Sophia R. (JubileeSong) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
Bridal Bargains: Secrets to Throwing a Fantastic Wedding on a Realistic Budget (Bridal Bargains)
Review Date: 9/18/2009


This book is a must-have for anyone planning a wedding! My wedding is coming up, and this has been a lifesaver. Not only has it given me some moneysaving ideas, but the information has given me the opportunity to do some things at my wedding that I never expected to be able to afford! The hints and tips found in this book are invaluable.


The Civil War (SparkNotes History Notes)
The Civil War (SparkNotes History Notes)
Author: SparkNotes Editors
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/8/2009


I used this book in studying for the Civil War DSST test. It was an excellent overall summary of the war. Obviously not enough for a sole resource, but a wonderful review tool.


Cooking in the Nude : Just Married (Cooking in the Nude , No 1)
Review Date: 5/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I got this book to give as a wedding shower gift. I received it today, and it is just perfect for the purpose! My future sister-in-law will love it. The presentation is very cute, and the recipes look tasty. The recipes aren't ones to be made up in a few minutes. The book is designed to put a nice multiple course meal on the table--picture fine china. Going off the time estimates you could probably put together one or two semi-fast dinners, but the book isn't designed for that purpose. Another draw back is that some of the meats are less common. As I'm not generally a gourmet cook I had to look up Sole and Snapper, and veal isn't something I normally stock in my freezer.

But, on the other hand, if the point is a romantic dinner with your spouse, maybe using a few unusual ingredients will be just the thing to spice up your night. Another advantage is that the recipes are designed for two. It's nice not to have to halve or quarter a recipe to make it fit. The recipes don't seem complicated, and after paging through this book I plan on getting some of the other books in the series for myself.

From the back cover:

"JUST MARRIED is the playful and romantic approach to gourmet dining for newlyweds. Whether you've just tied the knot or plan to soon, you're sure to enjoy the fun and romance of JUST MARRIED.

"Start off with a Garden of Eden salad before luring your lover into Adam's Sweet Demise. You could tempt your partner with Provocotive Proposal or play around with a little Hanky Panky. Put a sparkle in her eye with Hot Engagements and be sure to Get Me to the Church on Thyme.

"Bon Voyage! We think you'll fing that the elegant, yet easy, recipes in JUST MARRIED will launch your new life together with fun and style... may the honeymoon never end."


Cooking in the Nude : Quickies (Cooking in the Nude)
Review Date: 9/18/2009


I haven't made any of the recipes yet, but I love the idea for this book. I got it as a wedding shower gift, and I'm sure it will be well received.


The Cuddle Sutra
The Cuddle Sutra
Author: Rob Grader
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/18/2009


This was a cute little book with a lot of ideas. Fun to read.


Developing Your Secret Closet of Prayer: Principles for Intimacy With God
Review Date: 6/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book is amazing. I got it through PBS on the recommendation of a friend, and it is one of the best 'Christian living' books I own. The chapters are very practical and helpful. There is a lot of good, solid stuff in there, and even the things I already knew seemed fresh and new. I don't know how many times I've read this book since I got it, but I keep coming back to it. This book is invaluable if you are looking to develop the discipline of prayer.


The First 90 Days of Marriage
The First 90 Days of Marriage
Author: Eric Ludy, Leslie Ludy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/18/2009


Amazing book! This is a book I'd like to read with my fiance sometime before the wedding. The Ludy's have an enjoyable writing style. I like the way some parts are written from Leslie to the ladies, some parts are written from Eric to the men, and some parts are written for everyone. It's a good balance. And some of the comments they have on things to be prepared for in the first 90 days are things I haven't heard other places (it isn't limited to the first 90 days--I think this book would be useful at any point during a marriage or engagement). I also loved the Christian perspective.


For Men Only:  A Straightforward Guide to the Inner Lives of  Women
Review Date: 9/18/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I was so impressed with this book when I read it last year, that I got my fiance his own audio copy. While obviously not everything in the book applies to every woman, the generalities are very on target, and the presentation is enjoyable to read.


For Women Only : What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Review Date: 8/12/2008
Helpful Score: 4


An excellent book! It is a very small, very concise summary (184 pages)of some of the main things most women don't understand about men. The book is geared towards married couples, but is a good read for singles as well. Though I'm not married it gave me some helpful hints about interacting with my brothers and male friends. The length seemed perfect to me--long enough that the major things were well explained, short enough that I was still wanting more when it was over.


The Frugal Bride: Your Complete Guide to Saving Money on Your Wedding Without Losing an Ounce of the Romance
Review Date: 5/8/2009


I haven't finished the entire book yet, but this seems to be a nice resource. Some of the tips I found to be very basic--if you are already accustomed to a frugal lifestyle some tips may seem obvious. Other things were great ways to save money "without loosing an ounce of the romance." And without looking cheap!! If you are planning a wedding this shouldn't be the only book you have, but it is a great addition to your library nonetheless.


The King's Daughter (Alden Collection)
The King's Daughter (Alden Collection)
Author: Isabella Macdonald Alden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/2/2007


Another good Isabella Alden book! The primary issue--the temperance movement of a century ago--was rather dated, but the characters were engaging and the story was interesting to read.


Let Me Be a Woman
Let Me Be a Woman
Author: Elisabeth Elliot
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 9/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I'd say this book was amazing, but it was written by Elisabeth Elliot, so that is kinda obvious. The book consists of many letters written from Mrs. Elliot to her daughter containing everything she wanted her daughter to know before she got married. The letters are brief, which makes it easy to read a few minutes each day, and the topics are well chosen.


Life as a Vapor : Thirty-One Meditations for Your Faith
Life as a Vapor : Thirty-One Meditations for Your Faith
Author: John Piper
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/8/2009


Piper's books are almost always good, and this one is no exception. The devotional is to the point and deep, while not being difficult to understand. An excellent addition to your devotional library.


The Lights of Tenth Street
The Lights of Tenth Street
Author: Shaunti Feldhahn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 9/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a page turner!! I got this book after reading For Women Only, and was surprised at the amount of sheer suspense in the story! I loved her characters--they were very real and human. They had flaws and weaknesses, but as the story progressed they matured. The characters were also hard to not love. The story took awhile to get going, but when the end rolled around and all the story threads were coming together it was pretty intense. Great story.


Profiles (Grace Livingston Hill Library, No 16)
Profiles (Grace Livingston Hill Library, No 16)
Author: Isabella Alden, C. M. Livingston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/18/2009


A cute little book with LOTS of stories. They are all pretty good, though tend more toward romance stories than Isabella Alden usually does. Some of the stories I liked a lot, some I didn't care for so much, but they all were pretty good. A collection of short stories is nice because it lends itself to reading one a day. Doesn't take up as much time as a longer book!


Russia : A Concise History
Russia : A Concise History
Author: Ronald Hingley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/18/2009


This is a GREAT book for studying up on Russia. I used this book as part of studding for the Rise and Fall of the Soviet Union DSST test, and passed with flying colors. It really has a good overview of Russian history. The only quibble is that every now and then it will jump a little forward or backwards in time to add a detail. I'm sure this helps with keeping the overall flow, but it confused me a little until I started putting things on a timeline as I read. Once I did that everything fell into place. It isn't very difficult to read and has LOTS of large, color pictures.


Seeing and Savoring Jesus Christ
Seeing and Savoring Jesus Christ
Author: John Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was such an encouragement! The focus of this book is on knowing Jesus for who He really is, and enjoying him above all else. This isn't a book to read in an afternoon--it's one to be read a chapter at a time so you are able to really savor the deep truths each chapter contains.


The Soviet Colossus: History and Aftermath
The Soviet Colossus: History and Aftermath
Author: Michael Kort
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/18/2009


My fiance used this book as part of studying for the DSST Rise and Fall of the Soviet Union test. He said it was pretty heavy reading and (for that test) more detailed than necessary. It did, however, really help him get a grasp on the flow of Russian history and why things happened when they did.


Three People (Grace Livingston Hill Library, No 4)
Three People (Grace Livingston Hill Library, No 4)
Author: Isabella Alden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/2/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A great book for young men! I was absolutely delighted with the main character. A more daring imp than he was in the beginning you will never meet. I chuckled so much over his antics that it drove my brother half crazy. :-) As the book progressed I enjoyed watching the main character mature as he faces various challenges. A very enjoyable read!


Tip Lewis and His Lamp (Grace Livingston Hill Library, No 8)
Tip Lewis and His Lamp (Grace Livingston Hill Library, No 8)
Author: Isabella Alden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/8/2009


As always, Isabella Alden has written another wonderful novel! This story is about a young boy who is a born rebel, and what happens to him after he shakes up a Sunday School class.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: