Ron C. (Hophead) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 284 - Page:
7: The Mickey Mantle Novel
7: The Mickey Mantle Novel
Author: Peter Golenbock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/11/2012


Wow! Mickey speaks from Heaven and the reader learns what it was really like in his career. Full of memorable characters and famous names, this well-written memoir truly captures the spirit of the famous Number 7! Highly recommended.


The Accidental Time Machine
The Accidental Time Machine
Author: Joe Haldeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 12/7/2011


A quirky but wonderful story written in a breezy style, this story captured me immediately and kept me glued to the book until the final pages. A great fun read, highly recommended!


Agent to the Stars
Agent to the Stars
Author: John Scalzi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 8/17/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I didn't expect much from Agent to the Stars since it was a first novel that had not been published until Scalzi had already built his readership, but I really love this book! I cared for the characters, enjoyed the plot, and even got a little misty-eyed at the ending. Although it is by no means perfect, this novel is a great fun read. Highly recommended.


Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 1/15/2016


A delightful and amusing romantic romp, this is an easy read that will definitely entertain you. Highly recommended.


The Alien Years
The Alien Years
Author: Robert Silverberg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/26/2010


Silverberg delivers with a tale of alien invasion that is as much the story of a remarkable family as it is science fiction. This compelling book will satisfy any reader. Highly recommended.


All the Birds in the Sky
All the Birds in the Sky
Author: Charlie Jane Anders
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/23/2017


A delightful story, kept me going from start to finish. Highly recommended


Alvin Wandering: Alvin Journeyman / Heartfire (Alvin Maker, Bks 4 and 5)
Alvin Wandering: Alvin Journeyman / Heartfire (Alvin Maker, Bks 4 and 5)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/11/2016


Full of magic and frontier flavor, these volumes of Alvin's story explore some troublesome issues that were a sign of the times. Highly recommended.


Ambulance Ship (Sector General, Bk 4)
Ambulance Ship (Sector General, Bk 4)
Author: James White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/24/2016


Classic SF and a great read. Highly recommended.


American Rust
American Rust
Author: Philipp Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 7/17/2011


A different kind of novel for me, but I really enjoyed it. Highly recommended.


An Especially Tricky People (Doonesbury Book)
An Especially Tricky People (Doonesbury Book)
Author: G. B. Trudeau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/6/2012


Vintage Doonesbury at its best. I reveal my age when I state that I read all of these strips in the newspaper so many years ago ...


Ancient Shores (Ancient Shores, Bk 1)
Ancient Shores (Ancient Shores, Bk 1)
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 11/16/2009


Whoa -- this was a good one. McDevitt has created his best yet. Read it.


Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch, Bk 1)
Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch, Bk 1)
Author: Ann Leckie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/12/2016


I really wanted to like this book more, but for some reason I had trouble getting into it. It's a well-crafted story with an interesting and unique concept that I thought would be right up my alley and I'm sorry I didn't enjoy it more. I'm going to pass on the other two volumes of the trilogy.


The Armies of Memory (Giraut, Bk 4)
The Armies of Memory (Giraut, Bk 4)
Author: John Barnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/21/2013


A terrific wrap-up to the series! Barnes masterfully develops his beloved characters even more and ties up loose ends in this well-plotted conclusion. Highly recommended.


The Art of Fielding
The Art of Fielding
Author: Chad Harbach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 8/30/2015


A brilliant book, with believable characters that one really cares about, well-plotted action, and a heart-warming ending. And of course, there is a bit of America's past time: baseball. My highest recommendation.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 985
Review Date: 10/9/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I knew by the end of the first chapter that this was a very special book, and I read a LOT of books. I read a lot of VERY GOOD books. But it is exceedingly rare when I am so deeply moved. Feeling my emotions so wonderfully affected by an author's words is the greatest compliment I can give. The endorphin rush I felt when I finished this novel was a pure feeling of bliss. Only once or twice a year do I ever read anything even close! My heart clutched with sadness, it soared with triumph, and it basked in joy. I give this my very highest recommendation. Read this book!


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 888
Review Date: 3/27/2012


Well-written and engaging, this book really takes the reader for a ride. Contrary to some reviewers, I had no problem getting into the story from the very beginning. This is a rewarding story and is highly recommended.


The Atrocity Archives
The Atrocity Archives
Author: Charles Stross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 4/6/2014


Stross's Laundry is a fascinating concept, combining magic with a CIA-style bureaucracy and providing endless plot concepts. This is a well-crafted novel that was fun to read. Recommended.


Axis
Axis
Author: Robert Charles Wilson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


In this sequel to the Hugo-winning Spin, Wilson answers some questions and raises others. As in most of his novels, he creates rich characters that make sense in the world they inhabit. Recommended.


Backstage Passes  Backstabbing Bastards: Memoirs of a Rock 'N' Roll Survivor
Review Date: 5/30/2015


Funny and enlightening, this is an indispensable read for anyone interested in rock and roll history. Kooper takes the reader on an inside tour of what it's like to be a rock performer, songwriter, and producer. My highest recommendation.


Bad Eye Blues : A Wiley Moss Mystery
Bad Eye Blues : A Wiley Moss Mystery
Author: Neal Barrett Jr.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/2/2007


Irreverent humor and gonzo characters.


1 to 20 of 284 - Page: