June A. (pertdoe) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 186 - Page:
Aftermath, Inc.: Cleaning Up After CSI Goes Home
Aftermath, Inc.: Cleaning Up After CSI Goes Home
Author: Gil Reavill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 11/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is an excellent book. Well written. If you can get past the gory scenes, it gives you a very good idea what these guys have to deal with, and how they do it. It is just as good as Mop Men which I also read. If you are into this genre you will enjoy it a lot.


Albatross: The True Story of a Woman's Survival at Sea
Review Date: 8/24/2013


This is a really good story. I read this book in one night. It is well written and such a good read. It tells of this lady who signed on to a sailboat as one of the crew and her experiences on this trip. A captain who was not qualified to captain a ship and a motley crew who was not very experienced. Anyone who likes true stories would like this book.


Alcatraz Screw : My Years As a Guard in America's Most Notorious Prison
Review Date: 12/4/2014


This book was written by George Gregory who spent 15 years as a guard at Alcatraz. It tells of his years there, his adventures and some of the prisoners he came in contact with, such as Robert Stroud the Birdman of Alcatraz and Machinegun Kelly. The book was quite informative and had many pictures of Alcatraz back in the old days. I enjoyed the book and learned some things about how prisons were run back in those days. If you are interested in this genre you will enjoy this book.


And the Sea Will Tell
And the Sea Will Tell
Author: Vincent Bugliosi, Bruce Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/23/2013


This is an absolutely great book. It is so well written and keeps you on the edge of your seat. It is about a couple who decide to live on their boat and take off for some of the islands, where they meet another couple who they become friends with. And from there it gets better and better. If you like true murder mysteries then this is the book for you.


Another Day in the Frontal Lobe: A Brain Surgeon Exposes Life on the Inside
Review Date: 3/28/2010


I really liked this book. It might not be for everyone but this is my kind of reading.


Bad Land: An American Romance
Bad Land: An American Romance
Author: Jonathan Raban
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 8/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book. Mostly because my grandparents homesteaded in Montana in the 1920's. It has a lot of history of how the land was given out, and the hardships that the people went through. It told of how the railroads were started, the weather, etc. Very much information.


Beautiful Unbroken: One Nurse's Life
Beautiful Unbroken: One Nurse's Life
Author: Mary Jane Nealon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/19/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I really did not care for this book. It somehow seemed disjointed and not well put together. About a nurse who goes thru her life and tells her story. Some may like this book but it just wasen't my cup of tea.


Behind the Yellow Tape: On the Road with Some of America's Hardest Working Crime Scene Investigators
Review Date: 6/11/2011


I liked this book. It tells the real stories of real CSI,s working on real cases. Nothing like CSI on TV. Tells how it takes time to have all the evidence analyzed and sifted through. Interesting and informative.


Best Friends: The True Story of the World's Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary
Review Date: 11/11/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! It tells how Dogtown was started and all the trials and tribulations they had keeping it going. The book was well written. I laughed and I cried as I was reading it. Having rescued two dogs I was especially interested in this story. It was interesting how they discovered this canyon, and had the foresight to envision their dogtown there. Anyone who loves animals would love this book.


Blood Meridian: Or the Evening Redness in the West
Blood Meridian: Or the Evening Redness in the West
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 12/22/2011


I did not care for this book. I had read No Country for Old Men and All the Pretty Horses and loved both of them. This one did not have much of a story in my opinion and was full of blood, gore and massacres. Even the main character did not have much of a place in the story. Maybe it was me,and not ready for this book. Others may really enjoy it.


The Blood of Strangers : Stories from Emergency Medicine
The Blood of Strangers : Stories from Emergency Medicine
Author: Frank Huyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/30/2013


I liked this book, however the whole book was different vignettes of different stories. It was pretty well written but each story was about a page and a half or two pages. I thought that each story could have been fleshed out some, but then that is only my opinion. A book worth reading anyway.


The Book of Kehls
The Book of Kehls
Author: Christine Kehl O'Hagan
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 8/4/2011


I loved this book. The writing is excellent and the story is sad. To think that generations of the same family are so riddled with the same disease. The women are the carriers, and the men get it. Well worth the read, especially if you like true stories.


Breaking Trail : A Climbing Life
Breaking Trail : A Climbing Life
Author: Arlene Blum
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/20/2013


I liked this book. Besides the climbing aspect of it, she tells about her life and how she got into doing this type of thing The book is well written and keeps your interest throughout. If you are into this type of genre you will enjoy this book and it is well worth the read.


Bug in the Martini Olive and Other True Cases from the Files of Hal Lipset, Private Eye
Review Date: 4/1/2013


I liked this book. It told of Mr. Lipset's getting into the private detective business, the gadgets he used and also lots of the different cases he worked on. This book was easy to read and quite interesting.


Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times
Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times
Author: Jennifer Worth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 1/18/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book. It followed closely the show on PBS, but it gave a lot more detail in the book. A lot of little things that were left out of the show. So interesting to read about how antiquated things were back in the 50's, especially in England. Well worth the read. I loved it.


The Casebook of Forensic Detection: How Science Solved 100 of the World's Most Baffling Crimes
Review Date: 3/1/2014


I enjoyed this book. Each chapter had a different scientific, such as ballistics, fingerprints, voiceprints, time of death etc. Under each of these headings were the cases that were solved using each one of these headings. I learned a lot about each of these and found the cases very interesting. If you are interested in these forensics you would enjoy this book


Cause of Death
Cause of Death
Author: Cyril Wecht, Mark Curriden, Benjamin Wecht
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/5/2012


I liked this book. It took a lot of the famous cases and reviewed them, discussed them and then made their diagnosis. Well written and not too much technical stuff that is hard for me to read. You will like this if this is your genre.


The Climb: Tragic Ambitions on Everest
The Climb: Tragic Ambitions on Everest
Author: G. Weston DeWalt, Anatoli Boukreev
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/15/2010


This is an excellent book for anyone who likes adventure and climbing. An intense story of the climb up Everest, the terrible storm that happened and the tragic consequences. An incredible story of the heroism of this one climber. Well written by one of the greatest mountain climbers of all time.


Climbing Everest: Tales of Triumph and Tragedy on the World's Highest Mountain
Review Date: 9/20/2013


This is a really nice book. Some lovely pictures and tells some of the stories of different expeditions to Everest. Easy reading and if you like this genre you will enjoy this book.


Climbing High : A Woman's Account of Surviving the Everest Tragedy
Review Date: 2/22/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I liked this book. It is about the author who was on the expedition in 1996, when they were climbing Everest, that several people were lost on the mountain. I had read several books about this same incident, each written from the authors perspective, and this is also from Lene Gammelgaard's perspective. A good book, and well worth the read.


1 to 20 of 186 - Page: