Connie A. (jazzysmom) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 900 - Page:
3,096 Days in Captivity: The True Story of My Abduction, Eight Years of Enslavement, and Escape
Review Date: 7/27/2015
Helpful Score: 2


It is very rare that I pick up a true crime read but when I saw this book & that beautiful young face I wanted to know how she managed to live that long & then escape. Ms.Kampusch has written her story about a senseless & hellish abduction that happened to her when she was 10 years old. She tells her story from beginning to end in one page after another of unstopable reading. Not once did I find myself bored. She writes without self-pity or anger & her strong soul shines through on every page. She was an amazing child. I'd be very interested in knowing what greatness she is doing today. I'm sure she is some how sharing her strength and love for life with all she comes in contact with. I read this in one day. It is an excellent book.


31 Bond Street
31 Bond Street
Author: Ellen Horan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This has got to be one of the best reads for the summer. I loved every word. I loved the era. I hope this author will give us more and more and more. I almost can't wait, i wanna be the first in line for the next book & i don't even know what it will be about!! Thats how good this book is. By the end i was sobbing, to find out why you will have to read the book but the ending is so very very unique and somehow just suits this novel. To think i almost passed this up, something guided my hand to it in the store and i put it down twice and then went back--boy am i glad i did.


4000 Days: My Life  Survival in a Bangkok Prison
4000 Days: My Life Survival in a Bangkok Prison
Author: Warren Fellows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book. Could not put it down once i started--although i wanted to in a a few places, it was graphic. This was well written but as a warning really not for the faint of heart. The whole time span in this mans life seemed to revole around liquor when he made these decissions. Yes i feel bad for the way he was placed and what he had to go thru, it was quite a bit over the top for punishment--but we as Americans know you break the law in another country and you are punished by their law. He knew this and still made the decissions to work for who he did and finish his "job" I have read this book and still do not understand his thinking. We are so very lucky to live in America, as even by this crime, the punishment would not of been as Mr. Fellows suffered.


The $64 Tomato : How One Man Nearly Lost his Sanity, Spent a Fortune, and Endured an Existential Crisis in the Quest for the Perfect Garden
Review Date: 3/13/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Really can you even imagine spending this much to have a tomato? I can't. This was an enjoyable read about a man obsessed with producing the perfect tomato. Now stop and think about this..unless you are willing to spend gobs of money it will not be possible to grow becasue just as Mr Alexander points out...there are so many things to fight and crisis after crisis to produce this round, juicy red morsel of heaven and rich earth. Some people just become obsessed is all i can say. This was a fun read and made me laugh in several places. Sliced carefully, divided into maybe 6 slices from a large tomato... even a huge juicy tomato from the best southern road side stand will never cost you over a few cents a slice...ever. $64.00 makes me wanna really taste this tomato. :)


8 Secrets of a Healthy 100
8 Secrets of a Healthy 100
Author: Des Cummings Jr. PhD, Monica Reed MD, Todd Chobotar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Powerfully packed full of information book. A dear friend sent this to me and i started reading and finished it in one day. Found lots of info that makes such helpful sense. Simple, easy and anyone can change much of their life style if necessary. I enjoyed my time reading while on my way to a healthy 100.


97 Ways to Make Your Dog Smile
97 Ways to Make Your Dog Smile
Author: Jenny Langbehn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 10/14/2010


I found this book PERFECT for my cocker. There were no bad behavior games involved, just fun little things to do with your dog to make them smile, and they really will. Mine does. Simple games like putting your hand over their paw, then they move their paw over your hand, and back and forth. Easy games for them to learn. Unless you are so strict with your animal that you do not enjoy the dog, this book has alot of cute games. The book is like new so would make a perfect gift for someone with a new member to the family. Java, my cocker will now come and ask to play.


Above All Things
Above All Things
Author: Deborah Raney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 3/26/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I hate reading a book review that only quotes what is on the back of the book, that's not a review. So i'll tell you snippets of what was so thrilling about this book. First of all i LOVE Deborah Raney, so this was not a dissappointing read. It was suspensefull and had alot going on. It dealt with inter racial issues. I loved the smooth trail of words that were page turning. Ms Raney always gives an ending that is worthy of her novel but yet keeps one subject unanswered until the end so that you still have something to look forward to up until then, like a perfect dessert, it was a perfect read.


Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Author: Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 7/20/2012
Helpful Score: 3


The novel was so well written i had the hardest time finding a place to stop. It was absolutely mesmorizing with word and story. I truely kept having to remind myself this is "part fiction". The unique cover captured my attention first and then from the first page it keep my husband eating cold cuts and preparing his own meals for two days. I loved this book and i want to reread it, to make sure i didn't miss anything good. I still want to believe everything i read as it was so well presented, and what fun it would be to believe. I doubt this author can write anything that can top this, but i would be more than willing to read what ever he has written to see.


Across the China Sky
Across the China Sky
Author: C. Hope Flinchbaugh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Part 2 of a three part series, first one is Daughter of China. This is a wonderful read, even if you read them out of order, it can stand alone. Foe monthsMei Lin suffered in a Shanghai Prison number 14, then she was released, she goes back home to her mother and fience.But then a friend invites her to help in am orphanage for the summer and life takes many different turn for Mei Lin, there is love and danger. This is a beautiful series. I loved it.


Adam
Adam
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 9/30/2011
Helpful Score: 2


One of Ted Deckers better thrillers. From page one when agent Clark is tracking serial killers to the end, it was hard to find a page to stop to do my work in the house. All of Mr Deckers books are fun reads and this was no exception.


The Adventures of Sergeant Otto Wolfgang Snickerhaden a True Story of a Cop Who Was There, Yet Never Really Existed
Review Date: 5/26/2015
Helpful Score: 1


This was written by a real police officer who lived on Long Island. He handled problems in an unusual and sometimes bizarre fashion. Everything he has written is true and happened as he described. During his employment between 1961 and 1981 in many ways it was like the old west at the end of the century. This was when a police officer pretty much had a free hand when doing his job as long as he did it without hurting anyone. This was a fun book to read. Mr. Kaiser has passed now and one of his children passed his book on to me to read. I liked the book a lot. Now I'm ready to share with others who are interested in the 60's era of police procedure.


The Adventures of Slim & Howdy
The Adventures of Slim & Howdy
Author: Bill Fitzhugh, Kix Brooks, Ronnie Dunn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Gonna make this plain & simple--This is a really good book. It is the story of the hook up & friendship of Brooks & Dunn. Funny funny funny. This is a well written book and these guys are crazy!! There is even a C.D. unopened in the back of the book if someone would want it, i have it already. This is a light hearted read and very uplifting-you will come thru this read with a big ole smile on your face and wanting to turn the station in the truck to country!! Love the book.


After Diana: William, Harry, Charles, and the Royal House of Windsor
After Diana: William, Harry, Charles, and the Royal House of Windsor
Author: Christopher Andersen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/18/2011
Helpful Score: 2


If you are a Diana lover or not this book will tell you things that will almost blow you away. This is the true story of After Diana, so it is not about her but rather the royal family. It was so intimate and i found myself turning pages as fast as possible to see what was next in store for me. This family is very much disfunctional and i was shocked at the stuff that they did and got away with. The cost of their living and the commonwealth supporting Charles mistress and the way they play behind the publics back to do as they please. They hire public specialists to write things that will endear them to Camilla and to wean her into the family although the Queen does not like her, how the boys were unsupervised after Diana passed, free to drink at the age of 16, speed and party with pot smoking as they liked. Lots and lots of drinking and parting. You will learn that having a mistress is a tradition and nevr been broken and Prince Phillip the Queens husband, although he keeps a low profile is a nasty ass of a man. How millions was spent on their wardrobes and homes, how Camilla was given Diana jewerly shortly after Diana's death, before she even married Charles and wore it in public without the boys knowing, how she moved in with charles and spent thousands of dollars on redecorating just the bedroom before they were married, and Diana's side of the family was snubbed by the royals and the boys. I was just dumbfounded at the information in this book. I do feel sorry for Kate now, i wonder if she really has a clue what is in store for her. Very good read.


After the Fire: A True Story of Friendship and Survival
After the Fire: A True Story of Friendship and Survival
Author: Robin Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/31/2015


One of the most horrifying but wonderful book I have read in a long time. The author has lived along with the men who were burned in the burn unit. The story she has told will make you sob for Shawn & Alvaro & their family's. It will not leave your mind for a long long time..maybe never. It will give you nightmares. If you can handle reading the horror of this story you will come to the end with a whole new respect for burns of any kind & your love for these men will be heard in your prayers for surely you will find yourself praying for them.


After the Parade (Dolan Brothers, Bk 5)
After the Parade (Dolan Brothers, Bk 5)
Author: Dorothy Garlock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 12/2/2010


Perfect read. I love stories that take place in this time era, 1945, after the war. This book offers so much more than a love story (that is not mushy). There is wonderful family friendship, murder, the crazy guy waiting to kidnap the heroine, the "honky tonk half sister that is a lady of the evening, to put it lightly. The new doctor that comes to town, his brother who found him after the ship he was on sunk. The man who beat his wife that finally gets whats coming to him. Death of a baby that drives a young husband and wife apart and love found at every corner. I so much enjoyed this read. Everyone is so likeable and i find myself wanting more--i'm going to hunt for more from this author in a new series now.


Against Our Will : Men, Women and Rape
Against Our Will : Men, Women and Rape
Author: Susan Brownmiller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/28/2008


Against the historical background and scrupulous factual evidence, the author traces the use and meaning of rape in war, from Biblical times through the World Wars to Bangladesh and Vietnam. She unravels the orgins of American rape laws, she explains how, why and wnder what circumstances rape first came to be considered a crime.


The Age of Sacred Terror
The Age of Sacred Terror
Author: Daniel Benjamin, Steven Simon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I devoured this book, But i am a Huge fan of Jessie Ventura and the theory of common sense and if it looks like a duck--it's probably a duck. no matter how many times people tell you it isn't. This is about what government knew about 9/11 before it even happened. So many lies were told.It goes from Bush to Clinton to Bush, They all knew. Very interesting read. , and it did not have to go down like it did.So much could of been prevented,


Aimee
Aimee
Author: Mary Beth Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/17/2013


First of all this book should never of been listed as 4 to 8 yrs of age. It is more for teens. The subject is a hard one...teen suicide, but an important one to read about. This is gently handle and well written. I am well past teen years and found this interesting. It is the story about a Aimee who is found dead, her best friend is accused of helping her commit suicide. Opens your eyes to a problem that is rampent in this society. A good read for teens to use to learn about this subject.


Alaska Bear Tales
Alaska Bear Tales
Author: Larry Kaniut
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/13/2012


Wonderful read. Bears the mighty animal. These aren't Smoky the Bear tales. True encounters with bears that attack and bears that don't, setting is in Alaska. Because these are true stories i found this such an exciting read. This is not a tiny book (more than 200 stories) and each story is so interesting. Some are down right funny and some are sad and some will as you can imagine have you on the edge of your seat. When man meets bear in the wild, or should i say when bear meets man as this really is his territory, you never which way it will go. This was a great time reading about experiences of others.


All I Want Is You (Coral Cove, Bk 1)
All I Want Is You (Coral Cove, Bk 1)
Author: Toni Blake
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/23/2016


Coral Cove. What a wonderful place to live. This story had some very interesting characters that I found myself liking right away. It's a cozy story with a bit of love on the horizon and a couple you'll be rooting for attraction to happen to bring it all together. This is the first in the Coral Cove series. It's a smooth fun read and yup, i'll probably look for book two.


1 to 20 of 900 - Page: