Sarah W. (BlueShoes7) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Brave Enemies : A Novel of the American Revolution
Brave Enemies : A Novel of the American Revolution
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/26/2008


I picked this book up at the dollar store, but the story is worth thousands more! I felt inspired by Josie, the main character, who overcame several struggles to finally end up where she always wanted, with someone who loved her.


Burning Up
Burning Up
Author: Caroline B. Cooney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/4/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book is not what I expected at all and that was a good thing. The basic theme of the book is racism and how we cannot be silent about it since traces of it still haunt our streets. After reading this book I was motivated to do something - to fight for anything I believe in. If you need motivation or a wake up call this book is it.


The Count of Monte Cristo (abridged) (Barnes  Noble Classics Series)
Review Date: 7/6/2007


This is one of my favorite books. Even though I saw the movie first, the book was not a dissapointment.


Crown Duel (Crown and Court Duel, Bks 1 and 2, revised) (aka Crown Duel/Court Duel) (Sartorias-deles Universe)
Review Date: 5/26/2008
Helpful Score: 7


I was a little skeptical about reading this book, but being a fan of Tamora Pierce novels, I decided to give it a try. Turns out, I loved it. It was the right mix of adventure, feminine power, court intrigue, and of course, romance. Plus with two books in one, no need to hunt for the sequel, also there is a bonus story at the end to carry on the novel just a little bit longer.


Dating Mr. Darcy: The Smart Girl's Guide to Sensible Romance
Dating Mr. Darcy: The Smart Girl's Guide to Sensible Romance
Author: Sarah Arthur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


As a young adult, I found this book very insightful into my current relationship. Since the advice and reflections are told using Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice, I didn't feel like I was being lectured. I honestly took some of the ideas and concepts to heart and was really glad I went through and read the entire book. The personal reflection section at the end was very beneficial as well.


Demon Apocalypse (The Demonata, Bk 6)
Demon Apocalypse (The Demonata, Bk 6)
Author: Darren Shan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/27/2008


What I really like about the sixth installment in the Demonata series is that it pulls characters we've met in the previous books and throws them together in a crucial life or death conflict. Grubbs Grady takes center stage again as he did in the first installment, Lord Loss. As fans of this series know, Shan's grotesque details and chilling storyline keep the reader scared and guessing throughout its entire development. Don't be surprised if you find yourself saying - Did that just really happen? - as you turn the pages. Good for teens and up.


Embers
Embers
Author: Sandor Marai, Carol Brown Janeway (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 11/23/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Marai's novel, Embers, not only tells an eloquent love story about love between friends and love between a man and a woman, but also brings up questions about life. Those moments of betrayal and loss of trust, but how friendship binds you nonetheless. While slow at times, it does not detract from the beauty of the story and the elegant way in which it is told.


The Gathering
The Gathering
Author: Anne Enright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 12/17/2008
Helpful Score: 2


If you're looking for an adventure don't pick this book up. If you're looking for a woman's personal journey and a reflection on her life triggered by her brother's death, then give this a chance.

I will admit, I found the first two-thirds of the book slow and lackluster, but once I hit the final third I was glad I finished. It sort of redeemed itself and I was glad to see the realization and change the main character came to.


The Ghost Writer
The Ghost Writer
Author: John Harwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 11/23/2007


As a college student I find myself craving some one-on-one me time. This book was a great way to indulge myself. It is suspenseful without being cheesy and with a plot that wasn't too easy to figure out, this book is, as they say, a thrilling page-tuner.


Granny Dan
Granny Dan
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 7/8/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This was the first Danielle Steel book I have read. I don't know what I was expecting, but I guess this was a good read if you're looking for something light. I was dying to know the names of the Russian Duchesses just to see if I had the right ones in mind, but after mentioning Alexei I knew what she was talking about.


Horse
Horse
Author: Juliet Clutton-Brock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/6/2007


Growing up I loved horses and this was as close as I could get, since I wasn't able to ride them. The pictures spark the imagination and with the brief but very informative blurbs you'll find yourself dropping horse facts around anyone who will listen.


In the Forests of the Night (Den of Shadows, Bk 1)
In the Forests of the Night (Den of Shadows, Bk 1)
Author: Amelia Atwater-Rhodes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 12/3/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I had such high hopes for this book, but I was severely disappointed. It was repetitive, redundant and contradictory to the point where I wanted to stop reading it altogether. The only reason I finished was to try to capture any redeeming qualities out of it. All I can say is it was a great attempt, but for me it sorely missed the mark.


The Lightning Thief  (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Bk 1)
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Bk 1)
Author: Rick Riordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 587
Review Date: 11/8/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This book is written for any reader 12 years old and up, but the story can be enjoyed by every reading level. Even if you know only the tiniest bit of Greek mythology, it's not difficult to follow the story at all, since pieces of famous Greek myths are peppered throughout. Riordan's ability to transform the ancient Greeks' views of the gods into modern representations is an enjoyable adventure. His description of Ares is my particular favorite. This is the first in the series, so there are plenty more to look forward to after you're done.


The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Bk 1 )
The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Bk 1 )
Author: Rick Riordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 11/8/2008
Helpful Score: 4


This book is written for any reader 12 years old and up, but the story can be enjoyed by every reading level. Even if you know only the tiniest bit of Greek mythology, it's not difficult to follow the story at all, since pieces of famous Greek myths are peppered throughout. Riordan's ability to transform the ancient Greeks' views of the gods into modern representations is an enjoyable adventure. His description of Ares is my particular favorite. This is the first in the series, so there are plenty more to look forward to after you're done.


Mr. Darcy's Daughters
Mr. Darcy's Daughters
Author: Elizabeth Aston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 5/9/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I picked up this book while I was on a Pride and Prejudice reading marathon.
Immediately you begin to root for his second daughter, Camilla, and towards the second half of the book, Aston surprises you with twists and turns you never dreamed of. I will confess on more than one occasion I was laughing out loud and got dirty looks from the people around me. It was a pleasure to indulge in.


Piratica II: Return to Parrot Island
Piratica II: Return to Parrot Island
Author: TANITH LEE
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/7/2008


The sequel to "Piratica" continues the tale of now newlyweds Art Blastside and Felix Phoenix. Chock full of adventure, mystery, intriguing twists and turns, with a dash of sweet romance, this book is sure to entertain adults and children, men and women alike. If anything it's enjoyable for its play on words, places and events. It is not necessary to have read the first book to understand the plot, but I highly recommend it for it is also a great read!


Piratica II: Return to Parrot Island
Piratica II: Return to Parrot Island
Author: Tanith Lee
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/7/2008


The sequel to "Piratica" continues the tale of now newlyweds Art Blastside and Felix Phoenix. Chock full of adventure, mystery, intriguing twists and turns, with a dash of sweet romance, this book is sure to entertain adults and children, men and women alike. If anything it's enjoyable for its play on words, places and events. It is not necessary to have read the first book to understand the plot, but I highly recommend it for it is also a great read!


Princess Nevermore (Point Fantasy)
Princess Nevermore (Point Fantasy)
Author: Dian Curtis Regan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


It has been awhile since I have read this one, but I remember liking it because it was small enough to fit in my purse.


Shattered Mirror
Shattered Mirror
Author: Amelia Atwater-Rhodes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 5/26/2008


This was the first book by Atwater-Rhodes that I had ever read. I was little unsure since it was written by a teenager. In the end though, I was both pleasantly surprised and in awe at the success of the story. This was a mix reality (boring things like school) with a dash of fantasy (vampires and the like) spiked with a healthy dose of forbidden romance.


Violet & Claire
Violet & Claire
Author: Francesca Lia Block
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 12/2/2008


As a fan of Block's poetic and lyrical writing style, I enjoyed this book which explores the dynamics of ambition, misunderstanding and the impermeable bond of friendship.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: