Allie P. (allietx) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
Cryptonomicon
Cryptonomicon
Author: Neal Stephenson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 8/8/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This book is not the type my bookclub usually reads, so when one of the members selected it, I was leery. Then I bought it and was further daunted by the size. However I LOVED it. I don't think I have ever read a book that I found so engrossing. It zoomed to the top of my "Best Ever" list and a copy still sits on my "SAVE" shelf.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2073
Review Date: 5/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


My book club read this book two years ago. I only finished 1/3 of it before the meeting, but I went anyway. I heard many of the "secrets" revealed during the discussion, so I decided not to finish the book, figuring I "knew" what was going to happen. Now, two years later with the movie due out in a couple of weeks, I bought the mass market paperback on a whim. I felt like the last person in America who hadn't fallen in love with this book and I decided to give it one more try before seeing the movie. This time, I was struck by the Da Vinci Code lightning-- I devoured the book in a matter of days (a short time for me, the mother of a young child) and literally *could not* put it down. Isn't that the greatest feeling as a reader?!! I have read critiques of the novel-- that the characters are too one dimensional, etc.-- but now I think that is all sour grapes. BRAVO, Mr. Brown, BRAVO.


Digging to America
Digging to America
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 8/31/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book-- not an all-time favorite, but a decent way to spend a few days. My book group enjoyed it for the most point, and we all identified with different characters. This was my first Anne Tyler-- others said they preferred some of her other books more than this, though her honest look at life seemed consistent. Enjoy!


Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1212
Review Date: 8/29/2006


I LOVED this one-- Stephanie & crew their best!


Four to Score (Stephanie Plum, Bk 4)
Four to Score (Stephanie Plum, Bk 4)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2045
Review Date: 4/25/2006


Another great Stephanie Plum adventure. If you enjoyed the first three books in the series, you'll enjoy this one too.


The Full Cupboard of Life (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, Bk 5)
Review Date: 4/26/2006


Another lovely entry in this charming series. Mma Ramotswe is one of my favorite protagonists of all time.


High Five (Stephanie Plum, Bk 5)
High Five (Stephanie Plum, Bk 5)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1994
Review Date: 5/23/2006


Another great Stephanie Plum novel with an ending that left me SCREAMING! Thank goodness I didn't have to wait to start "Hot Six".


Lonesome Dove (Lonesome Dove, Bk 1)
Lonesome Dove (Lonesome Dove, Bk 1)
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 9/9/2006


WOW... a must read. This book broke my heart over and over but the worst was when I turned the last page and the great adventure was over. Truly unforgettable, a real American masterpiece.


Lonesome Dove (Lonesome Dove, Bk 1)
Lonesome Dove (Lonesome Dove, Bk 1)
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 6/29/2006


This was one of the best books I've EVER read. Epic & Unforgettable.


Medications and Mothers' Milk: A Manual of Lactational Pharmacology
Review Date: 5/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


ISBN: 0963621963 is the 10 Edition, published in 2002.


On Beauty
On Beauty
Author: Zadie Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 5/4/2006


My book club read this book. At times I really enjoyed it, and at other times I thought it was just so/so. I really loved the central female character but found the central male character pretty unsympathetic. We had some great discussion at the meeting.


Seven Up (Stephanie Plum, Bk 7)
Seven Up (Stephanie Plum, Bk 7)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1808
Review Date: 6/29/2006


Another great Stephanie Plum novel, I really enjoyed this one even more than "Hot Six"!


The Stand
The Stand
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/9/2006


I am not a usually a fan of horror novels or authors, but this book is one of the best books I have EVER read. It sits on my "save" shelf with a select few others that have really meant something to me. Definitely in my Top 10 all-time reads, and the one book I try to press on friends...


Ten Big Ones (Stephanie Plum, Bk 10)
Ten Big Ones (Stephanie Plum, Bk 10)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1183
Review Date: 8/17/2006


Another great Plum!! Lots of humor, excitement, danger, & sexual tension. The ending was especially great...


To the Nines (Stephanie Plum, Bk 9)
To the Nines (Stephanie Plum, Bk 9)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1492
Review Date: 8/14/2006


This was another fun & thrilling Stephanie Plum novel. I really enjoy all of them, but this one was extra over-the-top-- which was great!


Twelve Sharp (Stephanie Plum, Bk 12)
Twelve Sharp (Stephanie Plum, Bk 12)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1048
Review Date: 9/2/2006


Loved it, Loved it, Love it. Wish it had gone on longer. How on earth will I make through a whole year without Stephanie & crew? Come on, Number 13!!!


1 to 16 of 16