabricated...who knows. I was intrigued by the good reviews......but my impression: stupid book. Skipped a few chapters, because frankly I just didnt care. Disturbing sections describing abusive behavior of his father...I do not even know if these things really happened. I chuckled a few times, but those moments were rare. didn't like it, I won't bother with his other books. Weird guy.


Magic Hour
Magic Hour
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 3/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


a great read! I devoured half the book in the first sitting. Un-put-down-able. I fell in love with the little girl, & the psychiatrist who is helping her. i have a daughter the same age as Alice, so it particularly touched me. This book made me cry.....literally a 3 tissue cry. Highly recommend!!!!


1 to 20 of 47 - Page: