Dawn R. (dmr030) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
Always (Forever Trilogy, Book 3)
Always (Forever Trilogy, Book 3)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 341
Review Date: 8/20/2006


Book 3 in the series


Angels Everywhere: A Season of Angels/Touched by Angels
Angels Everywhere: A Season of Angels/Touched by Angels
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 1/19/2006


Shirly, Goodness and Mercy will brighten anyone's day!


The Bad Luck Wedding Dress (Bad Luck Wedding, Bk 1)
The Bad Luck Wedding Dress (Bad Luck Wedding, Bk 1)
Author: Geralyn Dawson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 1/19/2006


First in her new series, centers around Jenny Fortune and her "bad Luck" with her finest creations, her dressmaking business was about to go under. Wearing the gown to her own wedding might have been drastic but she would do anything to turn her luck around even marry a awidower with 3 kids to prove everyone wrong.


The Battle Sylph (Sylph, Bk 1)
The Battle Sylph (Sylph, Bk 1)
Author: L. J. McDonald
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 7/10/2010


Unfortunately I just could NOT get into this book. The characters, the storyline just were not interesting to me even though I thought it sounded like an interesting premise. I will not read the rest of the series.


Best Laid Plans (Lucy Kincaid, Bk 9)
Best Laid Plans (Lucy Kincaid, Bk 9)
Author: Allison Brennan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/30/2015


An edge of your seat thriller from start to finish. Definitely one book that had me hooked right from the beginning. Can't wait to see where the next book will lead Lucy, Sean and her FBI friends and allies next.


A Christmas Kiss and Winter Wonderland (Signet Regency Romance)
Review Date: 1/19/2006


Two wonderful regency classics in one volume. Sweet and innocent they will keep the reader warm on a col night!


Dance of the Gods (Circle, Bk 2)
Dance of the Gods (Circle, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/9/2009


Just a note- This is a Hardcover Bookclub copy not a paperback as it says. For some reason PBS said it was a PB.

I liked this series and this was a great ending to the trilogy. Very suspensfula nd intriguing.


Daughters of Terra
Daughters of Terra
Author: Theolyn Boese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This was a differnet take on Sci fi/Futuristic menages and I really enjoyed reading it. I reviewed it as an E book when it first came ot and this is an author who creates characters that are multifaceted and fallible. I can't wait to read the 2nd one!


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2416
Review Date: 1/19/2006


Funny and quite interesting.


The Devil's Heiress (Three Heroes, Bk 3) (Company of Rogues, Bk 8)
The Devil's Heiress (Three Heroes, Bk 3) (Company of Rogues, Bk 8)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 1/21/2006


Interesting and exquisitely stunning masterpiece by Ms. Beverly


Down the Rabbit Hole: Wonderment in Death / Alice and Earl in Wonderland / iLove / A True Heart / Fallen
Review Date: 10/8/2015


Go through the looking glass as these five authors deliver stories inspired by Alice in Wonderland.

Wonderment In Death by J.D. Robb (In Death Series Book 41.5)
Lt. Eve Dallas finds that an open -&-shut case is not just that. Called in to an apparent murder-suicide, Eve must figure out who twisted the Lewis Carroll classic for their own murderous gains.

Author JD Robb delivers another stellar story in her acclaimed In Death series with a twist on the Alice in Wonderland theme. Filled with some of our favorite characters from the series, we get a wild ride as we tag along with Eve, Roark and their friends as they race to solve the murder that at first seems so cut and dry. But as the reader finds out, things are not all that they seem in this universe and a murder is using people's grief for their own ends. I love how this author skillfully weaves the anthology theme through the novella and delivers a pulse pounding ride from start to finish. It's quite twisted yet totally engrossing story that had me in it's grip till the very end. This is truly one of my favorite stories in this anthology and I am eager to see where the author goes next in the series.

Alice and the Earl in Wonderland by Mary Blayney
The new Earl of Weston is determined to save his estate, win the hand of the woman he is in love with and finds that sometimes magic happens in a way that will transform his life forever.

As a sequel to Amy and the Earl's Amazing Adventure' the reader is transported to the 1800's where it's a scandal to divorce, women were proper and the man is head of the house. When the Earl and his love, Alice, are transported to the 21st century via a magic coin, they find wonders beyond their imagination and truths that will set them free. I loved the first story, Amy and the Earl's Amazing Adventure, when I read it in the anthology, Dead of Night, and was thrilled to see it continue in this latest installment. This time we get to see t he historical couple's journey through the looking glass so to speak and it was quite enjoyable. The author delivers a sweet story of old lovers who find themselves in a time where women are more equal to men, people can love whomever they fall in love with and divorce is not a stigma in society. What I loved the most was the scenes of Weston and Alice marvel at the changes in 2005 as well as what is the same from their time, of 1805. I did have a little peeve about the character development in this story as there basically is none, in my opinion. The story focuses too much on Weston and Alice's adventures in the future which didn't leave much character development. Overall, it was a sweet story that you will enjoy.

iLove by Elaine Fox
Macy is in love with Jeremy but it seems he is in love with his Iphone more. When Macy dumps Jeremy, he is sucked into her phone and he finds that in order to leave, he will have to win Macy's heart and learn that sometimes it's better to put the phone down and find that love will walk away if he isn't paying attention.

I just absolutely adored this story. It's quite relevant to today's world and I loved how the author captures the essence of Alice in Wonderland's Heart Queen with the character of Mrs. Hartz. This author does an amazing job in capturing the characters and brings them to life amid the pages of DOWN THE RABBIT HOLE. I loved how Jeremy had to figure out with a dating app and no cell phone how to win Macy back and learn a few things as well. A perfect second chance at love story that is really unique and entertaining.

A True Heart by Mary McComas
When a day of costume shopping goes haywire, can Elise figure out the message her supernatural guide is giving her as they journey through her life?

This had me a bit confused as I felt it was more A Christmas Carol than Alice in Wonderland but overall it was an enjoyable read. Elise has been badly hurt in the past and now has a hard shell over her heart, afraid to let any man too close in case they hurt her. The author does a great job in capturing Elise's pain, vulnerability and heartbreak. You get a sense of who the character is amid the layers and we get to see who the real Elise is amid the thorns, walls and more she has set up around her. This made her quite likeable and relatable, in my opinion. There is a lot of emotion in A True heart and the reader is taken on quite a ride but overall, it's quite a satisfying journey to take.

Fallen by R.C. Ryan
Beth Campbell is determined to impress her aunt and find her place in the family company by convincing a Scottish recluse to sell his land to her. But things don't go according to plan when Beth hits her head and is transported to the 1800's and soon Beth finds magic and a little intrigue while in the highlands.

A sweet story that will charm you as you read Beth's adventure in the Scottish Highlands that will leave you breathless. Ms. Ryan weaves a satisfying story that hits all my love buttons. Poor Beth is confused and just a little peeved when she finds herself transported to the eighteenth Century after hitting her head on her trip in the Scottish Highlands. Attracted to Colin Gordon wasn't in her game plan. Between confusion as over why anyone would want to kill Colin to figuring out how to get back home, Beth has to solve a mystery, save the man from death and figure out how to get back to her time. Easy, right? I loved the interactions between Colin and Beth. There was such a connection instantly and you get a sense of who these characters are and how they interact with one another. The downside to this story was there is so much information in the story; it doesn't feel long enough to get the job done. It felt rushed and a little incomplete in the end. I would have loved this story to be a bit longer and maybe fleshed out the magic portion of the story a bit more. Overall, it was a nice ending to the anthology as a whole.

DOWN THE RABBIT HOLE is a wonderful anthology that has something for everyone to enjoy. I personally preferred two out of the five stories more than others but all deliver some reading goodness. I do have to say that other than Wonderment In Death, the other four stories don't have much of an Alice In Wonderland connection that was a disappointment. I love the Alice in Wonderland theme and thought it could have been brought over better in the other stories. But DOWN THE RABBIT HOLE is truly a unique and entertaining story overall and even if you are an In Death fan like I am, all the stories in this anthology will keep you entertained till the very end.

This is an objective review and not an endorsement


Dream Guy (Warner Forever)
Dream Guy (Warner Forever)
Author: Candy Halliday
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/28/2006


Entertaining and humourous!


The Duke of Dark Desires
The Duke of Dark Desires
Author: Miranda Neville
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/5/2016


Julian Fortescue never in a million years thought he would inherit a dukedom or have three half sisters to care for. But now that he is, he needs a governess. When he meets Jane Grey, a young woman who hides secrets, he finds himself tempted to know everything about her even as he tries to keep his heart off the table. Jane is actually Lady Jeanne de Falleron, a French aristocrat who is determined to find the person responsible for her family's deaths and if she has to go undercover as a governess so be it. But she never anticipated falling for her rakish employer or that the mystery of her family's death just might destroy her growing love for Julian.

This is so not your average historical romance story. It has adventure, mystery, romance and characters that just blow you away. There is scheming, politics and more that kept the story moving along with twists that had me gasping in shock as I flipped the pages. There was complexity and depth in the story that just left me breathless. The writing was tight, story flowed so smoothly and the characters...they were just so well written I was astounded. This is an author who knows how to create characters that are life-like and have real emotions/feelings like we do in real life. You just can not help but fall in love with them. The story flows so nicely I just fell into it. The romance wasn't right off the bat, it was like a slow build up that over many pages you get caught up in it and when it finally is acknowledged, you are blown away by it all.

Julian is a man who is trying to find his footing as the new Duke and guardian to his half-sisters, who are just delightful. He is sweet and sinful all wrapped up in that alpha personality. There were times you just thought what a teddy bear this guy is and when he gets Jane in his sights well lets just say sparks fly fast and furious.

Jane (Jeanne) is a delight as well. She is determined to find the answers to her family's deaths and in the meantime, help make three sisters into proper young ladies. She is direct, proper but not in a stuffy, overbearing kind of way. She speaks her mind but in a nice manner that I really enjoyed. Sometimes in historical romances, the heroine can get quite insufferable and the author does a great job in keeping her direct yet sensitive.

THE DUKE OF DARK DESIRES is more than your boy meets girl, girl has secrets and they fall in love sort of thing. It has all the markings of a great historical movie filled with action, mystery and more. It kept me glued to the pages to the very end and I found myself looking into the author's backlist for more books once I was done with this one. If you enjoy a highly entertaining story filled with complex characters, intriguing mystery and more then you will enjoy THE DUKE OF DARK DESIRES. Now all I can ask the author is more please!

This is an objective review and not an endorsement


Forever... (Forever Trilogy, Bk 1)
Forever... (Forever Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 8/20/2006


Book 1 in the series


Games of Pleasure
Games of Pleasure
Author: Julia Ross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/28/2006


exceptional book


Gilding the Lady (Berkley Sensation)
Gilding the Lady (Berkley Sensation)
Author: Nicole Byrd
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/14/2006


This is the sequel to Vision in Blue. Pretty good


Haunted (Witch Hunt, Bk 1) (Silhouette Nocturne, No 6)
Haunted (Witch Hunt, Bk 1) (Silhouette Nocturne, No 6)
Author: Lisa Childs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 4/21/2007


Awesome book! Very good!


Keeper of the Spirit (Keeper, Bk 1)
Keeper of the Spirit (Keeper, Bk 1)
Author: Ruby Storm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/27/2006


1st book in sereis..excellent!


Masters of the Shadowlands: Club Shadowlands / Dark Citadel (Masters of the Shadowlands, Bks 1-2)
Review Date: 2/17/2010


I love this series from Loose Id and am thrilled to see the first two books are in paperback together. If you don't like highly erotic stories, then this is not for you.


Night of Sin
Night of Sin
Author: Julia Ross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 1/27/2006


Excellent book and great story.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: